Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help
Close

Help Library

Find help information for your LG product

  

NEXUS 5 D820 DEVICE RESET

Operation Cell Phones Last Updated 04/20/2018
LG G2 LS980 APPLICATION BASICS

NEXUS 5 D820 DEVICE RESET

If your device is frozen, or the screen is locked and you haven't created a Google Account on the phone you can perform a Factory Data Reset.

By performing a factory data reset, All Data Will Be Deleted From The Device. While any data stored in your Google Account will be restored, all apps and data not stored in your Google account will be lost and should be backed up to a computer or MicroSD card before resetting.

Note: To backup your data, connect your phone to a PC via the USB cable. Swipe down from the top of the device to open the notification panel and confirm device is connected as a media device. Tap the notification to switch to another connection mode. Copy personal folders to your PC, i.e. DCIM (photos, videos), Downloads, Music, etc.

Perform a Factory Reset
Factory Reset Using Physical Buttons


Perform a Factory Reset
  1. From the Home screen, tap Apps > Settings > Backup & reset

  2. Tap Factory data reset.

  3. Tap Reset phone > Erase everything to perform a factory reset. Your device will restart when the reset is complete.

Note: If a lock screen is enabled you will be prompted to enter after selecting Reset phone. This process will erase all data from your phone's internal storage.

Factory Reset Using Physical Buttons
  1. Turn the phone off.

  2. Press and hold the Volume Down key + Power/Lock key until the device turns on. You will see the word Start with an arrow drawn around it.

  3. Press Volume Down key twice to designate Recovery mode.

  4. Press Power/Lock key to restart into Recovery mode. You will see an image of an Android robot with a red exclamation mark.

  5. While holding down Power/Lock key, press Volume Up key.

  6. Use the volume keys to scroll to wipe data/factory reset and press Power/Lock key to select it.

  7. Scroll down to Yes - delete all user data and press Power/Lock key to select it. Your device will reset to factory settings.

Note: If at any point during the above steps your phone becomes unresponsive, you can restart it by holding down the power button for several seconds.

Back to Top

Article Feedback

Q1. Overall, how satisfied were you with the usefulness of this information?
1 2 3 4 5
Q1-1. Why were you dissatisfied with the usefulness of this information?
Q2. How would you improve the information?

Characters left : 500 / 500