To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

Front Load Washer / Dryer Combo

  • WM3997HWA

  • White

Key Features

  • TrueBalance™ Anti Vibration System
  • Direct Drive Motor, 10 Year Warranty
  • Ultra Large 4.3 cu.ft. Capacity
  • Ventless Condensing Drying System
  • LG SideKick™ Compatible

Made for Each Other

The LG SideKick™ is compatible with all new LG Front Load Washers.

AddPause Laundry

Forget Something? No Problem.

This LG Washer has a built-in pause button that lets you pause your wash after it starts and drop in a stray piece of clothing

Laundry At the Speed of Life

LG's enhanced TurboWash® technology. Powerful high-pressure nozzles save 20 minutes per load, cutting wash time by half—without shortcutting cleaning performance, even on larger loads. That's not just laundry done fast—it's laundry at the speed of life.

More free time

More free time

Towers of towels, piles of sweatshirts, and a mountain of jeans? Go for it. The ultra large capacity (4.3 cu.ft.) tub lets you do more laundry in fewer loads. That’s time saved and sore backs avoided.

Experience Steam Cleaning

There's no clean like a steam clean. Our Steam™ technology gently but powerfully penetrates fabrics to virtually eliminate dirt, odors and wrinkles.

Count on it

When you buy a washer, you want something reliable that you can count on. Because the Direct Drive Motor uses fewer moving parts and operates more efficiently, LG confidently backs the motor with a 10-year warranty.

The hottest thing in cold clean

Using the cold cycle on your washer doesn’t have to mean compromising. ColdWash™ technology uses cold water and enhanced washing motions to penetrate deep into fabrics, giving you cold water savings with warm water performance.

SUMMARY
Design Style Front Loader / Front Control
Type of Display LED
Dimensions (WxHxD) 27” x 38 11/16” x 29 3/4”
Capacity (cu.ft.) DOE 4.3
Drying System Ventless Condensing
Color White
Number of Wash Programs 14
Number of Dry Programs 5
Number of Wash/Rinse Temps 5
Dial-A-Cycle™ Yes
Easy Loading Tilt Tub Yes
Delay Wash Yes
Spin Speed (Max) 1300 RPM
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor, 10 Years Motor, Lifetime on Drum
SIZE AND WEIGHT
Width 27"
Height 38 11/16"
Depth 29 3/4"
Depth with Door Open 51"
Weight (Product) 211 lbs.
Weight (Shipping) 225.8 lbs
PROGRAMS
Wash Programs Cotton/Normal, Tub Clean, Bulky/Bedding, Heavy Duty, Speed Wash, Delicates, BrightWhites™, Download
Dry Programs: Manual Times Dry 30, 60, 90, 120 mins
Dry Programs: Sensor Dry More Dry, Normal Dry, Damp Dry, Low Temp Dry
Wash/Rinse Temps Extra Hot, Hot, Warm, Cold, Tap Cold (All Cold Rinses)
No. of Soil Level 5
Options Soak, Extra Rinse, Fabric Softener, Delay Wash (up to 19 hrs), Child Lock, Custom Program, Signal, Rinse+Spin, Spin Only, ColdWash™, StainCare™, Water Plus, Add Garments, PreWash
No. of Water Levels Auto-adjusts to load size
FABRIC CARE FEATURES
SenseClean™ System Yes
Sensor Dry Yes
CONVENIENCE FEATURES
LoDecibel™ Quiet Operation Yes
Tray Dispenser 4 --Prewash, Main Wash (with liquid detergent cup), Bleach, Softener
End of Cycle Beeper Yes
Child Lock Yes
Tub Light White LED
TrueBalance™ Anti-Vibration System Yes
Auto Suds Removal Yes
Forced Drain System Yes
Status Indicator(s) Yes
Internal Water Heater Yes
Leveling Legs 4 Adjustable
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
Drum NeveRust™ Stainless Steel
Cabinet Painted Steel
Control Panel Plastic
Top Plate Painted Metal
Transparent Door Glass Yes
Door Rim Chrome
MOTOR
Motor Type / Motor Speed Direct Drive / Variable
Axis Horizontal
POWER SOURCE
Ratings UL Listed
CEE Tier Rating CEE Tier 1
Electrical Requirements / Type 120V, 12 Amps / Electric
WARRANTY/UPC
UPC 048231014151

What People Are Saying

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Biggest Waste of Money! I purchased this machine primarily to save space. What a mistake! It washes ok but it takes forever to dry and everything comes out wrinkled. I am very disappointed in this product. It uses excessive water for what is supposed to be HE..
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth it So, I've had this machine for over a year and it's been decent for washing BUT it has been leaving yellow stains on ALL of our clothes. Bleach doesn't even take it out! It's good for washing if you hang dry but if you intend on it to be a quick dryer it is not.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Washer / Dryer. Saves space, I bought this combo washer/dryer one year ago. It provides a high quality wash, saves water and space.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does NOT dry clothes Great concept though it doesn't dry clothes no matter what type of fabrics, size of load, or duration of drying time.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best laundry machine I have ever had I have had this washer/dryer for 1 month. I will never go back to a separate washer and dryer. I am able to put a load of laundry in before going to work every morning and its dry when I come home 11 hours later.No more marathon laundry days for me. A little each day and I can easily stay on top of it. I have not experienced the odor that is common with front load washers. I leave the door open after the last load of laundry comes out to let the machine dry out. I also drain the tubing after the last load of the day. If I take the laundry out as soon as it's done, the clothes feel humid dry. 1 good shake and it feels dry. If I get to it later in the day everything feels dry when I take it out. The only regret I have is not getting the pedestal when I got this unit. The little door on the bottom front left if the machine is where the tubing is that you have to drain. If it were up on a pedestal it would be easier. The machine is too heavy to get the pedestal now and try to get the machine up onto it.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing machine! Been using this for a few weeks and I love it!! Great machine! We are dairy farmers so our clothes can get DIRTY and this washes them perfectly clean. I love not having to switch clothes into a dryer.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost Like the Jetsons! Wow! The only way laundry day would be easier would be if a Rosie Robot was available! Throw the laundry in,choose from a myriad of settings and get a song when all's done. If you have space,venting or personal issues with your back or shoulders this All In One unit is your answer. Smart design,quality construction and a touch of the Space Age. Now...Wheres Rosie LG?
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised to love it so much I decided on this combo unit because of space limitations for a washer of this size. I had read the negative reviews and was a bit skeptical but went ahead. They have been so common in Europe for years that I was not at all worried about reliability. I have had the unit for 8 months now. My only complaint is that the side buttons do not light up, so in my somewhat dark location I have to use a flashlight to see. That's it. I love the option of putting my clothes in and taking them out ready to hang up. Or can stop at wash, sort out the items that don't go through the dryer and then go on to dry the rest. It is odd to finish the drying cycle, open the door to see water in the rim, take the clothes out feeling a little damp. Then all I do is shake the item and it is dry -- magic! Guess because of the venting inside there is a slight sheen of moisture on the outside that just shakes away. At this point, even if I had the space for 2 units, I would go for the combo.
Date published: 2017-10-26
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_171
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05111202, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View WM3997HWA Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Having trouble with dryer settings need some more instructions on how to set dryer

Asked by: trailofgail
Please see the following articles in our help library for assistance with the dryer portion of your machine. http://www.lg.com/us/support/product-help?categoryId=CT10000012&superCategoryId=CT10000005&search=WM3997HWA&symptom=Combo+Unit+(Washer%2Fdryer)
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-12-01

Does this model come only in white?

Asked by: Sil46
Hi Sil46. The LG Front Load Washer / Dryer Combo, Model # WM3997HWA is only available in white...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-11-20

I love this washer/dryer combo, but sometimes I need things dried quickly. Can I stack the LG DLGX4371W on top of my washer/dryer combo with a stacking kit?

Asked by: Chuckiesue
Hi Chuckiesue. That is a great question! Although the LG Front Load Washer / Dryer Combo, Model # WM3997HWA has the same dimensions as stackable LG Front Load Washers that use the LG 27" Laundry Stacking Kit, Model # KSTK1, it is not listed as a stackable washer. Please contact our Support Center at (800) 243-0000 for assistance with this inquiry...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-11-16

How many pounds of laundry can this all in one 4.3 cuf unit accommodate?

Asked by: elm1270
Pounds are a unit of weight and cubic feet are a unit of volume and there is no direct relationship between the two so you can't do a one-to-one conversion. As a general rule of thumb, 12 pounds of laundry is appropriate for a standard capacity top load washer, 15-18 pounds for a front-load washer and 20-22 pounds for an extra large capacity front load washer. The LG Ultra Large 4.3 cu.ft. Capacity Front Load Washer / Dryer Combo, Model # WM3997HWA will hold about 18 - 20 lbs of dirty laundry, however, keep in mind that 20 lbs of dry towels or dry jeans will weigh a lot more when wet! After you have sorted the laundry, you can also weigh your empty laundry basket and then fill it, then weigh it again and adjust appropriately. You should load the laundry loosely so that clothes have room to move freely and keep in mind that while it is economical in both utility costs and time management to do full loads, you should never cram clothes and overstuff a washer just because you can...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-11-27

I'm very happy with this unit save for the clothes come out very wrinkled. Clothing that before had always come out of my previous dryer without wrinkles is very wrinkles now, both with and without fabric softener. Any suggestions for preventing this?

Asked by: Jennyjuju
We would recommend reviewing the cycle guide for this machine. If the unit is performing a hot water rinse, this would cause more wrinkles to set into fabrics. Also, some cycles will reach high spin speeds which would also leave wrinkles in your clothing. If you have further questions or concerns, please reach out to our support team via Twitter @LGUSSupport. ^ST
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-10-18

Is there a dryer function alone without washing?

Asked by: Jeanclaude
The LG Front Load Washer / Dryer Combo, Model # WM3997HWA is equipped with a feature that detects load size so when using the dryer cycle, keep in mind that time will be added to your dryer cycle because it's including a spin cycle. To use the Dry Only Feature, the spin speed option needs to be off. When you turn the unit on, go directly to the dryer knob, select your dry cycle, press the Spin Speed selection button until all the indicator lights turn off (this turns the Spin Cycle off). Then press Start. Turning the Washer knob before or after selecting your dryer cycle will overwrite the dry only feature and will turn the dryer cycle off...^IFV,
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-03

How do you start the dryer on this machine

Asked by: lisad4963
To start the dry cycle on the unit you would press the DRY button on the unit until the desired cycle is selected the press the start button.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-30

Does the machine come in stainless? 

Asked by: Mike81
The LG Front Load Washer / Dryer Combo, Model # WM3997HWA is only available in white...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-14
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_195
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05111202, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT