To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer

  • WM9500HKA

  • Black Stainless Steel

Key Features

  • Black Stainless Steel Finish
  • TurboWash® Technology
  • SmartThinQ®
  • Inverter Direct Drive Motor
  • Integrated Control Panel

LG Front Loaders were Evaluated
by ConsumerReports

*Consumer Reports does not endorse products or services.

The Art of Essence

The Art of Essence

LG SIGNATURE stays true to the essence,
delivering a new sense of life for the most discerning individual.

Mega Capacity

Now you can wash a king size comforter and full set of bedding in a single load! This LG front load and LG SideKick™ offer a combined* 6.8 cu. ft. so you’ll have more room to clean.

*LG SideKick™ sold separately.

TurboWash® Technology

Give big loads the same great clean while cutting your wash time by up to 30 minutes with LG’s enhanced TurboWash® technology.

                         

Monitor your laundry remotely and conveniently from your smartphone. With SmartThinQ® you can receive notifications, download specialized wash cycles, check the status of your wash and power off your machine.

Inverter Direct Drive Motor

When you buy a washer, you want something reliable that you can count on. Because the Direct Drive Motor uses fewer moving parts and operates more efficiently, LG confidently backs the motor with a 10-year limited warranty.

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

This LG washer has been awarded the ENERGY STAR® most efficient mark in 2017. Products that are recognized as the most efficient of ENERGY STAR® in 2017 help reduce greenhouse gas emissions by meeting rigorous energy efficiency performance levels set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

A True Power Wash

The 5.8 cu. ft. LG SIGNATURE Washer was tested with input voltage up to 250 volts – twice the voltage of this product. The UL verification ensures it’s protected from overvoltage input.

SUMMARY
Series LG SIGNATURE
Design Style Front Loader
Capacity 5.8 cu. ft.
APPEARANCE
On-Door Electronic Control Panel with LED Display Yes
Touch Buttons Yes
ENERGY
ENERGY STAR® Most Efficient 2016 Yes
CEE Tier Rating 3
WASH PROGRAMS
No. of Programs 14
Wash Programs Normal, Perm. Press, Delicates, Speed Wash, TubClean™, Sanitary, Allergiene™, Heavy Duty, BrightWhites™, Towels, Rinse+Spin, Download, Jumbo Wash, Bedding
No. of Options 13
Options Prewash, Delay Wash, Extra Rinse, Child Lock, ColdWash™, FreshCare™, Steam, TurboWash™, Custom Program, Drum Light, Smart Grid, Remote Start, Wi-Fi Connect
No. of Wash/Rinse Temps 5 (Extra Hot, Hot, Warm, Cold, Tap Cold (All Cold Rinses)
Spin Speeds Extra High (1,300 max.), High, Medium, Low, No Spin
No. of Water Levels Automatically adjusts to the size of load
No. of Soil Levels 5
FABRIC CARE FEATURES
TurboWash® 2.0 Technology Yes
Steam Technology Yes
Allergiene™ Cycle Yes
Sanitary Cycle Yes
ColdWash™ Option Yes
SenseClean™ System Yes
CONVENIENCE FEATURES
TrueBalance™ Anti-Vibration System Yes
4 Tray Dispenser Prewash, Main Wash (with liquid detergent cup), Bleach, Fabric Softener
LoDecibel™ Quiet Operation Yes
End of Cycle Signal Yes
LoadSense Yes
Child Lock Yes
Auto Suds Removal Yes
Leveling Legs 4 Adjustable Legs
SMARTTHINQ® TECHNOLOGY
Wi-Fi Yes
SmartDiagnosis™ (v3.0) Yes
Smart Grid Ready Yes
Smart Access Yes
Smart Adapt Yes
Energy Monitoring Yes
Laundry Starts Yes
MOTOR AND AGITATOR
Motor Type Inverter Direct Drive Motor
Motor Speed / Max RPM Variable / 1,300
Axis Horizontal
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
NeveRust™ Stainless Steel Drum Yes
Cabinet PCM
Control Panel Plastic
Top Plate Painted
Door Rim Glass/Chrome
Door Cover Dark Black Tinted Square Cover
Door Opening 42 1/8"
Available Colors Black Stainless Steel (K)
POWER SOURCE
Ratings UL Listed
Electrical Requirements 120V, 10 Amps
Type Electric
ACCESSORIES
Hose Included Yes
ACCESSORIES (Sold Separately)
LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer WD205CK
LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer (WxHxD) 29" x 14 1/8" x 30 7/8"
Pedestal WDP5K
Pedestal (WxHxD) 29" x 14 1/8" x 29 2/5"
DIMENSIONS/CLEARANCES/WEIGHTS
Product (WxHxD) 29 5/8" x 41 3/16" x 33 1/16" (55 15/16" D with door open)
Carton (WxHxD) 31 5/16" x 44 15/16" x 35 5/8"
Weight (Product/Carton) 239 lbs / 263.3 lbs
WARRANTY
UPC 048231017039

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great washer I liked it too much It is not noisy and wash perfectly
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Larger loads means Fewer loads This washer saves time and money because the large capacity allows more clothes per load. I finish doing my laundry sooner and have more time to do anything else. Large loads in a small washer means wrinkled clothes.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LG Signature are the best. I can do my laundry in half the time
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wash and dry and half the time I had the ability to try this amazing product before buying it I fell in love after my first load I will never look back or look at any other washer the same Iit sinces what needs to be done with each load It just know how to treat your clothes without having to hit so many buttons I am now hooked and will forever stay with the LG signature line
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable Coming up on one year of heavy use. No issues. Very reliable
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, gets clothes clean Often, products with many options can be annoying to use. Not so with this washer. I like the many options for everything from Rinse & Spin to Jumbo loads. I find the Allergiene, Sanitary, Sportswear cycles very useful and am thrilled that I can just make that selection and gol. Clothes always come out cleaner than any other washer I have owned. Love it!
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Capacity Deluxe! I purchased this machine in order to do winter horse blankets. Laurdrymats did not want me washing them due to allergies of others using the machines. Problem solved! It does a great job on the horse blankets and regular laundry too!
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great washer, bad app This thing is enormous.. which is great if you have the space. Some of the programs take over 2 hours which is a bit much- my only complaint is that the app connectivity is terrible. I can't get it to work with an iPhone or iPad. A bummer because I was looking forward to being able to create a custom program.
Date published: 2017-09-20
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05773148, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 418ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View WM9500HKA Product Support

Contact us for any purchasing inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Can the door be reversed to swing either left or right?

Asked by: Hula
The door on the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA is not reversible...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-23

Can you use Tide Pods in the 9500HKA washer?

Asked by: ValL
Yes, pods may be used with this machine. The pod should be placed directly in the tub of the unit. Due to this machine being a high efficiency unit, the pods work best on hot or warm water cycles. The warmer water ensures the outside of the pod is completely dissolved. If the coating of the pod does not dissolve fully, this may result in detergent residue on your clothing and/or possible issues with the draining system of the machine.
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-10-10

I want to buy the LG LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA with the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer, Model # WD205CK and stack an LG Dryer on top. Is that possible? And if so what's the total height?

Asked by: curious washer
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA is not a stackable washer. If you look at the design of this washer, it has a lid on the top front under which s the detergent dispenser. Had this been a stackable model, you would not have been able to stack a dryer on top of it while it has the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer, Model # WD205CK installed under it or the LG Laundry Pedestal, Model # WDP5K. Not only would it the height be too tall and unstable, but that would also be too much weight. The washer weighs 239 lbs. and the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer weighs 105 lbs...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-11

Does LG have plans to come out with a white in the 5.8 capacity washer? Thank you,  Ann

Asked by: Ann2017
Regrettably, we currently do not have any information on if LG will make the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA available in any other finish other than Black Stainless Steel...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-12

What is total height with pedestal included?

Asked by: Fats10
The total height for the LG LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA when mounted on the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer, Model # WD205CK, will be their combined heights, (14 1/8 + 41 3/16") which will be 55 5/16"...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-12

How do I make the tub light stay on far longer on my new LG Signature 9500 front load washer. Same issue with matching dryer. Lights go out before I finish processing the items for removal or when I'm loading and the size of the tubs really require light!

Asked by: eeincc
We appreciate your interest in this washing machine. The Drum Light is designed to activate automatically when the door is opened. The manual activation of the Drum Light, using the EXTRA RINSE button, is for use during the wash cycle. The Light is designed to turn off automatically after 4 minutes. There are no options available to change these times.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-12

The washer's locked door light keeps blinking! Can't open door!

Asked by: Cath C
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this washing machine. If the temperature of the interior of the drum is greater than 113 degrees, then the lock is designed to remain engaged. It is suggested to press the door back into place to see if this releases the latch. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional suggestions.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-04-13

do any LG front load washers have a Fresh Hold feature or a large detergent reservoir for automatic dispensing? Thanks

Asked by: kerdesigns
The "Fresh Hold" feature is a feature used by another brand of washing machine and is not a feature used by LG Washing machines. The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA has a four-compartment dispenser makes it easy to separate the pre-wash detergent, main laundry detergent, liquid bleach, and fabric softener into different compartments. If using a liquid detergent, you would need to make sure that the liquid detergent cup is in place, and if using a powdered detergent, you would need to remove the liquid detergent cup and put the powder in the main wash detergent compartment...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-03-15
  • y_2017, m_11, d_21, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05773148, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT