To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

30 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Refrigerator

  • LMXS30796D

  • Black Stainless Steel

Key Features

  • 30 cu. ft. Capacity
  • InstaView™ Door-in-Door®
  • Fingerprint and Smudge Resistant Finish
  • SmartThinQ™ Technology
  • ColdSaver™ Panel
  • Slim SpacePlus® Ice System

J.D. Power Award Winner

“Highest in Customer Satisfaction with French Door Refrigerators”

Raid the Fridge Without Losing Your Cool

InstaView™ Door-in-Door® refrigerators have a sleek glass panel that allows you to see inside the easy access door without letting the cold air out. Simply knock twice on the glass to illuminate the contents within.

Stylish Design You Can’t Wait to Get Your Hands On

Fingerprint and smudge resistant finish easily wipes clean with a soft, dry cloth, so the only lasting impression is your impeccable taste. At last, the kitchen you can’t wait to show off is the kitchen that handles real-life in style.

Think you’ll run out of ice? ThinQ Again.

Think you’ll run out of ice? Think Again.

From making extra ice for tonight’s dinner party to getting smartphone notifications when the door is left open, use the LG SmartThinQ™ app to control key features and get important notifications from anywhere. It even works with the Google Assistant, so you can operate smart features with your voice.

CONVENIENT AUTOMATIC FILTER REPLACEMENT

Enjoy Fresh Water,
Ice & Air with LG Filters.

Subscribe today and enjoy savings and maximum freshness. We’ll even ship your next refrigerator filter to you when you need it automatically.*

SUMMARY
Door Type French 4-Door
Refrigerator Type InstaView™ Door-in-Door®
SmartThinQ™ Yes
CAPACITY
Refrigerator 17.10 cu. ft.
CustomChill® Drawer 3.80 cu. ft.
Freezer 8.80 cu. ft.
Total 29.7 cu. ft.
FEATURES
InstaView™ Door-in-Door® w/ ColdSaver™ Panel Yes (w/ Glass Panel)
CustomChill® Drawer Yes
ENERGY STAR® Qualified Yes (776 kWh/Year)
Ice & Water Dispenser Yes
Dispenser Type Integrated Tall Ice & Water Dispenser®
Ice System Slim SpacePlus®
Daily Ice Production 3.5 lbs / 3.8 (IcePlus™)
Ice Storage Capacity 3.0 lbs
Water Filtration System Compact Filter LT1000P
Smart Cooling® Plus System Yes
Multi Air Flow Cooling Yes
Temperature Sensors 8
Linear Compressor Yes
Fresh Air Filter Yes
Dual Evaporator Yes
Display Type Smooth Touch Control (White LED)
CONVENIENCE
Temperature Controls Electronic/Digital
Door Alarm Yes
Child Lock Yes
LoDecibel™ Quiet Operation Yes
SmartDiagnosis™ Yes
Auto Closing Door Hinge Yes
Wi-Fi Enabled (Smart Grid Available) Yes
REFRIGERATOR
No. of Shelves 4 Split (3 Fixed/1 Folding)
Folding Shelf Yes
Cantilevered Shelves Yes
Shelf Construction Spill Protector™ Tempered Glass
Crisper Bins 2 Crispers/1 Bonus Drawer
Glide N' Access® Shelf Yes
EasyReach® Bin 2
Refrigerator Light Premium LED (Ceiling and Side)
REFRIGERATOR DOOR
No. of Shelves/Bin 6 Total (2 Gallon Sized, 1 Regular, 3 Half)
Door Bin Construction Clear , Opaque, Silver Deco
Dairy Corner Yes
CUSTOMCHILL™ DRAWER
Dividers 2
Temperature Range 29˚, 33˚, 37˚, 42˚ F
Handle SmartPull®
FREEZER
Door Type Pull Drawer
Drawers 3-Tier Organization®
Handle SmartPull® Freezer Handle
DuraBase™ Solid Drawer Base Yes
Drawer Divider Yes
Freezer Light Premium LED
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
Contour Door Yes
Hidden Hinges Yes
Surface Coated Metal
Back Flush & Metal Cover Over Mechanical Parts
Available Colors Black Stainless Steel (D)
Handles Matching Commercial Handles
DIMENSIONS/CLEARANCES/WEIGHTS
Depth with Handles 39 1/8"
Depth without Handles 36 5/8"
Depth without Door 31 3/4"
Depth (Total with Door Open) 51"
Height to Top of Case 68 7/8"
Height to Top of Door Hinge 70 1/4"
Width 35 3/4"
Width (Door Open 90˚ with Handle) 45"
Width (Door Open 90˚ without Handle) 40"
Door Edge Clearance with Handle 4 5/8"
Door Edge Clearance without Handle 2 1/4"
Installation Clearance Sides 1/8", Top 1", Back 2"
Weight (Unit/Carton) 404 lbs / 437 lbs.
Carton Dimensions (WxHxD) 38" x 73" x 40"
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor, 7 Years on the Sealed System, 10 Years on Linear Compressor
UPC 048231787697

What People Are Saying

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Flawed design/implementation of instaview Overall, the fridge is ok and the InstaView feature is more useful than I originally anticipated. However, there is a big flaw in the design/implementation of this feature. When someone knock on the door, the door light turns on hence one can see the items inside the fridge. I'd guess there is a vibration sensor built inside the door to detect the 'knock'. But the sensitivity of the sensor was set too high. The door light would turn on 'randomly' without someone touching on the door at all. Even medium level sound in the house could trigger the sensor and turn on the door light. In my case, I could sit across the room and talk in normal voice to turn the door light on. This was cute at the beginning, particularly for my kids, but it quickly turns into annoyance. I contacted the LG technical support and asked whether there is a way to lower the sensitivity of the sensor. I was told all this was normal and expected, and there was nothing they can do to adjust the sensitivity of the sensor. In another word, live with it! So, potential buyer beware. Make sure you won't be bothered by this before buying this fridge.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never have we seen anything like this !!!! window in the door fantastic access without losing cold on main compartment. LED lighting shows makes contents easily located. Very quiet yet you can quick freeze. drawers and shelves very accessable.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best refrigerator ever I purchased this at the Sears Hometown store and they deliver install it and immediately my wife and I loved it. It has all the options we would ever want I love the knock knock feature in the best feature about it is if you keep the doors open too long then it will beep because it’s high fission C. I really love the filtering of the water the water taste very fresh so will use that for coffee maker it’s her using bottled water now. Altogether I would give this at this time a full writing of excellent.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from wish I could return it I think I looked at too many refrigerators. By the time I bought this, I was caught up in the "sale" & went ahead with the purchase. I was beginning to forget what I was looking for (over-analyzing). WHAT I DON'T LIKE: Even though this thing is huge (#1 reason I bought it), it doesn't seem to hold much more food than my old side-by-side. The shelves in the door aren't adjustable. For whatever reason, these companies seem to think people would prefer a deeper fridge vs a wider one - that's NUTS! I went for the biggest fridge because I have unlimited space & I was planning to design my kitchen remodel around the larger fridge. They need to make standard depth & go wider for those that actually have that option (lots of people). The inside drawers are OK, but there is no humidity control on my model. The front little access spots are handy & a nice use of otherwise wasted space. The middle drawer is "partially" handy, but I find it more of a space waster. If it was able to actually get to freezer temps (which I was deceived into thinking it would), This would be more of a versatile element. I quickly discovered I HATE the bottom freezer drawer idea! Even with its handy internal drawers, it's not an easy one to retrieve items from. Imagine taking your entire freezer full of items out just to get 1 item. That's what happens with this freezer drawer; comparing it to the side-by-side option where it's just the door opening for a few seconds. Design flaw, in my opinion. Their wi-fi thing is a joke - don't buy it for that feature (which I didn't). I was never able to get it to connect. If you are under 5'3" tall or have shorter than normal arms, you may want to pass on this fridge unless, of course, you have talented small children you can toss on the top shelf to retrieve items at the back. WHAT DO I LIKE: The ice (it's cute little cubes), the door-in-door feature (2nd biggest selling point for me). The glass view is a novelty that we have enjoyed & is occasionally handy. It's definitely a crown pleaser! It's quiet (or I have a noisy house & don't notice it). That was the 3rd reason for choosing this fridge - the reviews said it was quiet. The lights aren't annoying like competing brands.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love with a fridge There is so much space in this refrigerator I may have to buy more food! While I thought I had explored every nook and cranny prior to purchasing the fridge I was wrong. There is a small pull out drawer and a shallow pull out tray within the freezer drawer. The tray is absolutely perfect for my husband's ice packs. For years they have been in with the other frozen items and would often stick to the food. The rest of the fridge is roomy. We love the ability to get our frequently used items out without having to open the entire door. However, my husband has found a new toy knocking on the door to turn the light on.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this fridge! This refrigerator has it all! I LOVE the see-thru door. My teenagers love it too! It has all the features we want. We couldn't have asked for more.
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Many great features Love the 10 year compressor warranty. Great storage features. Attractive
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LG service sucks! My 1st refrigerator came damaged & the 2nd was defective.
Date published: 2017-11-02
  • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05767172, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LMXS30796D Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

When the door is closed the light on the instaview door constantly flashes on and off. Is there a way to lower its sensitivity? 

Asked by: Lg63663
There would not be a way to lower the sensitivity of the light. If the light is flashing on and off continually, the unit may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-03

I need the startup wattage consumption for this fridge. Where can I find it?

Asked by: Ron305
In accordance with the National Electrical Manufacturer's Association's specifications which specify that every motor nameplate must show specific items on it, although the surge or startup wattage may not be listed, what might be listed that will help you calculating the startup wattage is the Locked Rotor Current, also called Locked Rotor Amps (LRA), which is commonly found on the motor's nameplate and will be what you can use to calculate the startup or surge wattage. Locked Rotor essentially means the motor is not turning. The current or amps, in this case, have to do with the amount of electrical energy required to start the motor. At the instant the motor is switched on, it is not turning, and draws the maximum current. As the motor starts to turn, the current goes down. This required energy is much greater than the Full Load Amps or Running Amps, which is the current drawn when the motor is running at normal speed under full load. Regrettably, we do not have access to this information. Please contact our Support Center at (800) 243-0000 for assistance with this information...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-15

How long does it take to fill the ice bin?

Asked by: Sewcreative
The Ice Maker in the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 30 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Refrigerator, Model # LMXS30796S will produce 70~182 cubes in a 24-hour period depending on freezer compartment temperature, room temperature, number of door openings and other operating conditions like the water pressure. The water pressure must be 40~120 psi or 276~827 kPa or 2.8~8.4 kgf/cm² to produce the normal amount of ice and size of cubes. When full, the in-door ice bin holds approximately 6 to 8 (12~16 oz or 340~455 cc) glasses of ice...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-06-16

LoDecibelTM Quiet Operation?

Asked by: JGMRZ
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Spain. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/es/support/contact/support-here-to-help.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-05-09

When will the  LMXS30796S Stainless Steel be available to purchase?

Asked by: AnnieOh
Thank you for your interest in the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 30 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Refrigerator, Model # LMXS30796S. LG has not yet made any public announcements on the pricing nor the releases date for this refrigerator. You can stay tuned for such announcements by clicking on the "Press Releases" link that can be found on the right-most column of any product page on the www.lg.com/us site...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-02-13

We love the new three door side by side refrigerators.    We need one of these in black to match our other appliances.  Please advise which models are available in black.  We have black appliances and the black stainless will not work for us. Ty

Asked by: Ben G48
Hi Ben G48. Thank you for your interest in our 3 Door French Door InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Refrigerators. Regrettably, the InstaView™ Door-in-Door® series Refrigerators are only available in Stainless Steel or Black Stainless Steel...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-01-25

WHEN WILL IT BE AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE IN SAN ANTONIO AND WHERE.

Asked by: Cheryl Fierros
On the product page for the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 30 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Refrigerator, Model # LMXS30796D on the company site, www.lg.com/us, next to the MSRP is a 'Where to Buy' buttonn. Clicking on that button will open a page on which you can enter your zip code in the appropriate field and another page will open up to show which retailers in your area or online retailers are carrying this model...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2016-10-17

Is this refrigerator available when

Asked by: Thimothy
Pirch in Oak Brook, IL has it. Give them a call.
Answered by: Foodie4u
Date published: 2016-10-01
  • y_2017, m_12, d_18, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05767172, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT