To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer

  • WM9500HKA

  • Black Stainless Steel

Key Features

  • Black Stainless Steel Finish
  • TurboWash® Technology
  • SmartThinQ®
  • Inverter Direct Drive Motor
  • Integrated Control Panel

LG Front Loaders were Evaluated
by ConsumerReports

*Consumer Reports does not endorse products or services.

The Art of Essence

The Art of Essence

LG SIGNATURE stays true to the essence,
delivering a new sense of life for the most discerning individual.

Mega Capacity

Now you can wash a king size comforter and full set of bedding in a single load! This LG front load and LG SideKick™ offer a combined* 6.8 cu. ft. so you’ll have more room to clean.

*LG SideKick™ sold separately.

TurboWash® Technology

Give big loads the same great clean while cutting your wash time by up to 30 minutes with LG’s enhanced TurboWash® technology.

                         

Monitor your laundry remotely and conveniently from your smartphone. With SmartThinQ® you can receive notifications, download specialized wash cycles, check the status of your wash and power off your machine.

Inverter Direct Drive Motor

When you buy a washer, you want something reliable that you can count on. Because the Direct Drive Motor uses fewer moving parts and operates more efficiently, LG confidently backs the motor with a 10-year limited warranty.

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

This LG washer has been awarded the ENERGY STAR® most efficient mark in 2017. Products that are recognized as the most efficient of ENERGY STAR® in 2017 help reduce greenhouse gas emissions by meeting rigorous energy efficiency performance levels set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

A True Power Wash

The 5.8 cu. ft. LG SIGNATURE Washer was tested with input voltage up to 250 volts – twice the voltage of this product. The UL verification ensures it’s protected from overvoltage input.

SUMMARY
Series LG SIGNATURE
Design Style Front Loader
Capacity 5.8 cu. ft.
APPEARANCE
On-Door Electronic Control Panel with LED Display Yes
Touch Buttons Yes
ENERGY
ENERGY STAR® Most Efficient 2016 Yes
CEE Tier Rating 3
WASH PROGRAMS
No. of Programs 14
Wash Programs Normal, Perm. Press, Delicates, Speed Wash, TubClean™, Sanitary, Allergiene™, Heavy Duty, BrightWhites™, Towels, Rinse+Spin, Download, Jumbo Wash, Bedding
No. of Options 13
Options Prewash, Delay Wash, Extra Rinse, Child Lock, ColdWash™, FreshCare™, Steam, TurboWash™, Custom Program, Drum Light, Smart Grid, Remote Start, Wi-Fi Connect
No. of Wash/Rinse Temps 5 (Extra Hot, Hot, Warm, Cold, Tap Cold (All Cold Rinses)
Spin Speeds Extra High (1,300 max.), High, Medium, Low, No Spin
No. of Water Levels Automatically adjusts to the size of load
No. of Soil Levels 5
FABRIC CARE FEATURES
TurboWash® 2.0 Technology Yes
Steam Technology Yes
Allergiene™ Cycle Yes
Sanitary Cycle Yes
ColdWash™ Option Yes
SenseClean™ System Yes
CONVENIENCE FEATURES
TrueBalance™ Anti-Vibration System Yes
4 Tray Dispenser Prewash, Main Wash (with liquid detergent cup), Bleach, Fabric Softener
LoDecibel™ Quiet Operation Yes
End of Cycle Signal Yes
LoadSense Yes
Child Lock Yes
Auto Suds Removal Yes
Leveling Legs 4 Adjustable Legs
SMARTTHINQ® TECHNOLOGY
Wi-Fi Yes
SmartDiagnosis™ (v3.0) Yes
Smart Grid Ready Yes
Smart Access Yes
Smart Adapt Yes
Energy Monitoring Yes
Laundry Starts Yes
MOTOR AND AGITATOR
Motor Type Inverter Direct Drive Motor
Motor Speed / Max RPM Variable / 1,300
Axis Horizontal
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
NeveRust™ Stainless Steel Drum Yes
Cabinet PCM
Control Panel Plastic
Top Plate Painted
Door Rim Glass/Chrome
Door Cover Dark Black Tinted Square Cover
Door Opening 42 1/8"
Available Colors Black Stainless Steel (K)
POWER SOURCE
Ratings UL Listed
Electrical Requirements 120V, 10 Amps
Type Electric
ACCESSORIES
Hose Included Yes
ACCESSORIES (Sold Separately)
LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer WD205CK
LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer (WxHxD) 29" x 14 1/8" x 30 7/8"
Pedestal WDP5K
Pedestal (WxHxD) 29" x 14 1/8" x 29 2/5"
DIMENSIONS/CLEARANCES/WEIGHTS
Product (WxHxD) 29 5/8" x 41 3/16" x 33 1/16" (55 15/16" D with door open)
Carton (WxHxD) 31 5/16" x 44 15/16" x 35 5/8"
Weight (Product/Carton) 239 lbs / 263.3 lbs
WARRANTY
UPC 048231017039

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a gorgious machine I bought the LG Signature Washer and Dryer last month and I am extremely satisfied
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great capaciyt Bought a couple months ago, have washed every comforter in the house. Does a wonderful job. No complaints. I purchased with the matching dryer, needed something that could handle large loads and comforters. This does the job, no bunching or wrinkled comforters and does a good job on the clothes too.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good mix of features and capacity I have been using this washer for about 3 weeks and have washed just about everything it it, from sheets to comforters, towels to rugs, yoga wear to yard wear and it does a satisfactory job. The only un-level load error I recieved was with a heavy washable rug, but the washer would not finish the load.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I have ever had! Love this Washer! So many features that benefit my washing. Large capacity with great results on clothes. Instead of 8 loads to wash, I can now wash 5 loads instead with excellent results. I love the extra rinse cycle. I love the extra spin without the rinse. I love the speed wash for small load of clothes. My husband bought this for me, I would NEVER buy so fancy but it's worth every penny. Best husband who appreciates my hard work in washing clothes.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BAD! BAD! BAD! These washers are the worst! If you buy make sure you buy extended warranty. You will need it. Been trying to get my washer fixed after having it for 6 months. 5 repairs later on the same thing it is out of warranty and have to pay 3\4 the price of washer to get it fixed. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A WASHING REVOLUTION For starters, I own the LG Model WM9000H*A. It features cold wash and turbo wash choices, and I've used both. In fact, I am a certified "dyed-in-the-wool" nerd. Every wash option has been viewed by me.. start to finish. Both wash and rinse technologies are quite impressive. I don't use fabric softener on my underwear, yet my T-Shirts come out of the dryer noticeably softer than they did with the washing machine this LG Washer replaced. Kudos to LG for a premium front loader.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Washer Let me start off with Delivery and installation . Great technicians and Delivery. Trying to connect this to wifi really sucks took about an hour and a half to get the washer to connect to the LG app. There was lots of tiers and hair pulling out. Finally after a hour and a half it connected. Then it was time for the dryer. It's been about 18 hours of trying still it won't connect. I know I'll have to call tech support tomorrow. I really debated just returning them because of how frustrating it is. Lots of tears I mean a lot of them. There are no videos and search engine turns up with no help except everyone with the same problem as me. I decided after countless hours that I would just use the 5.8 washer."I'm so happy I did!" I washed two king fitted sheets two flat sheets and four king pillow cases. " Amazing " So easy and user friendly. They washed beautifully. Then time to dry them. Drying the double set of king sheets was amazing. "we all know fitted sheets ball and everything inside them is still wet." Not in this case everything was dry I mean everything.. I could not believe it this is amazing.. If you are looking for an amazing washer and dryer this is it . Look no further. If you are buying this to connect wifi run away.. you will be bald from tearing your hair out and you will cry just out of frustration.. LG should have waited to launch wifi until there app was complete. They really don't make it user friendly and I am a technical person. I understand computers And very Tech savvy. Needless to say at least the washer is connected to the app.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quiet, efficient, effective. Check door opening I purchased this unit and had it delivered. First things first. It's big. In and out, check your depths, widths. It is a serious machine that will process the laundry. Also it works. The clothes seem to get very clean, even with our hard Texas water. The spin cycle seems to get a couple extra drips of water out that most machines would not. I like not having to run the dryer anymore than I have to and it works great with athletic gear that is challenging to dry. Downsides--The door mounts one way. We put the washer to the right of the dryer and cannot change the door mount from the left (drier side) to the right to avoid having to swing wet laundry out and around. Also the cycles don't seem to be customizable. I want an efficient cycle for work out gear where i use cold temp wash, high speed spin. I use this several times a week, but I can't get it to be the default or a "special" programmed cycle. Maybe I am not looking hard enough. Anyway, good out weighs the small issues and I would buy another one, but I would plan the water/drain hookups so that I didn't have the door issue!
Date published: 2017-05-02
  • y_2017, m_9, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05773148, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View WM9500HKA Product Support

Contact us for any purchasing inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

I want to buy the LG LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA with the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer, Model # WD205CK and stack an LG Dryer on top. Is that possible? And if so what's the total height?

Asked by: curious washer
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA is not a stackable washer. If you look at the design of this washer, it has a lid on the top front under which s the detergent dispenser. Had this been a stackable model, you would not have been able to stack a dryer on top of it while it has the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer, Model # WD205CK installed under it or the LG Laundry Pedestal, Model # WDP5K. Not only would it the height be too tall and unstable, but that would also be too much weight. The washer weighs 239 lbs. and the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer weighs 105 lbs...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-08

Does LG have plans to come out with a white in the 5.8 capacity washer? Thank you,  Ann

Asked by: Ann2017
Regrettably, we currently do not have any information on if LG will make the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA available in any other finish other than Black Stainless Steel...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-12

What is total height with pedestal included?

Asked by: Fats10
The total height for the LG LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA when mounted on the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer, Model # WD205CK, will be their combined heights, (14 1/8 + 41 3/16") which will be 55 5/16"...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-08-14

How do I make the tub light stay on far longer on my new LG Signature 9500 front load washer. Same issue with matching dryer. Lights go out before I finish processing the items for removal or when I'm loading and the size of the tubs really require light!

Asked by: eeincc
We appreciate your interest in this washing machine. The Drum Light is designed to activate automatically when the door is opened. The manual activation of the Drum Light, using the EXTRA RINSE button, is for use during the wash cycle. The Light is designed to turn off automatically after 4 minutes. There are no options available to change these times.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-28

The washer's locked door light keeps blinking! Can't open door!

Asked by: Cath C
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this washing machine. If the temperature of the interior of the drum is greater than 113 degrees, then the lock is designed to remain engaged. It is suggested to press the door back into place to see if this releases the latch. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional suggestions.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-04-13

do any LG front load washers have a Fresh Hold feature or a large detergent reservoir for automatic dispensing? Thanks

Asked by: kerdesigns
The "Fresh Hold" feature is a feature used by another brand of washing machine and is not a feature used by LG Washing machines. The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG SIGNATURE 5.8 cu. ft. Mega Capacity Washer, Model # WM9500HKA has a four-compartment dispenser makes it easy to separate the pre-wash detergent, main laundry detergent, liquid bleach, and fabric softener into different compartments. If using a liquid detergent, you would need to make sure that the liquid detergent cup is in place, and if using a powdered detergent, you would need to remove the liquid detergent cup and put the powder in the main wash detergent compartment...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-03-15

My lg front load washer won't drain or spin have cleaned the trap and drain hoses 

Asked by: Sherilynn
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this washing machine. It is recommended to check if any error messages or codes have appeared in the display of the washer. This would help to determine the cause of this situation. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-03-13

How do I know if my washer has smart diagnostics capable 

Asked by: Sherilynn
We appreciate your interest in this washing machine. According to the information listed on page 38, yes, this washer has a Smart Diagnosis option available. This page provides the steps required to properly utilize this feature.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-03-13
  • y_2017, m_9, d_19, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05773148, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT