To properly experience our website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help


Key Features

  • LCD Display
  • Auto Dosing
  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • Inverter Heat Pump Drying
Suggested Price


Suggested Price
The Art of Essence

The Art of Essence

LG SIGNATURE stays true to the essence,
delivering a new sense of life for the most discerning individual.

Quick Circle User Interface

This unique circle LCD display in the main washer lets you easily and conveniently control the two washers at once. It keeps track of usage patterns to display your frequently used cycles.

Auto Dosing System

The auto dosing function detects laundry soil levels and automatically dispenses the detergent dosage needed to effectively clean your clothes.

Unleash the Potential of Laundry Innovation

Bask in the luxury of convenience with LG SmartThinQ® technology that provides remote management of key features.


What People Are Saying

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Changing my expectations To be fair, the LUWM101HWA is our first washer/dryer combination unit and also our first unit leveraging ventless (heat pump) dryer technology. Our expectations were that the dryer might take twice as long to dry as our prior unit. With that in mind, we are experiencing washer / dryer times that are five (5) hours or more. As a family of four (4), we have had to drastically change how we approach laundry as a chore as a result. The size, speed, and savings of the LUWM101HWA are all drawbacks as you cannot complete a week's worth of laundry in a single day, it is now an every day activity for us. With that said, we really like the interface and many of the other features. Before we experimented with permanent press mode, all of our clothes came out severely wrinkled so now we have to use permanent press with nearly every load. In hindsight, we would return/replace the LUWM101HWA with a traditional unit if we had the option as it was simply not a good fit for our needs.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unexpectedly surprised!!! I have used this miracle machine for a month now. For the first time in history it is a nice size tub and performs magic with it's choices, auto dispense, silent operation and performance.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Washer/Dryer This is the best washer/dryer I have ever owned. I wash and dry about two loads of laundry everyday. I love that you can just turn it on and it will wash and then dry and you do not need to check on it. If you put it on the timed dry cycle for 120 minutes the clothes come out dry. Perm Press is great if you do not want to iron. Easy to clean and take apart the drain filter to remove any left over lint. I can not say enough good things about this amazing machine!!
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth The Wait. I purchased this and the matching Sidekick washer on July 5th 2017. These items were on national backorder so it took a few months to get them. I received the units on November 1st. Both the Sidekick and the main washer were made in August 2017. I will review the sidekick on its own page. They were made in Korea, shipped on a boat, delivered to NYC, then travelled over the road by tractor trailer for final delivery to me here in Los Angeles, CA, so LG are literally making these and shipping them out as soon as these are made. The LUWM101HWA is much smaller than the WM3997HWA combo washer/dryer it replaces. I knew this so it was not an issue, but looking at them side by side it's a big difference. The unit is quiet. The inverter heat pump that is used to dry has an air conditioner like hum to it when you put your ear to it. it's not annoying and you don't hear it unless you look for the sound. The drain pump on this machine does not run as often as the WM3997HWA does when it's drying clothes. This is due to the more efficient nature of the heat pump inverter over the condenser drying on the older WM3997HWA, and is a welcome feature. Inverter heat pumps on clothes machines are popular in Europe and I am happy to see LG taking a more serious look at bringing this tech to us here in the USA. As a bachelor, the wash and dry programs cover everything I would need them to. there are other settings I won't use (baby wear) and you can download more programs through the LG smartphone app. The smartphone app shows you the status of the sidekick and main washer. It will alert you when they are finished running. Pairing to wifi was easy. I simply used the smartphone app (Android) and it setup the units and registered them! The machine is clean, unobtrusive, and modern looking. When it's off it blends in in background. The display is very nice. Clear, bright , and can be seen across the room. Touching the display and swiping left/right is just like using your smartphone. The screen is responsive. Don't use wet/dirty fingers because that can prevent the screen from acknowledging your finger press (it's a capacitive screen just like smartphones), so if you are handling wet laundry just try to wipe off your finger prior to pressing on the screen. All glass front! The auto dispense system is genius. You can adjust the amount the system will use to your taste. No more dealing with pouring in the detergent/softener..just load the clothes and go! After a few uses, the system will list your "Favorite" program to use (it will alert you to this also). You just swipe left to that screen and pick your favorite, most used programs. The end chime that LG uses on its machines is MUCH quieter!! I like this!!! The Inverter heat pump brings out the clothes nice and fluffy, more so than the WM3997HWA. Overall, I am super happy with these machines! They were worth the wait and are really really nice! I installed them myself with the install process being very easy. I have had LG washers for years and am pretty comfy with setting them up. There are videos on the internet that show all the connections you need to make. It's not a daunting process. LG even includes a "water hammer arrester" to prevent your pipes from "banging" in the wall if you have this issue. A nice touch! I don't have an issue with water hammer but for those who do, it's nice to know that's included. I live in an apartment and although there are laundry rooms on premises, I prefer to have my own, so I have it sitting in my kitchen! I can go on and on about this machine! Post up any questions you may have and I will answer!
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Clean, warm, dry clothes (if you've got all day) The features are cool--I like never having to dispense detergent and I like the wifi-enabled phone notification when the laundry is done (it's also cool that I can start the machine remotely, though I have no idea why one would ever need to do that). Also love the compact size. I've never owned a condenser dryer and everyone I talked to about this unit said I was making a big mistake because "the clothes always come out damp with all-in-one machines." Not true at all--the clothes come out perfectly dry and warm, just like with a regular vented dryer. So, why 3 stars? Because when you load the machine to capacity, a wash and dry cycle takes nearly 8 hours. That was a shock and a huge disappointment. I'm now adding on a separate dryer to cut down on the time it takes to do laundry, which sort of defeats the purpose of the all-in-one unit.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Digital Age Washer/Dryer! This is one sleek appliance. Loved the promos I saw on LG site featuring CES 2016 videos debuting this unit SO much, I bought it sight unseen. I went to a high end appliance store in CT and asked to purchase. The salesman did not even know about the unit! I helped him looked it up on the LG site. (Sidebar: We had to wait nearly two months after purchasing (31MAY17) for the unit to arrive to the appliance store and another month for my work travel schedule to allow the machine to be delivered 23AUG17) Also ordered and paid for the SideKick unit - that has been delayed twice - now expecting in mid SEP2017...that part is not cool. My husband and I installed the w/d ourselves. The instructions were clear and the hardest part was leveling the feet - which will not make any difference when the SideKick arrives next month.. It took us about an hour going from unboxing to pressing the power button. Not bad. Read all the intructions before you start so you can gather all the items needed - otherwise it may take you longer to install. Highly suggest that you thoroughly read the Owner's Manual. This is a complicated appliance. I am particularly interested in the maintenance routine - very keen to regularly use the Tub Clean feature. We ran a test load of six bath towels as instructed - took 3 1/2 hours! Plays a nifty "Sailor Tune" when it is done - that was amusing. I am a little concerned about the electric drying times, coming from using a gas dryer for 30 years, but I am still figuring out all the washing/drying choices - SO many options! The machine will also "learn" routines once it has been repeated three times and add a shortcut for you. As we no longer house three high school varsity athletes - so I don't wash as many loads - everything is an adjustment. The control panel is user friendly, but a wee touchy. You need to learn where to place your finger tip to activate some of the choices - but that is a learning curve issue too. Downloaded the SmartThinQ app so I can can start a load remotely. A little Big Brothery, but we like using the Nest Thermostat remote function, so I will see how helpful the LG remote function is over the next few weeks. We set the unit in the same closet as our previous stacking unit - see photo. Even after we add the SideKick, we will have room to hang a rod above the units for drying delicate items. And, once the sidekick is in, the Control Panel will be at a better elevation than it is now. If I am able - i will double back in a few months for an update. In general, I think it was a good purchase (despite the delivery delays and the fact that my warranty started at purchase - even though I did not have the unit(s) for three/four months.) We are happy with the quality of the product. It seems well built and well-designed.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the both I bought the trio, washer/little washer and steam dryer. I love them so much! The little one is so handy , small batches come out great. Steam dryer perks up wrinkled clothes and does not wrinkle them in normal use.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine Never loved a washier like I do this one I was lazy registering but it hasn't had any issues still don't . Wrote another review
Date published: 2017-05-11
  • y_2018, m_3, d_21, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05776127, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms


Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

How much clearance is required at the back of the unit? Installation guide seems to indicate 4"? Is that the minimum clearance needed? My closet is 27.5 " deep and I am wonder if it would fit (assumes operating unit with closet door open).

Asked by: Ronda B
The recommended installation clearance of 4 inches in the back of the LG SIGNATURE Washer/Dryer Combo, Model # LUWM101HWA is to ensure that it has sufficient spacing around it for airflow, ease of installation and servicing, especially if you intend to install it in a closet which confines the space...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-03-02

To the right of the detergents containers is that access to clean the lint?

Asked by: Don mega
HI Don. That is correct. To the right of the Auto Dispense tray in the LG SIGNATURE Washer/Dryer Combo, Model # LUWM101HWA is the Drain Pump Filter that should be checked periodically for any lint or foreign objects that might clog it and prevent the unit from draining. An ‘[OE]‘ message blinks on the display when the drain pump filter is clogged with dirt...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-01-29

What is the difference between the energy saving dryer mode and the regular dryer mode?  What does it do differently and how much more energy can it expect to save?

Asked by: Nobody7621
Energy Saver is an option that can be added to the Cotton/Normal cycle. On some models it is defaulted to ON automatically and must be disabled. When activated, the dry cycle will run for the first 40 minutes as an air dry cycle ONLY. The heater will Not engage. The cycle time is longer, but because the heating element is not engaged, energy consumption is reduced. Unfortunately, I do not have details on estimated savings because it completely depends on the load size and fabric types. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-21

Is there a basic pedestal available for this unit.  I don’t need the additional washer pedestal, but a simple pedestal with a storage drawer would be great to raise the washer a little so you don’t have to bend over as far to load/unload it.

Asked by: Bobbbbbb
The LG SIGNATURE Washer/Dryer Combo, model LUWM101HWA, is only compatible with the LG SIGNATURE: 0.7 cu. ft. LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer, model LUWD1CW. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-12

Does the dryer dry clothes 100 %?? Also, I’ve seen a number is driers shrink clothes , does this product have the same issue? 

Asked by: SS212
If you do not overload the LG SIGNATURE Washer/Dryer Combo, Model # LUWM101HWA, it will dry all your loads completely. You have to keep in mind that the washing capacity for the washer is twice that for its drying capacity, so if you wash a full load, you will need to remove half of your load out for drying. That is why when a standalone washer and dryer are matched, the matching dryer typically has about twice the capacity of the washer. What also helps for the drying performance is how much moisture and water is removed in the final spin of the washing cycle. The more water that the washer removes from your clothes, the more effective the drying performance will be. Again, if you overload your clothes for the washing cycle, that will reduce the machines capability to extract water from your load. Dryers produce heat to dry your clothes. You need to check your garment labels to avoid garment shrinkage and you also need to check those labels for the correct water temperature setting that the items should be washed in because the shrinking can happen before you even get to the drying cycle...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-03-02

My washing machine is leaving suds. We just got this set and I am not happy with it!

Asked by: Rene 4
If the machine is leaving suds, we would recommend decreasing the amount of HE detergent that is being used. If you are using the auto dispense feature, please look review the concentration level of the detergent. If the detergent is 2x or 3x concentrated, the type of detergent may need to be changed before utilizing the auto dispense feature. For further assistance, please reach out to one of our Signature Concierge Team members. Contact information will be located within your owner's manual.
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-12-07

can soft water be used with this washer?

Asked by: golfbug
It doesn't matter whether you use hard or soft water with this LG SIGNATURE Washer/Dryer Combo, Model # LUWM101HWA as long as you can take the necessary preventative measures to correct for the type of water in your environment. Fortunately, soft water does not cause the types of problems that hard water does. You don't have to use as much detergent and additives when washing with soft water...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-05

I bought a LUWM101HWA signature combo washer / dryer. I noticed there is no lint trap despite this being a dryer. Where does the lint go? A dryer produces lint. Is lint going down the drain in the next cycle? Getting collected inside the machine?

Asked by: Dexwolfram
The lint goes into the drain pump and is caught in the drain pump filter. We would recommend cleaning the drain pump filter every week to every other week depending on usage. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-12
  • y_2018, m_3, d_20, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05776127, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms