Skip to Contents

Help Library

Find guidelines and useful tips on how to use your LG product

Learn about product installation, maintenance, and troubleshooting using our search options.


Operation Cell Phones Last Updated 08/24/2015

If you lose your Android device associated with your Google Account, you can use Android Device Manager to remotely locate and factory reset your device.

  1. From the Home screen, tap Apps  > Google Settings

  2. Tap Android Device Manager.

  3. You can turn on the folllowing options:

  • Remotely locate this device. Remotely locate a device and find its approximate location on Google Maps. For devices running 4.1 and higher, location access must also be enabled. To turn it on, go to Google Settings > Location > Access location.
  • Allow remote lock and factory reset. Lock your device and erase everything on it. You can also change the lock screen passcode. Touch this option, then select Activate to turn on the device administrator.
  1. Sign into your Google Account on If you're using a Google Apps account, you will sign into your My Devices page.

Note: All devices associated with your Google Account receive a notification to enable it if it's turned off.

  1. If you have more than one device, select the arrow next to the device name to change it. To rename the device, use the Edit icon

  2. When your device is located, its approximate location is indicated by a blue circle on the map. The device manager also displays the name of the place where the device is located, the time it was located, and when it was last used.

Note: Android Device Manager doesn't collect a location history or do background location reporting. Your device's approximate location is requested when you first sign in, and this location data is deleted when you sign out of the device manager. If the device is turned off or offline, Google is unable to report its location.

  1. You can turn on the following options.
  • Ring - Ring your device at full volume for 5 minutes - even if it’s set to silent or vibrate.
  • Lock - Lock your device with a new password.
  • Erase - Perform a factory reset, which permanently deletes all of your data.. Perform a factory reset, which permanently deletes all of your data.
  1. If your Android device doesn't appear in Android Device Manager, or if you see Unknown location despite your device being online and running Google Play services version 3.2.25 or higher, follow these steps: 

    1. Open Google Settings  from your device's apps menu.
    2. Touch Android Device Manager.
    3. Uncheck Allow remote factory reset.
    4. Go to your device's main Settings menu, then touch Apps  > All > Google Play services
    5. Touch Clear Data. Note that this action doesn't remove personal data.
    6. Go back to Google Settings and select Allow remote factory reset.
    7. Restart your device.
  2. Once your device restarts, wait around five minutes and refresh

Article Feedback

1. Overall, how satisfied were you with the usefulness of this article?
1.1 Why did the article not resolve your issue?
  • Characters left : 500 / 500

2. Did the article resolve your issue?