To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LMXS30796S

Key Features

  • 30 cu. ft. Capacity
  • InstaView™ Door-in-Door®
  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • ColdSaver™ Panel
  • Slim SpacePlus® Ice System

available colors:

Stainless Steel
Suggested Price

$4199.99

Suggested Price
Promotion Price*

$3220.99

Promotion Price*

J.D. Power Award Winner

“Highest in Customer Satisfaction with French Door Refrigerators”

Raid the Fridge Without Losing Your Cool

InstaView™ Door-in-Door® refrigerators have a sleek glass panel that allows you to see inside the easy access door without letting the cold air out. Simply knock twice on the glass to illuminate the contents within.

Think you’ll run out of ice? ThinQ Again.

Think you’ll run out of ice? Think Again.

From making extra ice for tonight’s dinner party to getting smartphone notifications when the door is left open, use the LG SmartThinQ® app to control key features and get important notifications from any-where. It even works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa, so you can operate smart features with your voice.

Most shelf space.*

Ice makers are great, but not if it means you can't fit all of your food in the fridge. The Slim SpacePlus® Ice System provides more shelf space and allows even more space for door bins.

*Standard width french door refrigerator, excludes other LG manufactured products

Fresher is better.

Smart Cooling® Plus technology is designed to maintain superior conditions within the refrigerator. The Linear Compressor and Dual Evaporators react quickly to humidity and temperature levels and help keep your food fresher, longer. Strategically-placed vents in every section help surround your food with cool, fresh air.

SAVE MONEY. SAVE ENERGY.

SAVE MONEY. SAVE ENERGY.

This ENERGY STAR® certified LG refrigerator exceeds new 2016 federal energy standards to positively impact your energy bill and your energy consumption.

Qualifications

                          

SUMMARY
CAPACITY
FEATURES
CONVENIENCE
REFRIGERATOR
REFRIGERATOR DOOR
CUSTOMCHILL™ DRAWER
FREEZER
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
DIMENSIONS/CLEARANCES/WEIGHTS
WARRANTY
LIMITED WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly what we wanted. This is an amazing product. Has all the bells and whistles. Only problem is after 11+ months strange fan noises have developed. Service Tech due this Friday. Hopefully to resolve the issue.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful I saw this frig at HOME DEPOT some time ago but couldn't afford it. Kept checking from time to time for price reduction. Started saving for the frig and finally got it. I sang Happy Birthday and Merry Christmas to me when it arrived. Love, love, love it. Love the beverage window section of the door and the snack drawer.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the door in door! I had always thought the door in door feature would be interesting but I never realized how much I would use it!!! Love this feature and so much room!
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Space, space, and more space! This is the best refrigerator I have ever had. I love it!
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased with Refrigerator I've had the LG LMXS30796D (30 cu ft STANDARD depth, black stainless) refrigerator for nearly two weeks now. I bought it from an on-line retailer in New York. I live in Calif. It took about 2 weeks for the refrigerator to ship. The refrigerator arrived at my home in pristine condition. And it's been working flawlessly since it arrived. It is SUPER QUIET -- even when the compressor is on. The door-in-door feature allows access to items I use the most --- like milk, water, soda, etc. without opening up the entire door. The black stainless finish is gorgeous. The refrigerator maintains a consistently constant temperature. I have temperature monitors in both fridge and freezer compartments that send signals to a receiver magnetically mounted to the outside of the fridge. The receiver monitors real-time temperature and records upper and lower temperature boundaries. The temperature read-out on the refrigerator itself is NOT the actual temperature. It is merely a setting or goal. But my temperature monitors indicate the temperature of the freezer and refrigerator compartments are maintained within +/- 5 degrees. Most of the time, the fridge temp is between 38 to 40 degrees and the freezer temp is between -1 and + 1 degrees. (This is at the default temperature setting of 37 degrees for the fridge and 0 degrees for the freezer). The only characteristic I don't like about the fridge is the shelf adjustments are severely limited. It is impossible to arrange the shelves in such a way as to store large bottles in the back of the fridge. Using the "folding shelf", you can store them in the front of the fridge. I actually removed an entire shelf (wrapped it and put it in the closet) so I can store large items towards the back of the fridge. I would advise LG to re-design the inner fridge compartment to allow more slots for the shelves so that large bottles can fit between them or between the floor and a shelf. Other than this one shortcoming, there is nothing else not to like about this refrigerator. I hope it lasts a long time. It's aesthetically beautiful, super quiet, maintains good temperature control, and works great so far. If you are looking to purchase a new refrigerator, I recommend this one. My sister is going to buy the counter depth model (same exact fridge as mine except not as deep == 23 cu ft vs 30 cu ft for Standard depth).
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Tons of capacity. Easy to organize making it easy to find anything you're looking for. Makes lots of ice. Runs so quietly we thought it wasn't running at all. We love this fridge.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love all the great features; simple and easy. It is no longer knock-knock, who's there? but now, it is knock-knock, and you can see, what's there! I love this feature along with all the others. I love the space and the convenience of getting righrt to the item you need. Great design and well planned for the user.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meets all our needs I have only had this refrigerator a few weeks so it’s hard to do a thorough review at this point. My last refrigerator (a different brand) went out completely after 3 1/2 years. I had 7 service calls within that time. I feel it is a must to purchase an extended warranty. I love the features of this unit. The ice maker is quick when dispensing ice. The cubes are a smaller shape instead of the half moon. I do like them. It does have a smaller bin so if u use a lot of ice u may want to choose a different model. Some have an additional ice maker in the bottom freezer. The inside of the right door has a cover which u need to push to release to access contents. I have found it open a few times when opening the right door. So not sure why it is not staying closed. One reason I choose this model was because of the refrigerator drawer. My Mother lives with me and we use this drawer for her food that she can easily access. Another feature that sold me was the drawer handles. They lift up and will help prevent the handles from breaking off. Right now I am very happy with this model I purchased.
Date published: 2018-05-04
  • y_2018, m_5, d_24, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05794489, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

will the LMXS30796D come in matte black finish

Asked by: Pete 12
The LMXS30796D comes in black stainless steel and regular stainless steel. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-04-13

Is it true that the lmxc30796 does not fit wine bottles?

Asked by: Maureen o
Hi Maureen. As to whether or not it is true that the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 30 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Refrigerator, Model # LMXS30796S will fit wine bottles depends on what size the wine bottles are and where in the refrigerator you are storing them. Wine bottle sizes and names are surprisingly varied. The vast majority of wines come in the regular 75cl bottle size, but it’s well worth knowing that there are different wine bottle sizes available. The standard bottle of wine comes with 750 ml of liquid. This comes out to roughly 6 glasses of wine per bottle (at 125ml per glass). A Half/Demi Bottle has a volume of 375 ml which is 3 standard glasses of wine per bottle. The Magnum has a volume of 1500 ml, 12 standard glasses of wine per bottle, Jeroboam - 3000 ml, 24 standard glasses per bottle, Rehoboam - 4500 ml, 36 standard glasses/bottle, Methusulah/Imperial - 6000 ml, 48 standard glasses, Samlanaza - 9000 ml, 72 standard glasses, Balthazar - 12000 ml, 96 standard glasses, Nebuchadnezzar - 15000 ml, 120 standard glasses and Melchior - 18000 ml, 144 standard glasses...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-03-09

We have this refrigerator.  I opened the th freezer door to find the pull out drawer was full of ice.  The door was shut good, so why is the pull out drawer frosted with ice? Not hung in manual.

Asked by: Deb2005
Hello Deb2005, sounds like we may need to perform some troubleshooting. Please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 when you are with your unit. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-31

Hello, I am looking for rebate info for LMXS30796d

Asked by: Priscilla999
On the product page for the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 30 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Refrigerator, Model # LMXS30796D, under the Suggested Price and 'Where to Buy' tab is a l'1 rebate up to $500' link. You can click on that link to open another page that has details on the rebate and in the upper right corner is a box that you can enter your zip code into then hit the 'upgrade' button next to it to see what EcoRebates are being offered in your area...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-01-15

When the door is closed the light on the instaview door constantly flashes on and off. Is there a way to lower its sensitivity? 

Asked by: Lg63663
There would not be a way to lower the sensitivity of the light. If the light is flashing on and off continually, the unit may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-03

I need the startup wattage consumption for this fridge. Where can I find it?

Asked by: Ron305
In accordance with the National Electrical Manufacturer's Association's specifications which specify that every motor nameplate must show specific items on it, although the surge or startup wattage may not be listed, what might be listed that will help you calculating the startup wattage is the Locked Rotor Current, also called Locked Rotor Amps (LRA), which is commonly found on the motor's nameplate and will be what you can use to calculate the startup or surge wattage. Locked Rotor essentially means the motor is not turning. The current or amps, in this case, have to do with the amount of electrical energy required to start the motor. At the instant the motor is switched on, it is not turning, and draws the maximum current. As the motor starts to turn, the current goes down. This required energy is much greater than the Full Load Amps or Running Amps, which is the current drawn when the motor is running at normal speed under full load. Regrettably, we do not have access to this information. Please contact our Support Center at (800) 243-0000 for assistance with this information...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-15

How long does it take to fill the ice bin?

Asked by: Sewcreative
The Ice Maker in the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 30 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Refrigerator, Model # LMXS30796S will produce 70~182 cubes in a 24-hour period depending on freezer compartment temperature, room temperature, number of door openings and other operating conditions like the water pressure. The water pressure must be 40~120 psi or 276~827 kPa or 2.8~8.4 kgf/cm² to produce the normal amount of ice and size of cubes. When full, the in-door ice bin holds approximately 6 to 8 (12~16 oz or 340~455 cc) glasses of ice...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-06-16

LoDecibelTM Quiet Operation?

Asked by: JGMRZ
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Spain. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/es/support/contact/support-here-to-help.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-05-09
  • y_2018, m_5, d_23, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05794489, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT