To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LP0817WSR

Key Features

  • 8,000 BTU Cooling
  • LCD Remote Included
  • Oscillating Air Vent
  • Cools up to 200 sq. ft.
Suggested Price

$299.99

Suggested Price
PERFORMANCE
FEATURES
MATERIALS/FINISHES
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I like that unit but the remote is not working so I'm going to have to return product for a new one.
Date published: 2018-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeping things cool Our power went out for 6 days with Hurricane Florence and we borrowed a window A/C unit. That worked fine, but it wasn't portable. So I purchased this unit for the next time we have an outage since it can be moved from room to room, depending on daytime & nighttime needs. But in the meantime, it has served very well keeping our bedroom a little cooler than the rest of the house to help soothe hot flashes!
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver for coolness As a result of my unit being taken out by hurricane Florence, had to get some type of air conditioning. I decided on this portable air conditioner because I am able to take it from room to room. The best move that I could have made.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved features I bought this to replace an old LG room A/C unit that died. I like that the discharge points upwards unlike the old front facing discharge. The air is circulated by my ceiling fan making thing more comfortable. I like that the filter is at the top of the machine not on the bottom like my old unit.
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK I like LG To use and it's easy to control and it's easy use. LG has become I'll way of life for many families and I enjoy using the products because it makes it easy for everyone to make things function properly and of course the prices are cheap plainly speaking I like LG.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional Engineer Both of our air conditioning split-systems went down at about the same time, for different reasons. So I purchased this "portable" AC unit to at least lower the temperature and take out some of the moisture for about half of our house here in Soutwest Florida ............ covering about 1,500 sq. ft. It was a gargantuan task, but the LG unit performed better than expected!!!
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just Ok I bought this LG portable AC because my home AC went out.. This product works fine as for cooling off my room but I have an issue with the loud gurgling sound of water that it has started to make even after I drained it. ((little water came out ) but still makes that noise... Its really annoying... The hose that's connected to it won't stay attached it constantly comes off.... A little disappointed
Date published: 2018-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great size and easy rolling......but.... I purchased this item 2 months ago and have one big problem. After initially turning the unit on the compressor activates in about 20-30 seconds and wonderful cool air is emitted from the unit. That lasts approximately 15-20 minutes and the compressor will not run again until the unit is completely turned off for 3-4 minutes and then restarted. One day I waited a little over an hour hoping the compressor would "kick in," but it did not do so.
Date published: 2018-09-02
  • y_2018, m_11, d_19, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_366
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817169, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

What do the different numbers mean in dry mode? I had my AC in dry mode and the screen said “ - -“ I hit the up arrow and it changed to 1 then 2 and wouldn’t go any higher. What do these different settings mean?

Asked by: Dry mode
After 3 minutes in Dry mode, the target temperature is automatically set to 4°F (2°C) below the current room temperature. If desired, the temperature differential can be manually set by using the ▲/▼ buttons, within a range of -4°F (-2°C) less to 4°F (2°C) more than the room temperature. Please see page 12 in your manual. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-08-16

Just the other day my unit began doing something new. The compressor continues running after I’ve powered the unit down. what could be causing this? Filters are clean. 

Asked by: DTown207
This certainly doesn't sound right. We would be happy to look into this further for you. Please take a moment, at your convenience, to contact us directly via Twitter @LGUSSupport or Facebook https://www.facebook.com/LGUSA/ or you can give us a call at 800-243-0000. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-07-27

Hello just a quick question I'm wondering if do I have to add water to my air conditioner

Asked by: Aicia
The LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner and Dehumidifier Function with LCD Remote, Model # LP0817WSR does not require water and does not use water at all. It uses R410 Refrigerant to cool the air. The only water involved is the condensate that collects in the internal water collection tank that needs to be emptied when the tank gets full. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-07-20

How can I order a replacement hose or extantion that clips to the back of unit?

Asked by: Galaad M
Hello, the part number needed is COV33315501 and can be found at many online dealers. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-16

Where can I buy a sliding glass door kit for this unit?

Asked by: Sherbear89
Regrettably, LG only makes a window installation kit for the LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR that is designed to allow it to be installed in the appropriately sized vertical-sliding windows and horizontal-sliding windows. LG does not make a sliding door kit for it...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-07-12

Is the front panel supposed to come off? When we received it, it was popped out on one side.

Asked by: Lunn
Hello, the front panel is only removed if the unit is in need of service. If it was popped off on one side from shipping, it can be popped back in place with no worry. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-11

Is there supposed to be a drainage hose on the unit

Asked by: Steven6532
Hello, the LP0817WSR does have the option to use a drain hose to drain the excess water into a bucket or outside if needed. Please feel free to check out the manual in the link provided. ^AC http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-LP0817WSR
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-09

where i can bought this product in Palestine state or Israel?

Asked by: Kakany
Hi Kakany. Regrettably, our offices in the U.S. can only give you product availability and where to buy products in the U.S. only, and will not have information for where you can purchase the LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR from in Israel. Please contact our Support Center in Israel, http://www.lg.com/il. You will find their contact information on their site and links to their Support Representatives on Facebook and YouTube where you can get additional assistance with your inquiry...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-06-21
  • y_2018, m_11, d_19, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817169, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT