To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

SUPER UHD 4K HDR Smart LED TV w/ Nano Cell™ Display - 65" Class (64.5" Diag)

  • 65SJ8500

Key Features

  • Nano Cell™ Display
  • Billion Rich Colors
  • Active HDR with Dolby Vision™
  • webOS 3.5 Smart TV
AVAILABLE SIZES:
The LG 65SJ8500 TV is rated by Consumer Reports

The LG 65SJ8500 TV is rated by Consumer Reports

Read the Consumer Reports review.

*Consumer Reports does not endorse products or services.

Nano Cell™ Display. Color Like You’ve Never Seen.

Discover more detail, more explosive colors, more everything with Nano Cell™ Display televisions. Exclusive to LG, these SUPER UHD TVs represent a breakthrough in LED technology. No matter which seat in the TV room one chooses—straight on or at an angle—colors look truer and black levels look deeper.

Learn more about Nano Cell™ Display

open
Nano Cell Display™. Deeper, Truer, More Natural Colors.

Ultra-fine Color Expression Through
Nano Cell™ Technology

How do we see color? The wavelengths of reflected light determine what color you see. Nano Cell Display composed of nano particles integrated in panel absorbs any light interference and drastically  enhances the color accuracy displayed on screen. Nano Cell Display produces a billion rich colors for a clearer, more lifelike 4K picture.

Lifelike Picture With Over A Billion Rich Colors

Nano Cell Display reveals a billion lifelike colors, 64 times richer than conventional TV. This ability to produce a wider spectrum of color results in superior picture quality.

Learn more about Billion Rich Colors

open

Billion Rich Colors

The availability of a billion rich colors gives the TV a palette 64-times broader than conventional televisions, to reproduce images with far more subtle and precise gradations, for a more lifelike picture.

Billion Rich Colors is achieved through 10 bit dithering.

SUPER UHD Cinematic Experience

LG SUPER UHD TVs deliver an experience that rivals the local theater. webOS streams the finest entertainment in just a few clicks, looking bold and rich thanks to Active HDR with Dolby Vision™. And the premium harman/kardon® audio system fills the room with deep, nuanced sound.

Learn more about the harman/kardon® audio system

open

harman/kardon® Sound

From the masters of home audio, Harman Kardon, comes built-in TV audio that truly performs. The speakers on LG SUPER UHD TVs have been custom-tuned to provide clean, powerful, full-range audio that fills any TV room.

Enjoy The Most HDR Content

From brilliant brights to deepest darks, LG SUPER UHD TV offers the ultimate expression of high dynamic range. Unlike some other 4K televisions, LG SUPER UHD TVs support Dolby Vision™, optimizing the picture scene-by-scene, as well as the new backward-compatible HLG HDR standard so viewers get more options for premium content.

Learn more about Active HDR with Dolby Vision

open

LG SUPER UHD TV supports the premium HDR, Dolby Vision™ favored by renowned filmmakers from all over the world. LG SUPER UHD TV not only delivers Dolby Vision, but also offers compatibility with other HDR formats such as HDR10 and HLG.

LG SUPER UHD TV supporting premium HDR Dolby Vision™, processes Dolby Vision’s dynamic metadata* within each frame, to present the intended vision of the director in your very own living room. HDR10 and HLG are rendered by LG SUPER UHD TV’s exclusive processing. By applying dynamic data produced by LG TV processing on a scene-by-scene basis, all types of content is displayed with improved HDR quality.

The compatibility for HDR playback may vary by the format and country.
Dolby and the double-D symbol are registered trademarks of Dolby Laboratories. Dolby Vision is a trademark of Dolby Laboratories.

webOS 3.5 Smart TV

webOS brings together all of the most popular streaming video apps, including Netflix, brought to life in 4K, HDR or enhanced with HDR Effect. And webOS gives you access to more than 70 free premium Internet channels through the LG Channel Plus app.

Please check with content providers for both required bandwidth to stream videos. Smart service on product is subject to change. Some apps that appear on the screen image may not be preinstalled; internet connection is required for download.

Channel Plus

Channel the Internet

Get free IP channels including Got Talent Global, Outside TV Shorts, Just for Laughs and more integrated right into the television. Discover premium new entertainment, sports and lifestyle programming or enjoy old favorites any time.

Watch what you want, when you want

Netflix Recommended TV recognizes Smart TVs that meet strict criteria for a superior Netflix experience, such as easy app access and new features. For the third year in a row, LG TVs have the distinction of being recommended by Netflix!

Netflix streaming membership required. Ultra HD availability subject to your Netflix subscription plan, Internet service, device capabilities, and content availability. Visit nflx.it/4K

SLING TV

   SLING TV   

Introducing A La Carte TV, the only live TV service that lets you personalize your channel lineup and save, starting at just $20 a month. Customize with your favorite extras like Sports, Comedy, Kids, News, Hollywood, Lifestyle and more. Watch 7 Days Free! Restrictions apply.

Gorgeous Picture No Matter How You Look At It

From the front or from the side, every seat in the TV room gets a clear, vibrant picture without washed out tones. Thanks to IPS technology, LG SUPER UHD TVs ensure any view is a great one, not just those front and center.

Why wide viewing angle matters

open
Wide angle





Research shows that about 60% of people watch TV off axis,
defined as any viewing angle that is more than 15° from center at which picture quality begins to degrade in a conventional TV.

LG Sound Bars

          

COMPATIBLE SOUND BARS

Find Your Model Below

ENERGY STAR® QUALIFIED

ENERGY STAR® QUALIFIED

Earning the ENERGY STAR® means a product meets stringent energy efficiency requirements set by the US Environmental Protection Agency. ENERGY STAR® certified televisions are on average, 27 percent more energy efficient than conventional models, saving energy in all usage modes: sleep, idle and on.

SUMMARY
Diagonal Class 65 inches
Diagonal Size 64.5 inches
Resolution 3840 x 2160
Display Type Super UHD TVs
Display Format 4K UHD 2160p
HDMI Port(s) 4 (HDCP 2.2)
Other Input(s) 3 USB, 1 RF In (Antenna/Cable), 1 Composite In, 1 Ethernet, 1 Optical, 1 RS232C (Mini Jack)
Smart TV Operating System webOS 3.5
Refresh Rate TruMotion 240 (Refresh Rate 120Hz)
Speaker System 2.2 Channel
Other Features Active HDR with Dolby Vision™, Nano Cell Display, Wider Color Gamut, Billion Rich Colors, Ultra Luminance, Sound Designed by Harman Kardon™
PICTURE QUALITY
ULTRA HD (3840x2160) Yes
Refresh Rate TruMotion 240 (Refresh Rate 120Hz)
Nano Cell Display Yes
Active HDR with Dolby Vision™ Yes
HDR Effect Yes
Wider Color Gamut Yes
True Color Accuracy Yes
IPS Technology Yes
Billion Rich Colors Yes
ULTRA Luminance Yes
4K Upscaler Yes
Local Dimming Yes
SMART TV
webOS 3.5 Yes
Magic Remote Control Included
Natural Voice Recognition Yes
Universal Control Capability Yes
LG Content Store (App Store) Yes
Full Web Browser Yes
Channel Plus Yes
SMART SHARE
Screen Share Yes
Content Share Yes
AUDIO
Speaker System 2.2 Channel
Output Power 40W (Woofer: 20W)
Sound Designed by harman/kardon® Yes
DTS Decoder DTS-HD
Surround Mode Ultra Surround
Hi-Fi Audio Yes
Wireless Sound Sync Yes
CONNECTIVITY
Wi-Fi® Built-In 802.11ac
Wi-Fi® Direct Yes
IP Control Yes
SIMPLINK™ (HDMI™ CEC) Yes
INPUTS / OUTPUTS
HDMI® 4 (HDCP 2.2)
USB 3
RF in (Antenna/Cable) 1
Composite In 1
Ethernet 1
Optical 1
RS232C (Mini Jack) 1
POWER
Power Supply (Voltage, Hertz) 100~240Vac, 50~60Hz
Standby Mode Less than 0.5W
WALL MOUNT
VESA 300 x 300
DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
TV without stand (WxHxD) 57.2" x 32.8" x 2.3"
TV with Stand (WxHxD) 57.2" x 35.0" x 12.3"
TV Shipping Dimensions (WxHxD) 63.0" x 38.2" x 7.5"
TV without Stand Weight 59.5 lbs
TV with Stand Weight 62.8 lbs
Shipping Weight 80.2 lbs
WARRANTY / UPC
UPC 719192609655

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Total WOW! OTW! Andvanced features great value! Received this marvelous perfect picture and sound TV a week ago,and getting into the experience! Beat my expectations to heck! Quick startup Smartstart+ a great feature! Sound quality greater than thought I could be! Beautiful cabinet,crispest clearest picture yet!,first "Smart TV" but easy to use features and apps.link to cable control easy,setup,Xfinity promt and code entry in secs.!was worth the wait and many thanks to LG for anticipating our needs and wants!and thank to M Mandel for the patience and courteous prompt response and help! This TV will meet anyone's needs now and into the Future.LG is leading the way! Wireless internet connection a bonus!
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great TV We got this a week ago and are so happy with this TV, the color is amazing even when standing up close to set. Set up, going on the web is so easy. You can also use other controls to turn it on/off (set-top box controller, cell phone, etc.) or use the pointer and/or scroll with the wheel to select or search for things; this is one of the features we love. I was surprised how slim this TV was, not only does it fit nicely into our wall unit, it also give us more room to move it around. I do wish the stand swiveled but the TV is big enough for the room without this and has such a clear, beautiful picture its really not a big deal. It also has beautiful screen savers that come on when your set box is off! Just love our new LG smart TV!
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great TV For A Great Price I bought this TV coming from an 3 year old LG 1080p. To say I was blown away was an understatement, I can say that this TV stands up to TVs costing $1k more than this one does. When we went to buy the TV we looked at everything in the store and I have always liked LG, so we focused on these after looking at the competition and realizing nobody comes close to what these offer. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this to anyone. Also is my first SmartTV and I wont go back after this.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantasic Television! I got this tv last week and it's FANTASTIC!! We upgraded from a 42" and WOW what a change. This TV brings you right into it. It makes you feel like you're there. Setting up The Wi-fi was super simple. The scroll bar at the bottom of the home screen with all of the options is an easy way to move from task to task. We definitely recommend this Tv.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from #TheMostAdvancedTVEver The Down and Dirty The LG Super UHDTV 4K 55” TV is by far the most advanced and enjoyable TV I have ever worked with and had in my home. This statement doesn’t do it justice until you realize that I own an IT company that sets up information technology infrastructure (computers, monitors, AV systems, etc) for clients all across Texas and it’s adjoining states. About the only way for setup and use of a TV to be easier would be if the TV read my mind. #LGYouHaveDoneItAgain The Good From opening the box to viewing 4k content. The LG Super UHDTV 4K 55” is simple to setup and configure. The controller sports a new way of interacting with the TV. I was impressed with the intuitiveness and simplicity to navigate around the TV during setup. This TV had all the good services to easily connect to and begin watching content immediately. Image quality on 4K content exceeded my expectations. It was almost like being there. #Captivating #Seriously The thing that surprised me the most was the incredible sound that the TV produced. I customarily connect all TVs to external sound systems as I have never met one that doesn’t fall short of expectations. To me a truly immersive experience includes not only the image quality but also the sound quality. I have finally met a TV that has an out of the box immersive experience! And to top it off, the only thing I had to do was plug it in and connect it to my wifi. I didn’t need the extra cables to connect my sounds system and my third party TV companions (Apple TV, Amazon FireStick, etc). I also connected this TV to my 4K capable Macbook Pro and used it as a monitor. Truly amazing! #LGYouHadMeAtSetUp The Bad This wouldn’t be an honest review if there wasn’t at least one shortcoming, nothing is perfect . . . Getting it out of the box, this was the most difficult part of the entire process. #DontTouchTheScreen. I have worked with TVs where the packaging has built in handles to make it easier to grip and lift the device out of the box. The only other thing I can say is that the TV takes awhile to boot when turning it on. This can be a little frustrating, but for now it is completely worth the wait. #YoureWelcome
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Pictue Quality I love ALMOST everything about this tv. Very easy to set up and use. The smart remote takes a little getting used to. The only issue I have is with my home theater and cable box. I cannot use my cable box remote to adjust volume. If anyone can tell me how to set this, I will gladly change my rating to 5 stars.
Date published: 2017-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing picture quality - exceeds expectations By far the most impressive TV we have ever owned. We have many other LG appliances and electronics that perform beautifully, and this TV meets and exceeds the high expectations that LG has established and continues to deliver in our home. The picture quality on this TV is unlike anything we've used. From kids animated shows, sports, DIY or drama, it feels like you are part of the action. Live TV is impressive, but BlueRay movies take the picture and experience to another level. The vivid colors, smooth transitions and sharp details are absolutely incredible. The controls and software are quite intuitive. First-time setup wizard was simple and helpful. The included remote and menus are easier to navigate than prior LG TVs we've had in the past. The Wifi connection was easy to establish and software updates are invisible happening in the background. The overall appearance is high-end as well. The thin edges allows full focus to be on the picture itself. The "hardware" essentially disappears when turned on and looks sleek and impressive when turned off. The tabletop base is strong and stable with an attractive brushed metal finish that complements the contemporary look and feel. The 55" screen allows for a great viewing experience, but the unit is still subtle and unobtrusive for its size. Extremely pleased with this TV and looking forward to spending time with our family for years to come.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW, Plain and simple im close to 40 now and this tv by far is the best Tv I have owned ever. Easy walk thru set up and once done everything is very simple to do on here. Now I know there are OLED tvs out there that are far better then mine is but for the price this is a steal plain and simple. I have not done much on here but for example Youtube Looks insanely great when watching 4k content and it will inform u if your watching something with HDR in it and theres a great difference when u add that to the picture. I have waited quite a long time for a tv like this and it was well worth the wait. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TO EVERYONE, If you are on a budget then get this dont waste money on an off brand get this one u will not be let done.
Date published: 2017-06-16
  • y_2017, m_7, d_25, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_9
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05791069, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View 65SJ8500 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Is the tv 3D?

Asked by: Trav188
No it is not. Last years version UH8500 was 3D but the SJ8500 (2017 version) is not.
Answered by: kcman
Date published: 2017-07-19

What is the differences between the 8500 and 9500?

Asked by: Mike dee
Other than having a thinner design, the LG SUPER UHD 4K HDR Smart LED TV w/ Nano Cell™ Display, SJ9500 series TVs are 10-bit panels and the SJ8500 series TVs are 8-bit + FRC )Frame Rate Control) panels...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-10

Will we ever see a firmware update for the Technicolor HDR mode as was shown on this TV at CES in January?  It was a major point at LG's keynote that it would be included.

Asked by: Jackie65
The LG SUPER UHD 4K HDR Smart LED TV w/ Nano Cell™ Display - 65" Class (64.5" Diag), Model # 65SJ8500 and LG’s new Nano Cell TVs also supports a variety of HDR technology, including Dolby Vision™, HDR10, Hybrid Log Gamma (HLG) and is ready to support the Advanced HDR by Technicolor. LG has partnered with Technicolor, and Technicolor’s renowned color science, will be applied to the majority of Hollywood’s premium content, through Technicolor Expert Mode, which will be added in 2017 and is designed to deliver the most accurate colors possible in LG’s SUPER UHD TVs. Currently, there aren't any dates that have been set as to when this will occur but when it does, LG will make an announcement...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-06

What does the power supply look like?  Does it plug straight into the back of TV and into outlet?  I am asking bc we need to mount this to a wall and the sony TV had a power adapter that was bigger than a brick. If possible, can you take a picture?

Asked by: Kimmie16
This TV has a permanently attached (to the TV - through a screwed on door) white 2 prong power cord.  There is no box, just a lightweight power cable.
Answered by: Jackie65
Date published: 2017-07-06

Is this a 10 bit panel?

Asked by: rlucas21
I received an email from support saying it's a 10 bit panel but now you're saying it's 8? It's their a way to know for sure?
Answered by: rlucas21
Date published: 2017-07-16

What is the coverage of the DCI-P3 color gamut?

Asked by: anquietas
Regrettably, we do not have any specifications for what the coverage of DCI-P3 color gamut the LG SUPER UHD 4K HDR Smart LED TV w/ Nano Cell™ Display - 65" Class (64.5" Diag), Model # 65SJ8500 is. Currently, no TV can display all of the DCI P3 or Rec. 2020 colorspace. As a result, they have to either clip colors which lie outside of their capabilities or compress the colors to fit them into the display limitations (or some combination of these two) in a process called tone mapping. There is no standard for calibrating to these wider color spaces because there is no reference of what a display should do and how this tone mapping should be performed. There are some sites that are beginning to test how much of the DCI-P3 and the Rec.2020 color volume TVs can cover, but currently, we do not have any specifications on that...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-06-19

Does this or any of the SJ series have Cinema 3D?

Asked by: robs926
No it doesn't. A step backwards if you ask me.
Answered by: Travis127
Date published: 2017-06-08

for 55SJ8500 does it need external speakers

Asked by: waynes1
We appreciate your interest in this television and its features. External speakers can be added to this TV if you so choose. However, such an installation should not be necessary.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-20
  • y_2017, m_7, d_25, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05791069, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT