To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LW1017ERSM

Key Features

  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • Remote included
  • 3 Cooling & Fan Speeds with Auto Cool
  • 24-Hour On-Off Timer
Suggested Price

$339.99

Suggested Price
Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? ThinQ Again.

Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? Think Again.

LG SmartThinQ® technology lets you control your LG air conditioner from anywhere, so you can start or stop cooling, change the mode or set the temperature from anywhere. It also works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa so you can change your air conditioner settings with simple voice commands when you’re at home.

d_LG_website_Energystar

Qualifications

SUMMARY
PERFORMANCE
FEATURES
MATERIALS/FINISHES
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cools nicely I bought this last month and just had it professionally installed, it cools beautifully, especially in our hot, Florida weather. Instructions were easy for the installer.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features We bought this air conditioner in July. My favorite part other than keeping us cool is the remote. I can adjust the temperature up or down, from bed!
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and quiet My central air went out, so I decided to get a window unit. Never had one beforedidnt know what to expect This LG is so quiet and it cools real good. Just sorry I didn't get the one with air and heat. But wait it's not too late. Glad I bought oil t I can sleep at night!
Date published: 2018-10-15
  • y_2019, m_2, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_93
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817209, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 389ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

how can i use wifi mode? I need to turn on WiFi mode on the air conditioner. I do not know how.

Asked by: hoohi
We would be happy to help you get that connected. Please drop us a line on Twitter at @LGUSSupport or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/LGUSA/ when you are with the unit. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-25

So just HOW doers One get this thing to work with a secured wifi? As far as I can see; there is no method to input password/network details to the system.

Asked by: jimmy418
When you download the SmartThinq App, you will create or login to you LG Account which is password protected. Then you will connect the device in question to the SmartThinq App. Once the device is added to the application, you will be able to add the device to your home network. Please see the link provided on how to. If you need more assistance, drop us a line on Twitter at @LGUSSupport or on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/LGUSSupport/ so we can get more info and see what we can do. ^AC https://www.lg.com/us/support/product-help/CT10000014-20150170400750-how-to-install-and-operate
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-18

Roof eave partially covers the A/C on the outside.  Rain hits the outside of A/C.  Is this a danger or cause any problem?

Asked by: Garret14
No this should not cause any issues with the AC unit.
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-12-01

My window ac isn't really blowing that cool. Is there a refrigerant or something I can use, or have to refill, for it to blow cold again?

Asked by: Juice247
Please see the following article from our help library for assistance with this issue: http://www.lg.com/us/support/product-help/CT10000014-1342109440312-not-cooling
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-12-01

I have an older unit of same model. I don’t use the side panels on my old unit. It states you need 27” in width. My old unit fits. It’s about 24” wide without the side panels. My old unit is the same size as this new unit. It should fit? Shouldn’t it?

Asked by: Paul311
The dimensions for this unit are 23 5/8" x 15" x 22 3/16" (WxHxD). If you would like more information regarding the installation of the product, a copy of the owner's manual may be downloaded here: http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-LW1017ERSM#manuals
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-11-26

How do I remove the front grill ? Behind the removable filter is so dirty.

Asked by: Hardwaregal
The front grill can be removed by removing the screw that fastens the front grill. From there, pull the front grill from the right side and remove the front grill. Please be aware there are 4 hooks holding it in place.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-13

How can I connect the wifi to my air conditioner and how do I set it on my iPhone 

Asked by: Xoxoxo91
To use the Wi-Fi and app, the Smart AC must be registered on the Smart ThinQ website. You would need to search and download "LG SMART AC" from the App Store. Once downloaded, create a user account through the LG SMART AC APP or online at http://us.smartthinq.com. Then you would log in and register the air conditioner. To activate the Wi-Fi on the A/C, you must press and hold the Fan Speed and Mode buttons on the REMOTE CONTROL for 2 seconds. The Wi-Fi indicator on the A/C display will light up when it is active.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-10

My filter is some how damaged is there anyway I can receive new filter or where can I buy one?? Thank you!

Asked by: Fishman85
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Canada. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/ca_en/index.jsp. You may also contact our Canada offices at 1-888-542-2623.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-10
  • y_2019, m_2, d_18, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817209, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 230ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT