Skip to Contents

Skip to Accessibility Help

49UB8500
49UB8500
49UB8500

Stunning 4K* Picture Clarity In An Elegant Screen Design

49" Class (48.5" Diagonal) 2160p Smart w/ webOS 3D Ultra HD 4K TV

49UB8500

SIZE49"   55"
  • 4K Resolution
  • IPS Panel
  • Tru-4K Engine
  • HEVC Decoder

$1699.99

Suggested Price

Enlarge

 

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 41 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 Great TV, But.... I bought on sale at a relatively good price for an entry level 4K. Great sleek appearance. Excellent Smart TV features. Easy to set up wirelessly and simple to use. Got rid of soap opera appearance but rented movie recently and I couldn't get rid of it for that showing. Remote is like a bad wii controller and is very unstable. Downloaded remote iPad app. It's better, but is clearly not what it could be. For sound I used the digital audio sync feature to a sound bar for some amazing effects. Almost worth 5 stars but not quite. October 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome TV for a great price This TV is great, hopefully they will come out with more 4k content soon. October 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing TV The TV is amazingly intuitive when you are setting it up. Once you feel comfortable with the remote and how to manuever around the functions it is easy to use. If you are a non-techie it may take a little getting used to. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a wonderful TV. This 55" TV is full of features and after using the Wizard for picture and sound, the end result is just the best. Clear, sharp, colorful picture with true surround sound capabilities. It remains a good value for the money and has richly enhanced our viewing pleasure. Would definitely recommend this one. November 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by GREAT picture - POOR Firmware We mounted the LG 49UB8500 on the wall in our bedroom. The picture is absolutely fantastic. If you aren't going to use the wireless connection this is one of the best sets we looked at. I only have sight in one eye, so I can't review the 3D, but the option to view a 2D movie in 3D sounds interesting. The LG 49UB8500 upscales a Blu-ray or HD DVD to about 3000, which is noticeably better than my 1080 Plasma TV. The LG 49UB8500 has four (4) HDMI inputs and three (3) USB inputs, more than enough for me. I downloaded and installed the latest firmware from LG. The problems start with basic wireless reception degrading whenever the set is turned off and back on (ours goes from 28Mbps to 2.5Mbps). You have to go to setup, release and re-establish the wireless link to bring back the speed. This is apparently a "feature" of LG TVs which is not planned to be removed. BTW - A laptop in the bedroom is downloading at about 30Mbps throughout the room.- There is NO Flash support, so most WEB sites don't work or only partially work. And that's a BIG NEGATIVE. Some of the more common video apps are also missing. The remote is a point and shoot type and takes A LOT of getting used to. The manual selector (not using the remote) is PAINFUL to use and almost useless. The Firmware needs to be overhauled and should not have shipped in such poor shape at the cost of this set. If you only want a television with a GREAT picture, this is the set for you. If you want to stream video or use the WEB, this set leaves a lot to be desired. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm Still Learning This product caught my eyes while on vacation because I was looking for a larger 3D TV. The picture is what made the difference of just regular 1080p. I'm still trying to learn all the features or the magic remote. I'm still trying to learn how to use all of the apps on the home page. It does do some automatic actions that have worked like using a Harmony one touch button function. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great picture. Very satisfied. Love it. The only issue we have seen so far is that the Apps sometimes have issues connecting to the internet even though the network says it's connected. One time I had to unplug the TV for a minute or two in order to get things working again. Other times a retry of the app (Netflix in particular) a little while later worked. Sometimes it seems to be associated to the need for an App update. October 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is an excellent value From what I've seen this product has very good 4k display though there is not much to choose from. September 6, 2014
2 3 Next>>

You Might Also Be Interested In

accessories for your lg product

The UB8500 Series pairs the stunning clarity of ULTRA High Definition with the elegant Cinema Screen design. Witness the breathtaking quality of both 4K resolution** and near 4K today: Our exclusive Tru-ULTRA HD Engine converts your SD/HD video to near-4K standards. It offers LG Smart TV* with webOS and the Magic Remote, so it's easy to search and select premium entertainment like Netflix, YouTube and Hulu Plus streamed directly to the TV.

Disclaimers: *Internet connection and certain subscriptions required, sold separately. The Magic Remote does not come equipped with all LG Smart TV enabled TVs and a separate purchase may be required. **4K/UHD content delivery standards still being developed.

Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice. Screen images simulated and/or dramatized. Some features in videos may not be available on all models. Please refer to the TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS tab for a complete list of features by model.
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice.

Recently Viewed

close
49UB8500

49UB8500

$1699.99

Suggested Price

top