To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LW1217ERSM

Key Features

  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • Remote included
  • 3 Cooling & Fan Speeds with Auto Cool
  • 24-Hour On-Off Timer
Suggested Price

$399.99

Suggested Price
Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? ThinQ Again.

Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? Think Again.

LG SmartThinQ® technology lets you control your LG air conditioner from anywhere, so you can start or stop cooling, change the mode or set the temperature from anywhere. It also works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa so you can change your air conditioner settings with simple voice commands when you’re at home.

d_LG_website_Energystar

Qualifications

SUMMARY
PERFORMANCE
FEATURES
MATERIALS/FINISHES
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfect, and WiFi technology is awesome If you bought this online I recommend before turn on AC wait until 24 hours (you know by this how is the transport of packages), about the WiFi technology form AC I tested both on/off with my WiFi and cellphone network.. I don’t had any problem. All set up made for me from app works fine. The only thing I have to see for how long gonna works fine :D
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from False advertising. WiFi turns off with unit. The WiFi turns off then you turn off the unit, meaning you can no longer control it remotely. This means in order to use the remote control features you need to literally leave it on 100% of the time. There’s also no standby mode. Do yourself a favor and don’t buy this.
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great AC I believe this is the quietest AC I’ve owned. Cools the room pretty fast. I especially love the WiFi , I can start up the unit before I reach home. So wonderful to come home to a cool house.
Date published: 2018-10-19
  • y_2019, m_4, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

HOW DO I REMOVE THE GRILL? When the AC was installed, a step was skipped, the VENT CONTROL LEVER was not pulled out. Now I cannot adjust it and I can not determine whether it is open. (I did not do the installing; that was done by a professional.)

Asked by: KenBar
Hello, please see page 15 in the owners manual for steps on the grill. ^AC https://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-LW1217ERSM
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-09-21

Hi, I just bought the 12000 btu window air conditioner but when I put it on F3 it stop working and I have to put on F1 or F2 to start working please advise why not working on F3?

Asked by: Tamer Azraei
Hello Tamer, that doesn't sound right. Please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 when you are with the unit. We would like to do some walk throughs to find out what is going on. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-08-20

Can the LG LW1217ERSM a/c be used as a built-in through the wall unit?

Asked by: GramPam
The LG 12,000 BTU Smart wi-fi Enabled Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW1217ERSM requires a standard single-hung or double-hung window for proper installation. The outside of its cabinet must extend outward for at least 12" and there should be no obstacles, such as a fence or wall, within 20 inches from the back of the cabinet because that will prevent heat radiation from the condenser. All its side louvers must remain exposed to the outside of the structure. Restriction to outside air will greatly reduce the air conditioner's cooling efficienct=y and that could also lead to the unit burning itself out. It cannot be installed using a wall sleeve, a hole in the wall, and non-window installations are not recommended...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-07-05

Can I disable the wi-fi on window A/C units.

Asked by: Bob1949
The ENERGY STAR® LG 12,000 BTU Smart wi-fi Enabled Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW1217ERSM uses Wi-Fi that allows the user to control the unit with the corresponding LG Mobile app. To use the Wi-Fi and app, the AC must be registered on the SmartThinQ® website. The minimal specifications are for an Android OS 4.0 or higher at 340 x 480 or higher screen resolution or an iOS or higher at 960 x 640 or higher screen resolution. Phones below this minimum specification cannot operate the unit and some phones meeting the above criteria may not operate every function of the unit. The supported routers are Cisco, Apple, ASUS, D-Link, TP Link, Trendnet, Actiontec, Netgear and 2Wire. Other routers may not support the Wi-Fi application. The above models are optimized for Wi-Fi service, but any cell phone that does not meet the minimum system requirements will not be able to run the program...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-07-02

I would like to use this AC with my generator. What is the starting current of the unit?

Asked by: BrianInFlorida
The ENERGY STAR® LG 12,000 BTU Smart wi-fi Enabled Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW1217ERSM has a running wattage of 990W and its surge wattage that will last for a second or two when the compressor kicks on is about 1.5 to 2 times that. Regrettably, we do not have access to the information on the nameplate which is required to be attached to the unit's motor by the National Electric Manufacturers Association is the governing body which sets the standards for the manufacture of electrical equipment in the USA that has to show the Full-Load Current. Please contact our Support Center at (800) 243-0000 to inquire if they have access to this information...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-06-25

How donI reset the “Clean Filter” light after cleaning the filter?

Asked by: bigSQUISHY76
After cleaning the filter, press the temperature up and down buttons together to turn off the clean filter light. The filter reset must be done from the unit's control panel not the remote control. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-06-17

Will this window unit and kit support a 47” wide window?

Asked by: Victor68
This unit is designed for installation in standard double hung windows with actual opening widths from 27"-39". ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-03-17

Does temperature affect how much power in using

Asked by: Planb
We do apologize, we are unsure of your question. Please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 for further assistance. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-04
  • y_2019, m_4, d_21, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT