To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LW1517IVSM

Key Features

  • Quiet Operating: 44dB LoDecibel™
  • Up to 25% more energy efficient than the minimum ENERGYSTAR® certification requirement with DUAL Inverter technology
  • LG SmartThinQ® Technology smartphone control
Suggested Price

$469.99

Suggested Price
d_DUALInverter_25

DUAL Inverter Compressor™

LG air conditioners with Dual Inverter Compressor™ eliminate unnecessary noise and provide cool temperatures with up to 25% more energy efficient than the minimum ENERGY STAR® certification requirement*. Experience the powerful yet quiet performance of LG’s ultra-efficient, revolutionary inverter technology.

US_WindowAC_DUALInverter_15K_2017_Feature_03_FastCooling_D

Maximum Cooling for Maximum Comfort

LG DUAL Inverter Window air conditioners provide exceptional cooling power that will keep you and your family cool, comfortable and in control.

d_EnergySaving

The Coolest Energy Savings Around

Unlike typical air conditioners that turn on and off to adjust temperatures, the DUAL Inverter Compressor™ constantly adjusts its speed to maintain desired temperature levels. That means less fluctuation and up to 25% more energy efficient than the minimum ENERGY STAR® certification requirement*.

*Inverter Technology is a key attribute of LG’ new room air conditioners. It is used in conjunction with a variable-speed compressor and adjusts compressor motor speed to regulate temperature. This is more energy efficient than non-Inverter Technology room air conditioners, which turns the compressor either on or off to regulate temperature. In Department of Energy approved testing, LG’s Inverter room air conditioner model (LW1517IVSM) showed 25% Combined Energy Efficiency Ratio (CEER) positive difference when compared with ENERGY STAR® minimum CEER requirement.

US_WindowAC_DUALInverter_15K_2017_Feature_06_LowNoise_D

Quiet Operation

LG air conditioners operate at low sound levels of just 44dB, thanks to LG's unique BLDC Motor and DUAL Inverter Compressor™, which eliminate unnecessary noise and allow for smooth operation that you’ll barely notice.

Total Control From Your Phone

Total Control From Your Phone

Access your air conditioner anytime, anywhere on any wi-fi enabled device, thanks to LG's exclusive SmartThinQ® app. Turn your air conditioner on or off or change the temperature right from your smartphone. It even works with Amazon Alexa and the Google Assistant, so you can control your air conditioner with the sound of your voice.

Dimensions & Weight
PERFORMANCE
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
FEATURES
NOISE
DIMENSIONS
OTHER
UPC CODES

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazong and powerful Lg air conditioner I honestly think the world of this air conditioner by lg. My first impression of it was about wireless features and connecting to wifi. I must admit im highly impressed of its great features but even more with the performance. Ot was very simple anf easy to install but the capacity of cooling my whole 3 bedrooms house was mind blowing. I would definitely recommend this product and buy in the feature.Very happy customer.
Date published: 2018-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great window AC Unit! The LG Window air conditioner was fairly easy to install. I'm not a handy person, but following the simple instructions in the manual had my unit up and running in no time. I was extremely pleased with unit. It is able to cool most of my home outside of the bedrooms. It's set up in my living room and seems to cool more efficiently than my old central air. The unit runs quietly compared to other wall units I have had. The controls are simple. It's easy to switch between modes and the LG SmartThinQ app is a nice option to have. I would recommend this AC unit to anybody looking to find a great unit that does a great job cooling a decent sized space with minimal noise.
Date published: 2018-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Air conditioner Amazing Air conditioner. Its SMart Enabled and run via WIFI. Works great in our 1000 square feet house. I would recommend this air conditioner.
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great air conditioner This LG 14,000 BTU Dual Inverter Smart wi-fi Enabled Window Air Conditioner is awesome! I love that I can control it with Alexa right from my phone. I don't have to be in the room to control the air conditioner. It is a great product. My only issue is that due to the weight of the air conditioner it is very difficult to install. It takes a bit of work to secure it so that it doesn't fall.
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow Air Conditioning At Its Best! I absolutely love my Lg wifi enabled air conditioner. I was so anxious for my husband to get home to install it. Installation was so easy, if I didn't need help lifting it I could have installed it myself. We had it running in less than fifteen minutes. It runs very quietly, and its very efficient at cooling the room. The SmartThinQ app was very user friendly. It also works with alexa it has the most up to date technology available. If your in the market for an air conditioner I highly recommend you purchase the LG. you want be disapponited
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Low Noise and Wi-Fi sooooooo quiet!! quiet, cools 800 sq feet well, high temperatures here sometimes 90 F, humidity can be hight, AC cools and lowers humidity well. Well designed for window insertion for double hung window. Follow instructions closely to install. Took me about two hours. The unit is secure in the window and sealed well with parts provided. I would buy it again. I have been using it for the last warm days of Detroit's warmest days of humidity. This is perfect since I am off the Detroit riverfront. This is ideal for lofts or any large open space. Quietest air conditioner I have ever had. Pleasant to look at and easy to install. Highly recommend this product!!
Date published: 2018-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Happy that I purchased it At first I was skeptical because I didn’t know much about the LG products but I needed a large air conditioner and that was the only one available so I took a chance and bought it. when I got home I put it in the window. that was in June of this year and I have not shut it since. the thermostatic control is wonderful because it automatically goes up and down depending on how much cooling I need in the house. It keeps the house at a constant comfortable temperature. I am very satisfied and would recommend LG products to anyone
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT! We bought the air conditioner for our garage and when I'm in there working, I am very comfortable thanks to our new LG air conditioner.
Date published: 2018-08-06
  • y_2018, m_9, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05944037, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Will you come out with with a unit with air AND heat for the winter?

Asked by: Cyrus23
Hi Cyrus23. Please pardon us if we are misunderstanding your inquiry. We are not clear on if you are inquiring if LG has any plans for making an Inverter Smart wi-fi Enabled Window Air Conditioner that features cooling and heating or if you are asking if we will be making any air cinditu=ioners that feature both heating and cooling. We currently have Window Air Conditioners that feature both heating and cooling in our current lineup. Regrettably, we currently do not have any information on if LG plans to come out with any Heating/Cooling Inverter Smart wi-fi Enabled Window Air Conditioner...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-09-14

is there a model to plug in 220 Volts?

Asked by: Arturo J
The LG 14,000 BTU 115V Dual Inverter Smart Window Air Conditioner with WiFi Enabled and Remote, Model # LW1517IVSM has to be plugged into its own dedicated, properly grounded standard 120 V, 3-wire outlet protected by a 15 Ampere time delay fuse or 15 A circuit breaker. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-09-01

Does this bring fresh air from outside or does it recirculate indoor air?

Asked by: jackie2778
The LG 14,000 BTU DUAL Inverter Smart wi-fi Enabled Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW1715IVSM has a ventilation lever that can be pulled out to open the vent and draw fresh air into the room from outside...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-07-29

Joel You state it has a EER of 11.2 The standard units have a 12 EER. Does this mean the standard unit will use less electricity than the double inverter unit?

Asked by: drice
Drice, both EER and CEER assume the air conditioner is always running at full capacity. The majority of the time the full BTU capacity of the unit is not required because not every day is 100+ degrees. Under such conditions, regular ACs will cycle on and off to maintain a room temperature. By contrast, this unit will reduce the compressor load to operate like a lower-BTU model, once the desired temperature has been met. This method is more efficient than cycling on and off the compressor. If window ACs had SEER ratings, this unit would likely have a higher SEER rating than the 12 EER units, as SEER takes into account the fact that full cooling capacity isn't always required. You'll probably start to see SEER ratings on window ACs once more units begin taking advantage of variable compressor technology.
Answered by: Chris01720
Date published: 2018-08-08

Will this fit into a double-hung window that opens to 16.5"?

Asked by: Stooby
The LG 14,000 BTU Inverter Window Air Conditioner with Remote, Model # LW1517IVSM is designed for installation in standard single-hung or double-hung windows with actual opening widths from 27" to 39". The top and bottom window sashes must open sufficiently to allow a clear vertical opening of 16" from the bottom of the upper sash to the inside sill. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-07-12

What are the dehumidifying levels of this unit? I see that it does have a 'dry' function, but there is nothing listed in the performance section to show this.

Asked by: Triciaf
Dry mode removes up to 4.5 pt. of moisture from the air in a hour to control humidity. We hope this information helps. If you are in need of any assistance, have additional questions, or would just like to see our helpful tips, check us out on Twitter @LGUSSupport or you can give us a call at 800-243-0000. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-08-08

 This unit will not power up just bought it yesterday I have a greenlight on the plug but no power to the unit can you help me?

Asked by: Will 46
Hello, hate to hear, we will need more information to be able to assist. Please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 or drop us a line on Twitter at @LGUSSupport or on Facebook at @LGUSSupport when you are with the unit. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-29

Does the unit continually run even after it reaches the set temperature?  Or does it come on and go off like a central AC unit does?

Asked by: RDeeJ
When the LG 14,000 BTU DUAL Inverter Smart wi-fi Enabled Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW1517IVSM is in COOL Mode, both the fan and the compressor will run even after it reaches the set temperature. In Energy Saver mode, the compressor and fan turn off when the set temperature is achieved. Approximately every 3 minutes the fan turns on to allow the unit sensor to accurately determine if more cooling is needed...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-08-12
  • y_2018, m_9, d_22, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05944037, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT