Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help
Close

Help Library

Find help information for your LG product

  

LG G3 D850 CONTENT LOCK

Operation Cell Phones Last Updated 08/20/2015
LG G3 D850 CONTENT LOCK

Keeps images and videos safe and hidden when enabling the Content Lock feature. Within the Gallery the user locks with a password or pattern.  Backup pin and recovery will be associated with the Google account.  When the LG G3 is connected to a PC, Content Lock prevents file previews so the data is still safe. The locked images and videos can reside either on the LG G3’s internal memory or on the microSD card.

Note: Some owner content may still be accessible to a user that enables Content Lock.  For example, the locked file may be visible in third party apps, but you cannot unlock or see the locked contents.


To Enable Content lock:

  1. From the Home screen, tap Apps > Settings > General tab > Security > Content lock.

Note: A lock must be set before content can be locked.  The lock is independent of the lock screen settings.

  1. Tap OK and select Password or Pattern. Follow the prompts to setup the lock sequence.

  2. When prompted, enter a backup PIN twice and tap OK.

  3. Select a Google account to use if password is forgotten, and tap OK to continue.

To lock your content:

  1. From the Home screen, tap Apps > Gallery

  2. Tap a folder in Gallery, then tap the Menu key > Lock.

  3. Checkmark the files you want to lock, and tap Lock to continue. The locked file will not display in the main gallery.

  4. To view locked files, tap the Menu key > Show locked files.

To view your locked content:

  1. From the Gallery , tap the Menu key > Show locked files.

  2. Enter the current lock sequence.

  3. Your locked content is displayed. Tap a file to view.

To unlock your content:

  1. From the Gallery , tap the Menu key  > Show locked files.

  2. Enter the current lock sequence.

  3. Tap the Unlock icon , checkmark the files you would like to unlock and tap Unlock to continue.

  4. Your files are now unlocked and visible in your Gallery.

Note:

  • Content lock is not provided for Cloud files such as Picasa or protected files such as DRM.
  • Lock function works for images and videos in the Gallery app. Broken files or files that cannot be easily viewed may not be able to use the lock feature.
  • If you exit with Home key, remove battery, install or remove SD Card among others during the locking, the lock function is canceled.
  • In order to view, play or unlock a file, you must have the same Google account on the device that you used when locking the content.

Article Feedback

Q1. Overall, how satisfied were you with the usefulness of this information?
1 2 3 4 5
Q1-1. Why were you dissatisfied with the usefulness of this information?
Q2. How would you improve the information?

Characters left : 500 / 500