To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

5.2 cu. ft. Mega Capacity TurboWash® Washer with Steam Technology

  • WM8100HVA

  • Graphite Steel

Key Features

  • 5.2 cu. ft. Mega capacity
  • TurboWash® Technology
  • LG Steam Technology
  • 6Motion™ Technology
  • Direct Drive Motor 10-Year Limited Warranty
  • LG SideKick™ Compatible
AVAILABLE COLORS:

Get it All Done In Less Time

Mega capacity (5.2 cu.ft.) means you have the room to do more laundry in fewer loads.

Fast Forward Your Wash

Give big loads the same great clean while cutting your wash time by up to 30 minutes* with LG’s enhanced TurboWash® technology.

*1. Compared to an LG front load washer without TurboWash®. Based on AHAM-HLW-1-2010 test protocol. Cotton / Normal or comparable cycle at default settings, 8 lb. loads. Excludes quick wash or comparable cycles intended for small, lightly soiled loads only.

Deep Clean With Steam

Our steam technology gently but powerfully penetrates fabrics to virtually eliminate dirt, odors and wrinkles.

For Small Loads
that Can’t Wait

Whether it’s your kids’ favorite shirt, yoga pants or a school uniform, washing a full load seems wasteful for just a few pieces. Now you can wash small loads that just can’t wait with the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer or wash two loads at once to save time.

Learn more about LG SideKick™

open

6 Customer Care Cycles

LG SideKick™ offers six distinct wash cycles, including a special setting for active wear.

Simultaneous or Independent Operation

LG SideKick™ saves time by washing two loads at once or get it all done by washing a small load separately.    

Raises Your Washer

LG SideKick™ allows you to easily access laundry for more comfortable loading and unloading in the main washer. Compatible with all new LG Front Load Washers.

A Smarter Way to Wash

6Motion™ Technology uses up to 6 different wash motions to provide a smart cleaning experience that is gentle on clothes and maximizes washing performance.

Easily Maintain &
Keep Fresh

TubClean Cycle is designed for easy, periodic maintenance to keep your washer fresh. The cycle uses water jets and intense heat (up to 149 degrees) to sterilize the tub and help keep your high-performing washer in tip-top condition.

Warranty / Certifications

                          

                        

Follow the tips below to make sure your LG product will fit in the space intended.

complete your system

See compatible products below:

SUMMARY
Design Style Front Loader
CAPACITY
Capacity 5.2 cu. ft.
APPEARANCE
On-Door Electronic Control Panel with LED Display Yes
Touch Buttons Yes
Dial-A-Cycle™ Yes
ENERGY
ENERGY STAR® Most Efficient 2018 Yes
CEE Tier 3
WASH PROGRAMS
No. of Programs 14
Wash Programs Normal, Perm. Press, Delicates, Speed Wash, TubClean™, Sanitary, Allergiene™, Heavy Duty, BrightWhites™, Towels, Rinse+Spin, Download, Jumbo Wash, Bedding
No. of Options 13
Options Prewash, Delay Wash, Extra Rinse, Child Lock, ColdWash™, FreshCare™, Steam, TurboWash™, Custom Program, Drum Light, Smart Grid, Remote Start, Wi-Fi Connect
No. of Wash/Rinse Temps 5 Extra Hot, Hot, Warm, Cold, Tap Cold (All Cold Rinses)
Spin Speeds Extra High (1,300 max.), High, Medium, Low, No Spin
No. of Water Levels Automatically adjusts to the size of load
No. of Soil Levels 5
FABRIC CARE FEATURES
TurboWash® Technology Yes
Steam Technology Yes
Allergiene™ Cycle Yes
ColdWash™ Option Yes
SenseClean™ System Yes
CONVENIENCE FEATURES
TrueBalance™ Anti-Vibration System Yes
4 Tray Dispenser Prewash, Main Wash (with liquid detergent cup), Bleach, Fabric Softener
LoDecibel™ Quiet Operation Yes
End of Cycle Signal Yes
LoadSense Yes
Child Lock Yes
Auto Suds Removal Yes
Forced Drain System Yes
Leveling Legs 4 Adjustable Legs
Internal Water Heater Yes
SMART THINQ® TECHNOLOGY
SmartDiagnosis™ (v1.0) Yes
MOTOR AND AGITATOR
Motor Type Inverter Direct Drive Motor
Motor Speed Variable
Max RPM 1,300
Axis Horizontal
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
NeveRust™ Stainless Steel Drum Yes
Cabinet PCM
Control Panel Plastic
Top Plate Painted
Door Rim Glass/Chrome
Door Cover Dark Blue Tinted Square Cover
Door Opening 42 1/8"
Available Colors White (W), Graphite Steel (V)
POWER SOURCE
Ratings UL Listed
Electrical Requirements 120V, 10 Amps
Type Electric
OPTIONS
Pedestal WDP5W, WDP5V
Pedestal (WxHxD) 29" x 13 9/10" x 29 2/5"
LG Sidekick™ Pedestal Washer WD200CW, WD200CV
LG Sidekick™ Pedestal Washer (WxHxD) 29" x 14 1/10" x 30 4/5"
Stacking Kit KSTK2
ACCESSORIES
Hose Included Yes
DIMENSIONS
Product ( WxHxD) 29" x 41 1/4" x 33 3/4" (55 15/16" W with door open)
Carton ( WxHxD) 31 5/16" x 44 19/64" x 35 5/8"
Weight (Product/Carton) 239 lbs / 263.3 lbs
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor, 10 Years Motor, Lifetime on Drum
UPC 048231017466

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY CLOTHES THANK ME!!! I have wanted this washer when I purchased the dryer a while ago.Finally my old washer went out!Started looking for the best price.Bought it and have been satisfied from day one.Large capacity,no vibration,cleans clothes,easy to start load,and best of all you can barely hear it.
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better then a new car...almost! Purchased the set with pedestals with sidekick almost one month ago. I had wanted this set for over a year and finally was able to purchase. LG makes an incredible product. The set is good looking and remarkably quiet to the point I keep checking to see if it’s running. It’s Star rating for energy is one of the highest for efficiency I have seen. It does a multitude of tasks from bright whites, to small loads. It can handle a large amount of volume (I purchased the mega wash/dry) so your dry cleaning bills may become close to non-existent as mine has. I use the Sidekick for delicate/hand wash items and am still amazed I can use it simultaneously while the main washer is running. The dryer is efficient and quiet and has a catchy upbeat tune to let you know how the drying is progressing or finished. I look forward to using them and do on a daily basis so there is no pile up. The task is done in no time. So glad I made this purchase!
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaced my Maytag front loader and impressed Owned these for about a month now and my favorite feature is the tub clean. Dogs blankets accidentally got washed and the machine was a mess. Ran the cleaning cycle and was able to wash my clothes without dog hair. The size of the tubs are equally impressive.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large capacity is great. Laundry done in half the time
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome and quiet washing machine I recently had to buy a new washer and after reviewing the many different machines and what all the offered I went with an lg. This machine is extremely efficient, my clothes smell great, it doesn't require much laundry detergent and very quiet. I couldn't have asked for a better washer.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the bigger size Everything I was hoping for , glad I waited and did the research . Make sure you measure where you plan to put it . I had to slide it farther away from the door in order to get the door to shut . It's that much bigger .
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine: I highly recommend it! I bought this machine 5 months ago. I am so pleased with this washing machine. I had a top loader before and I can never go back to that. This mega front load washer is so guiet and easy to use. I love this machine. The loads are done quickly even if you don't use the turbo speed because of the load sensing technology. I use less detergent, the clothes is cleaner and fresher, and it used less water. The internal heater helps the white clothes be brighter. I didn't buy the pedestal my husband built a metal pedestal post to position the washer and dryer to my height so that I don't have to bend to do take the laundry in and out. It used to take my two full days and a trip to the local laundry mat to wash but now I'm done in six hours and I stay home. So happy I get my weekend back.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have never owned a LG product before but after seeing the commericals we decided to checkout the product since my washer had died. There are alot of features of this washer but the turbo clean is the best.It gets out the really tough stains. My husband works in construction and his work clothes get really dirty and the turbo clean get his clothes really clean. This is a great feature hope it gets included on all the washers that you make.
Date published: 2017-09-23
  • y_2018, m_1, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05757267, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View WM8100HVA Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Best way to level my washer

Asked by: Rudiggs
Instructions on how to level your washing machine can be found on page 16 of the Owner's Manual which can be downloaded here: http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-WM8100HVA#manuals If you are in need of any assistance, have additional questions, or would just like to see our helpful tips, check us out on Twitter @LGUSSupport ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-18

Can I use vinegar in the fabric softener slot?  

Asked by: shanner
You sure can! ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-14

 This washer was delivered yesterday. The  amount of liquid detergent used in the little blue cup is smaller than both the normal and max line on the main wash liquid detergent tray. Which one should I be using? 

Asked by: shanner
Use the correct amount of detergent as indicated on the label of the detergent packaging. If you are in need of any assistance, have questions, or would just like to see our helpful tips, check us out on Twitter @LGUSSupport ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-13

Which way does the door open on washer and dryer set. Which side does the washing machine sit on ?

Asked by: JackGough
Hello JackGough. The door on the ENERGY STAR® Certified LG 5.2 cu. ft. Mega Capacity TurboWash® Washer with Steam Technology, Model # WM8100HWA is a left swing door (i.e. swings from right to left) so it will sit on the left side. The doors on its matching dryers, the LG 9.0 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Electric Dryer w/ Steam™ Technology, Model # DLEX8100W or the Gas Dryer, Model # DLGX8101W are also shipped as left swing doors but they are reversible and the doors swing can be changed to a right swing...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-06

Are you able to use Pods for the detergent?

Asked by: Britt26
Yes, pods may be used with this machine. The pod should be placed directly in the tub of the unit. Due to this machine being a high efficiency unit, the pods work best on hot or warm water cycles. The warmer water ensures the outside of the pod is completely dissolved. If the coating of the pod does not dissolve fully, this may result in detergent residue on your clothing and/or possible issues with the draining system of the machine.
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-12-01

Can please specify the clearances on a stacked washer & dryer and especially to the top of a cabinet? The manual shows a clearance to top of a countertop with 0" clearance and height of 40.8" while the specs for the washer shown are height of 41 1/4" .

Asked by: enight
Hi enight. Our apologies for the incorrect specifications for the height of the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 5.2 cu. ft. Mega Capacity TurboWash® Washer with Steam Technology, Model # WM8100HVA. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. The correct height for this washer should be 40 3/4" (i.e. 40.75" - rounded off to 40.8" in the manual). The height for its matching electric or gas dryer, is 40 4/5" (i.e. 40.8"), so the measurements given in the owner's manual are correct. When stacked, their combined height will be 81 11/20" (i.e. 81.55" - rounded off to 81.60" in the manual). The diagram for installing just the washer under a Countertop has the right height for thee washing machine and is showing you that if just the washer is installed under your Countertop, you only need an inch clearance on either side of the washing machine and no clearance is required for the top. Recommended Installation Spacing for recessed or closet installation with a stacked washer and dryer and for cabinet installation for just the dryer are given in page 15 of the owner's manual for the compatible electric or gas dryer...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-08

My current LG has a hand wash cycle which i use often. Does this model offer a washcycle for handwash?

Asked by: LauraBelle
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 5.2 cu. ft. Mega Capacity TurboWash® Washer with Steam Technology, Model # WM8100HWA does have a Handwash/Wool cycle for washing shrinkable woolen or hand-washable items that require gentle care...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-28

My washer door will not open it is locked shut

Asked by: Moe78
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this washing machine. If the door is stuck locked, it is recommended to try pressing it in, that it might release the lock, should it have been opened before the lock released. If this does not resolve the matter, then the unit may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-05-05
  • y_2018, m_1, d_23, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05757267, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT