Skip to Contents

Skip to Accessibility Help

55UB8500
55UB8500
55UB8500

Stunning 4K* Picture Clarity In An Elegant Screen Design

55" Class (54.6" Diagonal) 2160p Smart w/ webOS 3D Ultra HD 4K TV

55UB8500

SIZE49"   55"
  • 4K Resolution
  • IPS Panel
  • Tru-4K Engine
  • HEVC Decoder

$2299.99

Suggested Price

Enlarge

 

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 22 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rocky start but seems to be operating perfect now. Worked perfect out of the box but within a few weeks I started to experience issues. The picture started to turn redder and darker. The blacks seemed to clip and there was quite a bit of color banding as if I were watching 8 bit video. I got on with customer support chat and after some setting changes it returned to normal. Another few weeks later the issue returned only now there was severe latent image retention. I was about to send it back and suddenly it returned to normal again and has been performing flawless since(several weeks). Fingers crossed. My only other remark to make is the remote. It's very clumsy, mostly when trying to enter text, especially YouTube. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great picture, love the 3D All of the family have enjoyed this TV, especially the 3D feature. Even viewing a 2D movie in 3D was pretty incredible. Still learning about all the features, but am very happy so far with this set. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Clarity This LG tv is everything we were looking for. It has amazing clarity and its Smart TV feature gives us unlimited access to the internet and programming we like. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. August 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by best for the money Has been a great purchase works and looks great wish it had some more apps like hbo or shotime but 4k Netflix is awesome August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great 4K Smart TV I wanted a 4K TV but was very skeptical of "Smart TVs". I am a software developer and have been disappointed by similar "smart devices" in the past. When I saw LG was now using webOS, I read many reviews and went to the store for a demo. I was very pleased with what I saw, and have since purchased. I've had the TV about a month, and everything has been very smooth, from initial setup, configuration, and use. Works great with all my devices - HD cable, PS4, WiiU, AppleTV. The included apps are nice, though I am looking forward to more 4K content. The Netflix app included supports 4K and there is more content every month. Biggest improvements I'd like to see are - 4K youtube support, more 4K apps, and better support for video off of USB devices as it's a little cumbersome today. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by OUTSTANDING PICTURE QUALITY! This is an incredible set. The quality of just regular HD television programs is amazing. I really didn't believe it would be that different from my old HD set but boy was I wrong! And it does everything well. Although it took me a little bit to figure out how to connect to different things (the cable box connect takes some working around), the connections to Netfilx and Amazon and others are amazing. AND, the 3D quality and realism is so much better than I dreamed of that we just continue to be amazed. The 3D seems even better than in the movie theatre, which I never expected. And, our grandkids use it for various xbox games for which they and our son claim is amazing also in its clarity and sharpness. So, in every way, an amazing set. (Haven't had a chance to check out 4k yet but I'm sure it will be great too considering how great the blu-ray movies are) July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4K This is the best TV i have ever owned the 4K is amazing and so is the 3D easy to use and easy to set up the app's are awesome there are a lot of app's to use. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing TV I bought this TV for PC gaming cause I wanted to play at higher resolutions on a bigger screen and this TV delivers. 1440p 1600p and 2160p at 60fps are all available for PC gaming. The SmartTV features are all there any app you can think of is there and they work great. I love the magic remote it's very responsive and lightweight. The 2D-3D conversion is great and so is the 3D it uses passive 3D which is the same 3D used at your local movie theater. Blu-ray movies look amazing this TV will upscale your 1080p movies to 4k and it's great. This TV does have HDMI 2.0 and HEVC which supports 4K streaming from Netflix etc. This is a great TV with great value this is a MUST BUY July 16, 2014
2 Next>>

You Might Also Be Interested In

accessories for your lg product

The UB8500 Series pairs the stunning clarity of ULTRA High Definition with the elegant Cinema Screen design. Witness the breathtaking quality of both 4K resolution** and near 4K today: Our exclusive Tru-ULTRA HD Engine converts your SD/HD video to near-4K standards. It offers LG Smart TV* with webOS and the Magic Remote, so it's easy to search and select premium entertainment like Netflix, YouTube and Hulu Plus streamed directly to the TV.

Disclaimers: *Internet connection and certain subscriptions required, sold separately. The Magic Remote does not come equipped with all LG Smart TV enabled TVs and a separate purchase may be required. **4K/UHD content delivery standards still being developed.

Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice. Screen images simulated and/or dramatized. Some features in videos may not be available on all models. Please refer to the TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS tab for a complete list of features by model.
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice.

Recently Viewed

close