To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LG Watch Sport™ - AT&T

  • W280A

Key Features

  • Android™ Wear 2.0
  • 1.38" Full Circle P-OLED Display
  • IP68 Certified - Water & Dust Resistant
  • 430 mAh (Embedded) Battery
  • Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ Wear 2100

Dynamic Design

LG combines the best of style and technology in the new LG Watch Sport. Featuring both Android Wear 2.0 plus a bold new look, it's a win-win all around.

1.38-inch Full Circle P-OLED Display

Inside or out, wearers get a clear view thanks to a screen that's been optimized for bright conditions.

4G LTE Wireless
Connectivity

Make calls, send texts and browse freely using "OK Google" without a smartphone. The LG Watch Sport even connects to wireless networks using your primary mobile number thanks to NumberSync.*

Android Pay™

Now you hold all the cards. Make payments quickly and securely by loading credit card information directly onto the watch.

Music Streaming**

Music is always right on hand. Sync playlists directly to the watch or stream with Google Play™ Music.

Google Fit™***

Here's a total game-changer: The LG Watch Sport can automatically recognize the wearer's activity and offers real-time tracking and personalized coaching to make reaching goals even easier.

Wireless Charging

Get juiced up. Recharging the LG Watch Sport is as easy as setting it on its convenient wireless charging cradle.

Design
Stainless Steel 316L with Brushed Metal Finish Yes
Rotating Side Button Navigate watch apps, menus, and options with ease
1.38" Full Circle P-OLED Display with Gorilla® Glass 3 Yes
Choose from 11 Preloaded Active Watch Faces Yes
Flexible, Comfortable Rubber Watch Strap Yes
IP68 Water and Dust Resistance* Yes
* Protection against water immersion for 30 minutes at a depth of 1.5 meters.
ANDROID WEAR 2.0
Circular UI Complements Device Design Yes
Interactive Watch Complications Provide data and shortcuts to track fitness goals or quickly access apps
Messenger Send and receive messages directly from the watch; input methods include handwriting, keyboard, Smart Reply, and 3rd party IMEs
Android Pay™ Convenient mobile payments via NFC
Google Fit™* Receive built-in coaching and set fitness goals with activity tracking and reminders
Redesigned Card Stream and Peeking Yes
Smart Reply Contextually relevant reply options for messaging
Google Assistant Send a text, set reminders, or ask for directions by saying “Ok Google” or by holding the Rotating Side Button
Improved Notifications Read, scroll through, and interact easily with context-based notifications
Navigation Google Maps™ with available turn-by-turn directions**
* Not intended to diagnose, treat or prevent any disease or medical condition. Always seek the advice of a qualified medical professional before making any changes to your exercise, sleep, or nutrition.
** App available through Google Play™ store on watch.
Versatility
Stand-Alone Connectivity Uses an AT&T SIM and a carrier data plan, and Wi-Fi® capabilities
NumberSync Make and receive calls and texts on your watch from your smartphone’s mobile number, even when your phone is nowhere near
Music Streaming Support Store music in the internal memory played via Bluetooth® or through the speaker*
Music Player Supports FLAC, MP3, WAV, 3GP, MIDI, and OGG formats
Phone Dial numbers, access favorite contacts, or view recent calls made from the paired smartphone; includes Voice Recognition, Voice Dialing Command, Call Waiting, Caller ID
Tools Alarm, Timer, and Stopwatch
Screen Lock Set a pattern lock for the watch screen
Customizable Font Sizes Choose from small, normal, or large
Reminders Set your watch to display reminders at specific times
Find Your Phone Helps locate the paired phone by making it ring
Multilanguage Support Support for 15 languages
Theater Mode Quick setting turns display on/off
Airplane Mode Yes
4 Default Ringtones plus Vibrate Yes
Environmental Biosensors Detect barometric pressure, track movements with gyroscope and accelerometer; monitor heart rate with PPG
A-GPS for Enhanced Location Accuracy Yes
* App available through Google Play store on watch.
Technical Specifications
AT&T Wireless 4G LTE Network† Yes
Operating System Android Wear 2.0 (Feldspar)*
Display 1.38" P-OLED (480 x 480 pixels), 348 ppi
Processor 1.1 GHz Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ Quad-Core MSM8909w
Battery Capacity 430 mAh (Embedded)**
Internal Memory 4 GB (up to 2 GB usable)
RAM 768 MB
Technology WCDMA, GSM, UMTS, LTE
Network Bluetooth Version 4.2 LE; Wi-Fi Connectivity 802.11 b/g/n
Frequencies GSM 850/1900 MHz; LTE Bands 2/4/5
Data Transmission UMTS, GPRS, EDGE, GSM, HSPA+, HSPA, LTE
Protection IP68 Certified
Audio Built-in MIC and Speaker
Size 45.4 mm (1.79") Diameter; 14.2 mm (0.56") Thickness
Weight 3.15 oz.
Talk Time Up to 2 hours (3G)
Standby Time Up to 1.45 days (Ambient On)
Available Color Titanium
* Compatible with phones running Android 4.3 or higher and iOS 9 or higher. Please check with your carrier to see which features are supported. Supported features may vary.
** Do not attempt to remove the battery.
LG Available Accessories
Travel Adapter & USB Cable* Yes
SIM Card Cover Opener* Yes
Wireless Charging Cradle* Yes
* Included with watch.
Disclaimer
AT&T’s 4G LTE Network not available everywhere.

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Watch. I absolutely love this watch. Some people complain about the size of it. I however think it's the perfect size and it's fantastic in every way possible. I've been nothing but happy with it.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great on T-Mobile I have had this watch for a few months now and I love it.. It is pretty awesome when my phone runs out of battery that I can make calls, use "ok google" to search for stuff, get navigation, etc. I have found this watch to be a great reminder/notification device to keep me on top of things while in work mode. The design is simple and clean and everything on it works pretty well. Sometimes it takes a moment for it to connect to the network which can be annoying but that is because its paired with the phone. When it isn't paired with the phone it usually works faster guessing because its not trying to decide which signal to use. Anyway its a great smart watch that IMHO has helped me be more productive and safer while driving or riding my motorcycle.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a Waste of My Money I've tried everything to get better battery life and the only way I cam make it through the day is to turn all of the radios off, including LTE which is the primary reason I bought the LG Watch Sport.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Smartwatch I really enjoy this watch. It is my first smartwatch. I have been waiting for years now to get a watch with all these features combined with the new Android 2.0 experience. Despite what others have said, my battery lasts me all day. I have cellular service but keep it turned off when I don't need it. I keep wifi on, bluetooth on, NFC on, location on, gestures off, and tilt to wake on. I also never use the always on feature. I usually don't drop under 25% batter after 18 hours use. LG, I really enjoy the watch faces you provided with this watch. In fact I enjoy them more than almost all 3rd party watch faces available right now (probably because most watch faces don't take advantage of the new Android Wear 2.0 API yet). Even still, I wish you would keep adding more.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great watch except for battery Let me start by saying I am still very happy with this purchase. I was only looking for a fitness tracker that had built in GPS, an interval timer for running, and storage for my music. All so I could run and workout at the gym without my phone. This was the closest I could get to that and am fairly happy with all the features. Google Fit works really well and has so much potential and I'm confident they'll continue to enhance it. All that said, the battery life is AWFUL!!!! I went to the gym yesterday at 65% with AOD, Cellular, Wi-Fi and NFC all off. The only thing I was running was BT for my headset, Google Play Music from downloaded music, and Google Fit to track my Weight Training Workout. The phone powered off at 0% battery within the hour. Unacceptable. Why offer these features if you can't even get a full workout in? I love this watch, and will continue to push it to its limits, but LG - you HAVE to do something to manage battery life better on this device.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice phone I bought the watch 5 days ago and recieved it 3 days ago, because the AT&T store was out of them. The watch looks good and works fine. The features are good and there are a few apps that can be added. I would think more apps would come out in the future. The only draw back it the battery. It last about 12 hours when apps are not used to much. The more the apps are uses or calls or texts are made the quicker the battery dies. LG needs to address this issue.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lg needs to work on it First, you don't find 1 app compatible form LG. Lg needs to make more apps for this watch, like new faces and apps for setting. Second, you don't find no more than 1 accessory beside than charge. how you make a product in this days without no accessory, come LG you need to catch up. However, i like watch because it is well made.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lg needs to work on it i like the watch, hardware is really good, but software is different history. First, LG need to make their own app for android wear, add more features, like open the camera and take a pic using the watch.**** PLEASE MAKE APP FOR TGE WATCH!!!!!!!!!!!****
Date published: 2017-05-18
  • y_2017, m_7, d_25, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05800429, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View W280A Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Can I buy a SmartWatch in USA and use it in Denmark with the Lte???

Asked by: Tobias jensen
The LG Watch Sport™ - AT&T, Model # W280A is designed to run on AT&T's GSM 850/1900 MHz; LTE Bands 2/4/5. If the carrier in Denmark runs on those same ferquencies and LTE bands, it should work. You will need to check with the carrier in Denmark that you intend to use it with for compatibility. Carriers decide which devices they allow to run on their networks...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-20

Can I put my own music on my watch

Asked by: Greatdane93
It is possible to load your own music to the device. You would need to connect the device to a PC or laptop to add the files desired. Please contact our Wireless Customer Interactive Center at 800-793-8896 if further assistance is needed.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-14

I've had the Watch Sport for a few weeks now, & I'm loving it. But the battery life isn't that good. That battery isn't strong enough to support moderate use of the advanced features on the watch. Was wondering what will be done to correct this issue

Asked by: Jogup
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Smart Watch. The amount of battery life depends upon the manner of usage of the device. Please contact our Wireless Customer Interactive Center at 800-793-8896 to troubleshoot this issue.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-13

can the lg watch sport work with Sprint?

Asked by: lil bill03
Yes!!...Most people don't know that the AT&T model w280a is compatible with Verizon and Sprint CDMA Networks. I'm currently using my w280a model on Verizon right now. The hardest part is to get Verizon to issue you a SIM card for a non-Verizon product. Verizon will be reluctant to do this, because it's not company policy. I had to go through a long frustrating process, but I was able to get it done.
Answered by: Jogup
Date published: 2017-07-11

From other answers it appears this watch is not SIM locked to AT&T. Is that correct?

Asked by: LAgeek
Now in English/Simpler terms...The LG watch sport model W280a is the AT&T model & is intended to used on the AT&T GSM network. But most people dont know that model W280a can also be used on Verizon & Sprint CDMA Networks. I'm currently using my W280a model on Verizon right now. The only problem was getting Verizon to program a SIM Card to be used in a non-Verizon product. Verizon typically doesn't like to do this cause it's not company policy. But I was persistent (but not disrespectful) so I eventually got it done, but it was a long frustrating process.
Answered by: Jogup
Date published: 2017-07-11

Do you have to have a SIM card for it to work or can I just buy it and not have the Sims I just want to watch itself I don't want nothing else beside to watch

Asked by: Motokiller
You don't have to use the SIM Card for cellular service if you don't want to (it's an additional monthly cost on your phone bill). Just pay for that watch in full but don't activate the SIM Card. You can still use the watch as a regular smart watch without the cellular service.
Answered by: Jogup
Date published: 2017-07-11

How waterproof are we talking here, can I shower with it? I love this little watch!

Asked by: tanas89
The correct answer to this question is nope. It's wet rating just means you can't sweat this watch to death, you can kill it with a shower though. At present only the Pebble smart watch (which ahs been discontinued) and the Apple Watch II are the only 2 for sure swim proof watches. Garmen makes a couple you could shower with too but they're God awful ugly things.
Answered by: The Tiki Lab
Date published: 2017-07-11

Can watch be used with T-Mobile?

Asked by: GVern
yes it works on t-mobile.. i have it working with a sim from t-mobile.. its easy just go in there ask for a sim for a smartwatch should be an extra $5 a month with its own phone number.. just put it in and it works
Answered by: 1970SORD
Date published: 2017-07-17
  • y_2017, m_7, d_25, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_84
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05800429, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT