To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV - 49" Class (48.5" Diag)

  • 49LJ5500

Key Features

  • Full HD 1080p LED
  • webOS 3.5 Smart TV
  • Color Master Engine
  • Virtual Surround
AVAILABLE SIZES:

Full HD 1080p LED with Color Master Engine

Discover outstanding high-definition picture with precise Full HD 1080p resolution and enhanced colors for bluer skies, greener grass and more lifelike skin tones, all brought to life with the exceptional brightness and energy efficiency of LED.

Bluer skies. Richer sunsets.

Colors all look better than ever thanks to this special process that enhances the entire wheel — red, green, blue, cyan, magenta and yellow — as well as their hue and luminance.

webOS 3.5 Smart TV

Queue up movies, TV shows, online content and more from top content providers then toggle between them with an impressively intuitive interface.

A World of Apps

Watch all of the most popular streaming video apps, including Netflix, YouTube, Hulu™, Amazon Video, VUDU® and more.

*Please check with content providers for required bandwidth to stream videos. Smart service on product is subject to change. Some apps that appear on the screen image may not be preinstalled; internet connection is required for download.

Magic Mobile Connection

Magic Mobile Connection

Download the free LG TV Plus app to a compatible smart device then link it to the TV to wirelessly display photos, videos and many apps on the big screen.

Sound happens all around you, just like real life.

Sound happens all around you, just like real life.

Sound in the real world comes from every direction — left, right, above, below and behind. LG Virtual Surround recreates the experience so everything from blastoffs to bumps in the night sound like they're happening all around you.

ENERGY STAR® QUALIFIED

ENERGY STAR® QUALIFIED

Earning the ENERGY STAR® means a product meets stringent energy efficiency requirements set by the US Environmental Protection Agency. ENERGY STAR® certified televisions are on average, 27 percent more energy efficient than conventional models, saving energy in all usage modes: sleep, idle and on.

          

COMPATIBLE SOUND BARS

Find Your Model Below

SUMMARY
Diagonal Class 49 inches
Diagonal Size 48.5 inches
Resolution 1920 x 1080
Display Type LED TVs
Display Format Full HD 1080p
Other Input(s) 2 HDMI, 1 USB, 1 RF In (Antenna/Cable), 1 Composite In, Component In (Shared w/ Composite), 1 Ethernet, 1 Optical
Smart TV Operating System webOS 3.5
Speaker System 2 Channel
Other Features webOS 3.5, Color Master Engine, Virtual Surround
PICTURE QUALITY
Resolution Full HD (1,920 x 1,080)
Refresh Rate 60Hz
Color Master Engine Yes
AUDIO
Speaker System 2 Channel
Output Power 10W
Mono/Stereo/Dual (MTS/SAP) Yes
DTS Decoder M6
Surround Mode Virtual Surround
Clear Voice Yes
SMART TV
webOS 3.5 Yes
Remote Control Standard
LG Content Store (App Store) Yes
Full Web Browser Yes
CONNECTIVITY
Wi-Fi® Built-In Yes
Wi-Fi Direct Yes
Simplink (HDMI CEC) Yes
INPUTS / OUTPUTS
HDMI® 2
USB 1
RF in (Antenna/Cable) 1
Composite In 1
Component In 1 (shared with composite)
Ethernet 1
Optical 1
POWER
Power Supply (Voltage, Hz) 100~240Vac 50-60Hz
Power Consumption TBD
Standby Mode 0.5Wi
WALL MOUNT
VESA 300 x 300
DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
Wall Mount (WxHxD) 43.7" x 25.6" x 3.2"
W Stand (WxHxD) 43.7" x 27.8" x 9.3"
Shipping (WxHxD) 47.0" x 30.3" x 6.2"
TV without Stand Weight 24.9 lbs
W Stand Weight 25.1 lbs
Shipping Weight 29.5 lbs
WARRANTY / UPC
UPC 719192610033

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needed updated out of package Love this tv but when I went to use Netflix for the first time it said that the app needed updated. I go to update the app and it says I need to sign user agreements before it can update. I got to download the user agreements and it had an error occur and I was unable to view them or accept. So I googled and discovered I needed to use my hot spot connection instead of home WiFi, then have to go to settings/general/about this Tv/updates. Then from there I was able to update all my apps then switch back to home WiFi and all was well! I feel if the apps aren’t going to be updated out of package you should include in your set up menu how to do so! Other wise great product compeley satisfied and would recommend to all!
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality, User Friendly From the startup to video/sound quality, this is an all around good tv.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice We received Tv as a gift , our daughter thought we needed a larger screen we had a 32 inch flat screen about 8-9 years old Its very nice to set across the room and be able to read the guide ,banners , and alerts Picture and Sound quality is excellant We havent used all the apps did try Netflix surprised how easy it was to access
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good TV For The Price I purchased this for my parents. Set up was fairly easy. As was connecting the DirecTV receiver. Picture quality is good enough. Overall, a good TV.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good smart TV considering the price I bought the TV few months back and so far it's worked like a charm. Sometimes the WiFi takes couple of minutes to get a signal but usually it connects quite fast. The OS on the TV has some latency to it and you can see this when navigating things as this small "sluggishness". Sometimes when watching the Netflix the audio and video are a not properly synced, especially if you keep rewinding or going forward. The picture quality is great and the image is crisp. Also if you install the Intel WiDi software to your laptop, you can connect your laptop to the TV wirelessly which is very very very handy. The plastic casing doesn't feel sturdy at all and even with the legs tightly screwed in the bottom, the TV feels a bit wobbly when you touch it. But this could be also because the TV weighs nothing. Overall I'm very happy what I got with the price I was willing to pay for.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from User friendly and great value for the price I got this TV when my old, overly heavy and super hot plasma screen TV died. After reading plenty of reviews I decided on the LG 55 and it works great and has good picture quality. A great purchase in my opinion.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bracket Mounting No screws included to use to mount on my bracket (4 holes in back of TV). It took 3 calls to LG to identify screw size. I had to go to Home Depot.
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good value Smart TV that has everything needed. Not completcated to use.
Date published: 2017-10-03
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_121
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05810749, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View 49LJ5500 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Is there a way to get Pandora on this TV??

Asked by: Sami25
It would be suggested to search the LG Content Store for the Pandora app. If not available, it would not be possible to add to the TV at this time.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-16

Is there any way to connect headphone to this tv?

Asked by: Robtherobot
Our offices, in the United States, do not have specific product information for units released in the United Kingdom. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/uk/support/contact/support-here-to-help.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-05

Can this tv be mounted?

Asked by: Knd997
The LG Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV - 49" Class (48.5" Diag), Model # 49LJ5500 is a VESA Compliant TV that has an A x B VESA Wall Mount Pattern of 300 x 300 (mm)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-05

Does this TV have an 1/8" audio out jack to allow me to connect pc speakers to it?

Asked by: Jw123
The only Audio port on the LG Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV - 49" Class (48.5" Diag), Model # 49LJ5500 is the Optical Digital Audio Out. It does not have any analog RCA Audio ports or 3.5 mm (headphone jack) port on it...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-03

Hi I have a bought a 49LG5500 Model in USA and brought the TV to India. I tried to plug in the TV with a step down adaptor 220/110 V. However, the display is not turning on. Can I get some techinca support in India for the same.

Asked by: hkaktwan
Firstly, the LG Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV - 49" Class (48.5" Diag), Model # 49LJ5500 is a dual voltage TV (100~240Vac 50-60Hz) so you don't need a step-down adapter. The voltage is not the issue. What is an issue are the built-in tuners in the TV. This TV has an ATSC, an NTSC and a QAM tuner in it and none of those tuners are compatible with the Television Broadcast Standards used in India. You will not be able to receive any TV programming in India with this TV...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-03

What is the correct weight only tv with box mention kg  And there is any Inbuild memory  why in this model not available in India 

Asked by: Adunan
The LG Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV - 43" Class (42.5" Diag), Model # 43LJ5500 has a shipping weight of 23.1 lbs which is 10.5 kg. This TV is designed for compatibility with the Television Broadcast Standards used in the U.S. and will not work in India which is why it is not available in India. You may have a similar model in India but it will have a different model number. Your LG Support Center in India can assist you with which TV would be comparable to this model...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-27

Is 49lh55 a 4k?

Asked by: Fawzi
Hi Fawzi. Regrettably, we are unable to find an LG TV with the model # 49LH55 (model number is incomplete and the only 49" 2016 LG TVs we had were the LH5700 and the LH570B series TVs. However, in the model number, the letter "L" identifies the screen matrix type as a Full HD 1080p LED. TV, it is not a 4K TV which would be indicated by a "U" (for 4K UHD)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-25

Using the LG as a monitor as a display for my PC.

Asked by: Phinias T
Hi Phinias T. We are not clear on what your inquiry is, but if your PC has an HDMI Out, it can be connected to any of the HDMI ports on the LG Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV - 43" Class (42.5" Diag), 43LJ5500. The TV also supports Wi-Fi Direct, so if the Operating System on your computer is Windows 7 or Windows 8, run Intel® WiDi. You can press the 'HOME' button on your remote control then run the Screen Share app on the TV. A list of available devices will be displayed on the TV and you can then select your computer to connect and you will be able to view your computer screen on the TV. The TV supports the connection over the Intel® WiDi 3.5 version. It is recommended that you use a 5GHz router for the best performance...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-20
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05810749, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT