To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LP1217GSR

Key Features

  • 12,000 BTU Cooling
  • LCD Remote Included
  • Oscillating Air Vent
  • Cools up to 400 sq. ft.
Suggested Price

$429.99

Suggested Price
PERFORMANCE
FEATURES
MATERIALS/FINISHES
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from very quiet Very happy we bought this. Very quiet and cools room.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome features This is the best small room air conditioning unit I gave ever bought. The temp control and the timer feature is the absolute best
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is one of the best units i've had. I have placed three of these units in rooms that are used the most. It have really cut my electric bill over half. Plus i don't have to cool down the hold house.
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from does not cool room The first one I bought for a 10 X 20 insulated, carpeted metal building...it did not cool the building. I traded it in for one twice the cooling capacity and it still will not cool the building. I don't even turn it on now.
Date published: 2018-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a do do design. Save your money. Do Do design did not cool at all. Returned after a week. And this site will not let me voice my true feelings.
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Portable Air Conditioner Product is very easy to install and works like a dream. Unit is quiet and is easy on the eyes. While the unit is quiet and efficent the remarkable thing is how well it dehumidifies and cools the room without excessive water build-up and need for water removal. Highly recommended product.
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine! The machine looks awesome and works smoothly! I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to stay cool and dry!
Date published: 2018-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great features Bought it a few weeks ago works well for our needs
Date published: 2018-08-17
  • y_2018, m_11, d_20, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_141
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817270, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

What is the capacity of the water tank in this unit? I am worried about being able to empty it as the unit is already very heavy. I could not find info on drainage in the manual. Only bought and set up today but live in humid place so want to check.

Asked by: OttawaDweller
Hello, the information can be found on page 24 under section "EMPTYING THE WATER COLLECTION TANK" The unit can hold up to 2 pints of water but can have a hose connected. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-26

At times the Air coming out is extremely crisp and cool! But randomly the air just blows out not so cold. It's random, I've taken the weather heat into consideration. No correlation. It really is useless when it just blowing not so cool air. Help!

Asked by: 3rdFloor
Hello and sorry to hear. We would need more information to be able to assist. Please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 when you are with the unit. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-06

The remote control won't change the AC units display to celcius. How do I change it on the main unit?

Asked by: JonQPublik
Hello, if pressing and holding the Mode button on the remote for 3 seconds or longer to switch the temperature display from degrees Celsius (°C) to degrees Fahrenheit (°F) is not working, you may need a new remote. Please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-06-27

What does ES mean on the screen and it doesnt want to turn on no more????

Asked by: Andrew1987
Hello, there is a message of E5, which means the water tank is full and needs to be emptied. Please check the tank and if that does not correct the issue, please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-06-26

i have a problem with water spitting out from top vent .what can i do to fix this . i love this ac .

Asked by: pintopony
Hi pintopony. The LG 12,000 BTU (7,000 BTU, DOE), 115-Volt Portable AC w/ Dehumidifier Function, Model # LP1217GSR, like any other air conditioner is basically a dehumidifier and works by literally sucking heat out of the air to fuel the ongoing vaporization in its evaporation coils. As the air around the coils cools, the moisture in the air condenses on the coils to form droplets. From there, the water drips into the internal water collection tank in the unit which you will need to empty when it gets full. When it starts spitting water from the top vent, it signifies that the evaporator coils may have iced up. When the ice melts, the internal fan then blows that water that is dripping off the evaporator coils into your room. What causes the coils to ice up is a dirty air filter. When the air filter is dirty, air circulation is reduced inside the cooling chamber. Check to make sure that the air filter is clean. The air filter should be cleaned every two weeks or more frequently depending on the air quality. It could also be a result of dirty coils and it is recommended that you have a maintenance service done to clean the evaporator and condenser coils at the beginning of the season by an LG Authorized Service Center...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-06-21

The features include a "Water full indicator." Doesn't the unit simply shut off when the reservoir gets full, and then we have to drain it via a built-in drain hose? Or do we have to remove a box full of water? Thank you.

Asked by: Public
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. When the unit gets full, the LED will display E5 and the air conditioner will shut off. Drainage information can be located on page 23 of the owner's manual.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2018-06-27

What is the EER number on this item?

Asked by: mdskid09
The EER for the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP1217GSR, is 9.4...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-29

why this air conditioner dont coold good 

Asked by: cruzito
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. It is recommended to check the air filter for any obstruction in air flow. It is also recommended to consider the temperature of the room, the temperature outdoors, and how the sun falls on the unit. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-05
  • y_2018, m_11, d_20, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817270, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT