To properly experience our website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help


Key Features

  • 4.3 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity
  • Ventless Condensing Drying
  • TurboWash® Technology
  • LG Steam Technology
  • Direct Drive Motor 10-Year Limited Warranty
  • LG SideKick™ Compatible
Suggested Price


Suggested Price
Promotion Price*


Promotion Price*

Largest Capacity All-In-One Washer/Dryer

Enjoy the convenience of an all-in-one washer/dryer combo without giving up on capacity. The largest capacity (4.3 cu. ft.) means you have the room to get it all done.

Ventless Drying

No access to external venting? No problem. LG’s all-in-one washer/dryers use ventless condensing to dry your clothes without the need for external venting.

Fast Forward Your Wash

Give big loads the same great clean while cutting your wash time by up to 30 minutes* with LG’s enhanced TurboWash® technology.

*1. Compared to an LG front load washer without TurboWash®. Based on AHAM-HLW-1-2010 test protocol. Cotton / Normal or comparable cycle at default settings, 8 lb. loads. Excludes quick wash or comparable cycles intended for small, lightly soiled loads only.

Deep Clean With Steam

Our steam technology gently but powerfully penetrates fabrics to virtually eliminate dirt, odors and wrinkles.

For Small Loads
that Can’t Wait

Whether it’s your kids’ favorite shirt, yoga pants or a school uniform, washing a full load seems wasteful for just a few pieces. Now you can wash small loads that just can’t wait with the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer or wash two loads at once to save time.

Learn more about LG SideKick™


6 Customer Care Cycles

LG SideKick™ offers six distinct wash cycles, including a special setting for active wear.

Simultaneous or Independent Operation

LG SideKick™ saves time by washing two loads at once or get it all done by washing a small load separately.    

Raises Your Washer

LG SideKick™ allows you to easily access laundry for more comfortable loading and unloading in the main washer. Compatible with all new LG Front Load Washers.

A Smarter Way to Wash

6Motion™ Technology uses up to 6 different wash motions to provide a smart cleaning experience that is gentle on clothes and maximizes washing performance.

Easily Maintain &
Keep Fresh

TubClean Cycle is designed for easy, periodic maintenance to keep your washer fresh. The cycle uses water jets and intense heat (up to 149 degrees) to sterilize the tub and help keep your high-performing washer in tip-top condition.

Warranty / Certifications



Follow the tips below to make sure your LG product will fit in the space intended.

complete your system

See compatible products below:


What People Are Saying

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Big mistake! Bought the w/d combo 3 weeks ago and I am regretting my purchase. The manual instructions are vague. The biggest problem I have with the machine is that clothes do not get dried! I am having to seperate clothes even more than I did before. And I am running smaller loads in hopes most of it dries. Also clothes are wrinkled because there isn't a wrinkle preventer. And don't be in a rush to wash and dry your less than 31/2 hours (sometimes more)!
Date published: 2018-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Machine I bought this model for convenience and I needed to have one machine that can do both wash and dry.
Date published: 2018-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best solution for small apartment. We have very limited space but somehow this beast of a machine fit perfectly within our apartment bathroom cabinet space. The time does take a little longer than usual however our clothes are cleaner and less damaged then the complex’s industrial washer/dryer. Pros: cleaner clothes, efficient water/power usage, multiple cycles (love), and quiet. Cons: the melody it plays at the end and the high speed spin vibrates our entire apartment for about 5-10 on bulky washes.
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ventless washer is great on so many levels. I bought the largest capacity model and it is the best appliance I own. It's efficient, quiet, easy to install and the fact that it uses less water than conventional washers is also a plus. This is ideal for apartment dwellers since it is ventless and takes up less space than the usual washer/dryer combo. I don't know why this isn't marketed more widely considering the number of one and two person households in America. Everyone I show it to is impressed and none had heard of it before.
Date published: 2018-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Took a chance GREAT machine! Was skeptical at first, but needed it due to the small space I had. Glad I did! Everything works great. It does take a little it longer for the drying cycle, but that doesn't bother me and the clothes come out clean and DRY! Only con is that it is a very expensive unit....
Date published: 2018-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good features and good quality look It is very convenient for a small utility room. Quite a change from my old units so will take me awhile to get used to it.
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREATEST THING EVER!!! I bought this a month ago and I could not be happier. It is so great to put your clothes in the machine and walk away and when you come back it is all done. I absolutely would recommend this's the best!!
Date published: 2018-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why waste time! Love this machine. Installed it with the pedestal to insure proper drainage. What a joy it is to not be tied down to the washing machine. Load the laundry set the features/functions you want and come back to clean dry laundry when you want not when the machine dictates!
Date published: 2018-03-07
  • y_2018, m_3, d_21, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_218
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05111202, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms


Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

How do I get dryer setting to high it's taking forever to dry one load

Asked by: Calles1994
Hello, the unit washes and then dries the clothing in the same drum. Since the unit is a Ventless Condensing system, it does not heat your clothing like a normal dryer. Because of this, it takes longer and is more efficient, also it can take longer depending on how full the drum is. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-21

Can you use pods? A friend recommended fabric softner sister told me she uses all in one pod (detergent, bleach,& fabric softner)

Asked by: CAT1923
Yes you can, but if using pods, do not exceed 1 pod per load. Place the pod directly in the drum. Pods may contain too much detergent for small loads. So you may still need to use regular detergent in some cases. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-20

Can I use Tide pod type detergent in this machine? Does it go in dispenser or straight in machine?

Asked by: Cmerrit123
The LG 4.3 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Front Load Washer / Dryer Combo, Model # WM3997HWA is specially designed to use only HE (High-Efficiency) detergent so check to make sure that the Tide Pods that you intend to use are HE detergent. The HE logo will be on their packaging. You would have to add the pods directly into the tub before loading your laundry. It is recommended that you follow the manufacturer's instructions printed on ther packaging. Do not place them in the detergent dispenser...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-02-20

Can you use dryer sheets?

Asked by: CAT1923
You can use dryer sheets in the LG Front Load Washer / Dryer Combo, Model # WM3997HWA. It may be worth noting that for the automatic drying function, electronic sensors measure the temperature of the exhaust to increase or decrease the drying temperature for a faster reaction time and tighter temperature control. On these Automatic Dry Settings, the estimated drying time may vary from the actual drying time. The type of fabric, size of the load and the selected dryness level all affect the drying time. There is a lot of debate about how the use of dryer sheets can affect the electronic sensors. Dryer sheets shred tiny bits of their fabric which can sometimes coat the sensors, causing the dryer to run longer and work harder, which in the long run, can shorten the life of the dryer. This can be avoided with regular maintenance. You can clean the dryer tub to keep it clean...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-02-18

What is the required drain size for this machine. I generally use a 2 inch drain. Is it possible to use an 1 1/2” drain 

Asked by: Jpacheco
Hi Jpacheco. In the U.S. under the IPC(International Plumbing Code), the trap and standpipe must be 2". You cannot transition to a 1 1/2" pipe as that would cause a restriction point, especially for water discharging under pressure, which is a code violation. Local codes may vary and further restrict national model codes, so you will need to check your building codes. Your drain for the LG 4.3 cu. ft. All-in-One Washer and Electric Ventless Dryer in White, Model # WM3997HWA must be installed in accordance with any applicable local codes and regulations...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-02-14

We just received out new LG Washer/Dryer Combo WM3997H*A today.  We have run 2 regular size loads and they both took 5+ hours on the display and actually took that long for the cycle to run.  This sounds way to long.  What is the fix?

Asked by: Rob B2018
Hello, that sounds like it is working normal. The unit washes and then dries the clothing in the same drum. Since the unit is a Ventless Condensing system, it does not heat your clothing like a normal dryer. Because of this, it takes longer and is more efficient, also it can take longer depending on how full the drum is. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-13

I have one of these and we are considering building a custom cabinet around the machine. Can this machine be enclosed in a cabinet or would it cause the machine to overheat and/or breakdown?

Asked by: Melissa07704
Please see the installation requirements, start about page 12, in the manual located in the link provided. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-29

What is the energy and water consumption per load (ex: 3 Heavy load, with heavy spin and 3hrs of drying a week). I have this model for 2 months plus, still can't calculate from my electric bills, I need help or this will be a biggest regret for my family.

Asked by: coreyle72
Hello, this information is based on the load size, selections made, detergent used and material of the clothing placed in the machine. Using the same selections on jeans will not result in the same outcome as towels and therefore this calculation is not possible. Typically a Sanitary cycle uses around 22 gallons on an 8lb load. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-29
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_210
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05111202, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms