To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

4.5 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Top Load Washer with Front Control Design

  • WT1501CW

  • White

Key Features

  • 4.5 cu.ft. Ultra Large Capacity
  • Front Control Design
  • 6Motion™ Technology
  • Smart Diagnosis
  • Direct Drive Motor 10-Year Warranty

Get it All Done In Less Time

Ultra-large capacity (4.5 cu.ft.) means you have the room to do more laundry in fewer loads.

Stylish Yet Functional

LG puts a modern spin on the traditional top load laundry pair. By moving the control panel from the back to the front, the buttons and LED display are easier to read and use. Modernize your laundry room with this intuitive and functional design.

A Smarter Way to Wash

6Motion™ Technology uses up to 6 different wash motions to provide a smart cleaning experience that is gentle on clothes and maximizes washing performance.

For Small Loads that Can’t Wait

Whether it’s your kids’ favorite shirt, yoga pants or a school uniform, washing a full load seems wasteful for just a few pieces. Now you can wash small loads that just can’t wait with the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer or wash two loads at once to save time.

Troubleshoot Easy as 1-2-3

If you ever experience an issue with your LG washer,  you don’t
have to worry. The SmartDiagnosis™ feature helps the service
center diagnose problems over the phone, or with a simple
app on your smartphone, helping you minimize costly,
inconvenient service calls.

Warranty / Certifications

                          

                        

Follow the tips below to make sure your LG product will fit in the space intended.

complete your system

See compatible products below:

SUMMARY
Design Style Top Loader
Control Panel Design Front Control
Energy Star Qualified Yes
Capacity (cu.ft.) 4.5 cu. ft.
Dimensions (WxHxD) 27" x 40 5/32" x 28 3/8" (55 3/8" H with door open)
Available Colors White (W)
CAPACITY
Capacity 4.5 cu. ft.
APPEARANCE
Design Look Front Control
Touch Buttons Yes
ENERGY
ENERGY STAR® Qualified Yes
CEE Tier Rating 1
WASH PROGRAMS
No. of Programs 8
Wash Programs Cotton/Normal, Tub Clean, Bulky/Bedding, Heavy Duty, Speed Wash, Delicates, BrightWhites™, Download
No. of Options 14
Options Soak, Extra Rinse, Fabric Softener, Delay Wash (up to 19 hrs), Child Lock, Custom Program, Signal, Rinse+Spin, Spin Only, ColdWash™, StainCare™, Water Plus, Add Garments, PreWash
No. of Wash/Rinse Temps Hot, Warm, Semi Warm, Cold, Tap Cold (All Cold Rinses)
Spin Speeds Extra High (1100 max.), High, Medium, Low, No Spin
No. of Water Levels Automatically adjusts to the size of load
No. of Soil Levels 3
FABRIC CARE FEATURES
SmartRinse™ Jet Spray System Yes
ColdWash™ Option Yes
SenseClean™ System Yes
CONVENIENCE FEATURES
NFC Tag On Technology Yes
SmartRinse™ Jet Spray System Yes
3-Tray Dispenser Main Wash, Fabric Softener + Liquid Bleach
TrueBalance™ Anti-Vibration System Yes
LoDecibel™ Quiet Operation Yes
SlamProof™ Lid Yes
Add Garment Indicator Yes
SmartDiagnosis™ Yes
LoadSense Yes
Status Indicator(s) Yes
End of Cycle Signal Yes
Child Lock Yes
Auto Suds Removal Yes
Leveling Legs 4 Adjustable Legs
MOTOR AND AGITATOR
Motor Type Direct Drive Motor
Motor Speed Variable
Max RPM 1,100
Axis Vertical
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
NeveRust™ Stainless Steel Drum Yes
NeveRust™ Stainless Steel Washplate Yes
Cabinet PCM
Control Panel Plastic
Top Cover Plastic
Lid Diamond Glass Transparent Glass
Available Colors White (W)
POWER SOURCE
Ratings CSA Listed
Electrical Requirements 120V, 5 Amps
Type Electric
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 27" x 40 5/32" x 28 3/8" (55 3/8" H with door open)
Carton (WxHxD) 29 1/2" x 43 7/10" x 31 1/4"
Weight (Product/Carton) 137.3 lbs/154.9 lbs
LIMITED WARRANTY
1 Year Parts and Labor, 10 Years Motor Lifetime on Drum Yes
UPC CODE
UPC 048231015905

What People Are Saying

Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT recommended I've had this washer for some months now. This was not my first choice but I couldn't wait for a different one to be ordered. It has a large tub (big enough for queen size blankets) and tons of options for washing. Don't be fooled by that, this thing doesn't get your clothing clean. Anything visibly soiled (hello, those of you with children!) will not come clean on the first try. I'd suggest you stock up on SHOUT. Cause you're gonna need it. For the record, we use Tide. So quality detergent is not the issue. This washer has not broken down on me nor have i had multiple issues with unbalanced loads as others have. This washer supposedly is more efficient on water usage. I have not noticed that. Probably because most items have to be rewashed. Short version- save yourself some hassle and buy a different washer.
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This machine does a great job, and is quite while it is working. However, there is not any permanent press cycle indicated nor one listed in the owners manual. I have finally written to LG to see if this was an oversight or there is a special combination of commands to use a permanent press cycle............permanent press shirts and pants come out wrinkled?????
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love it I absolutely love this washer! It is so quiet and has never gotten off balance. I can put so much in there! Now, just need to find the matching dryer!
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't like this washer This does not put eniff water in the tub to get the clouse wet. It stop start start and start, it's spend more time doing nothing done then washing. They say to put it in a heavy wash to get clothes clean but it take over an hour to do one wash, what happen to the old washer. They want to save water, but they waste more power running the over an hour
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not your everyday washer We bought a new Washer & Dryer this month (Dec 2017) and find that the size allows us to put so much more in the tub that, we can wash with only one load per week. To watch it do it job without a center agitator is strange but very effective.With all the different movements, we hope the washer holds up over the years.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this washer!!!!! I bought this marvelous machine a couple of weeks ago and am beyond thrilled with it. It washes clothes, blankets, pillows -- everything superbly! The top-loading HE features are so easy to use. The only thing that is just mildly difficult is the depth of the tub! No kidding -- it's so huge that I *almost* (but not quite) need a footstool to stand on in order to reach the bottom of the tub to get out the last of the clothes. I'm no shorty either! I LOVE the fast spin cycle. It gets clothes so dry that they don't have to stay too long in the dryer. It has lots of cycles, including a special programming cycle, which I haven't used yet (all the other cycles have been sufficient.)
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from doesn't agitate well doesn't seem to agitate clothes well. clothes on top never move. don't know how that could clean dirty clothes. watching the cycle seems so gentle. selected heavy soiled. don't know what i could be doing wrong
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use I got it a few months ago and it so easy to use love it
Date published: 2017-12-06
  • y_2018, m_1, d_16, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_628
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05230724, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View WT1501CW Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Fabric softener still in the dispenser after cycle ends. I am pushing the fabric softener button prior to cycle start. Did not happen before, just started having problem. Thanks!

Asked by: HeatherL
Please be sure you have followed the "Cleaning the Dispenser" section of your manual, or here. If that does not help, please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000. http://www.lg.com/us/support/answers/top-load-washers/caring-for-top-load-washer ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-26

Is spin speed adjustable on Model WT1501CW? How slow a spin speed can I choose?  400 rpm?  

Asked by: ISOWasher
Low – 930 RPM, Medium – 970 RPM and High – 990 RPM. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-13

We have owned the machine for 3 mths. We continue to get soap stains on our black pants and shirts. We believe that we are not over using detergent. We are using the recommended he detergent. What can we do to stop the stains.

Asked by: Jamie430
The following discussion available on our community forum has helpful information regarding our top loading machine. Please visit: https://lgcommunity.us.com/discussion/28/lg-top-loaders-everything-you-need-to-know#latest Check us out on Twitter @LGUSSupport for assistance with any of your LG products
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-12-01

In the owners manual it says to fill the bleach dispenser with bleach for the tub clean cycle. In the quick reference guide it says to add liquid bleach to the dispenser drawer for the tub clean cycle, which is correct or does it matter? 501CW

Asked by: Trac777
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 4.5 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Top Load Washer with Front Control Design, Model # WT1501CW has a bleach dispenser which is a separate compartment at the left front of the tub opening. This compartment is designed to automatically dispense liquid bleach at the proper time in the wash cycle. The dispenser is activated twice to ensure complete dispensing of the bleach so that any water left at the end of the cycle is water and not bleach. When using the Tub Clean cycle, you should fill the bleach dispenser as instructed in the owner's manual. Adding bleach to the dispenser drawer could result in your clothing being ruined the next time you wash your clothes if the bleach is not completely washed out...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-11-14

Is the tub clean cycle suppose to be using warm water instead of hot water? WT1501CW

Asked by: Trac777
The tub clean cycle uses only hot water.
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-11-14

I have an LG Top Loader, Model #1101CW. Lately there are brown, greasy specks (residue) left on the clothes. Cleaned the tub with Affresh. Residue worse. Ran tub clean multiple times. Multiple big chunks of residue in water. Washer now leaking.

Asked by: lgsks
We are sorry to read about the issues that you are experiencing with your ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 4.1 cu. ft. Large Capacity Top Load Washer with Sleek Easy Front Control Panel, Model # WT1101CW. However, from the description of the problems that you are experiencing, you may want to look into the type of water you have in your environment. The type of water you have in your home can have a huge impact on laundry. Hard water is everywhere, and it’s not just something people living in rural areas deal with, municipal water can have hardness as well. It’s an established fact that 85% of the water in the United States is considered hard. That means it contains minerals like calcium, magnesium, manganese, and iron. Those dissolved minerals can cause a laundry list of problems for your clothes, sheets, and towels. Due to the minerals like calcium and magnesium that prevent water from mixing with detergent to form a solution, soap and detergent simply don’t work as well in hard water. Those dissolved minerals hamper the effectiveness of many cleaning products.. As a result, soap scum gets left behind. The same white, chalky substance in your sink and shower gets on your laundry. Sometimes, the stuff that sticks to the fabric is referred to as “detergent curd,” The result is dingy looking clothes that don’t feel completely clean after they come out of your dryer. The residue on your clothes will even attract and hold more dirt as you wear them. The soap scum and mineral residue on your clothes can also negatively affect their appearance. Your favorite outfit could wear out before its time and get ruined because of hard water. You might even find mysterious yellow or reddish brown stains on your clothes after they come out of the wash and that is likely the hard water’s fault too. You get those stains for the same reason you get similar-looking stains inside porcelain sinks and toilets – iron in the water. Household water containing a lot of iron may leave those stains on your clothes. It’s even more likely to happen if you use chlorine bleach to wash your whites. That’s because when iron particles combine with bleach, it creates iron-oxide, also known as rust. Soft water is ideal for cleaning. And installing a water softener is the most permanent solution to laundry problems from hard water in your home. Water softeners remove or deactivate the minerals that lead to those annoying and potentially costly issues. During the water-conditioning process, calcium and magnesium ions are replaced with soft minerals (such as sodium or potassium ions)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-11-09

Turning the tones on and off

Asked by: J1staggs30
Pressing the ColdWash™ button (SIGNAL ON/OFF) on the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 4.5 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Top Load Washer with Front Control Design, Model # WT1501CW for three seconds will activate/deactivate the melody and button sounds. The volume settings are ON/OFF...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-30

There is no permanent press cycle on this model.  What setting would you use to replicate that type of cycle?  I am finding that my work clothes are coming out very wrinkled.

Asked by: kcompanion
We appreciate your interest in this washer. The COTTON/NORMAL cycle would be the closest option to permanent press. It would also be suggested to perform a cold water rinse and remove the clothing as soon as possible from the washer to prevent wrinkling.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-16
  • y_2018, m_1, d_16, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05230724, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT