To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
close
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

BE14NU40

Key Features

  • Max 14x BD-R Writing Speed
  • Supports BDXL (128GB) Discs
  • 3D Blu-ray Title Playback & M-Disc™ Support
  • USB 3.0 Interface
See Retailer for Pricing
TV-CONNECTIVITY

TV Connectivity

Enjoy your media on your TVs, digital photo frames and PCs by simply connecting your drive with USB cable.

M-DISC

Superior data protection with M-DISC™ Support

The M-DISC™uses a patent rock-like recording surface instead of organic dye to etch your data onto a disc. The M-DISC has been tested and proven to outlast standard DVDs currently on the market.

Silent-Play

Silent Play

The Silent Play technology helps reduce noise during playback by recognizing different multimedia and automatically adjusting the playback speed according to its criteria for optimal performance.

Mini-USB

Micro USB

Provides easy connection with Micro USB cable. No additional power source needed.

Experience-3D

Experience 3D Blu-ray

Take entertainment to the next level with 3D using the new Power BD-DVD 3D ver. Software bundle. You can now enjoy the excitement of all your favorite Blu-ray titles on your PC and with 2D to 3D converting you can bring a new dimension to all your videos.

BDXL_2

BDXL™ Support: Ultimate Capacity

Three Layer BDXL-R/BDXL RE discs offer 100GB capacity while quad layer BDXL-R discs boast 128GB storage capacity on a single disc. It is equivalent of 27 standard DVDs or 5 single layer Blu-ray discs.

Win_10-

Windows 10 Compatible

Enjoy complete freedom in use with compatible support for Windows 10.

What People Are Saying

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Was great I have had this Blu-ray player and it worked great until I bought my new computer with Windows 10. Now I have an expensive paper weight. Very disappointed LG does not provide Driver upgrades for their products so I will be purchasing another burner but not from LG
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy, well-built DVD unit. This unit can be used with just about any format of CD or DVD. It is very fast. It has held up very well over the years I have owned it. My only request of LG is that they support Apple better. There are no drivers on the LG website for Apple and the unit no longer works with the newest OS. It appears that this defect is not confined to just LG, though. Anyway if there was some type of software available to make it work better with my new computer I would appreciate it very much!
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable burner. Occasional firmware issues. I have had this burner for 2 years and it has performed with 99% reliability. My only problem happened when a firmware update created some issues with my burning software recognizing the drive. This was resolved. Otherwise a reliable device.
Date published: 2019-01-15
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05003722, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Does the BE14NU40 Super Multi Blue External USB 3.0 14x Blu-ray Disc Rewriter play 4K Ultra HD movies discs

Asked by: SteveT Jr
Hi SteveT Jr. Thank you for your inquiry. To enjoy Ultra HD Blu-ray discs, you’ll need an Ultra HD Blu-ray disc player. Ultra HD Blu-ray players will play just about any disc you throw at them, including all your existing DVDs, Blu-rays, and any old CDs. The LG Super Multi Blue External USB 3.0 14x Blu-ray Disc Rewriter, Model # BE14NU40 is not an Ultra HD Blu-ray Player so it will not play Ultra HD Blu-ray discs...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2019-02-14

What is the wattage for this product: optical drive blu-ray disc rewriter BE14NU40

Asked by: Tcole
Hi Tcole. Regrettably, there isn't a wattage that is disclosed in the specifications for this LG Super Multi Blue External USB 3.0 14x Blu-ray Disc Rewriter, Model # BE14NU40, however, it has a USB 3.0 interface, and the USB 3.0 power output specification is a voltage of 5V and an available amperage of 900 mA, the wattage will be as much as 45 mW, the actual current draw is determined by the device capability which could be less than 45 mW if the unit draws less current from the USB 3.0 port...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-11-28

consultation, it is compatible with apple mac sierra 10.13 or a special software is needed.

Asked by: Luis Martinez
Regrettably, the LG Super Multi Blue External USB 3.0 14x Blu-ray Disc Rewriter, Model # BE14NU40 is not compatible with Mac Operating Systems...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-09-05

Where can I find the USB cable for the drive? I seem to have misplaced mine.

Asked by: FaulkFan28
Hello, most any electronic store will have a universal cable available. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-25

My I Mac using Yosemite won't always recognize this LG external Blu Ray external writer. Most of the time it does not. 

Asked by: Lefty k
Hello Lefty K, sounds like we need to do some troubleshooting. Please give us a call when you are with your unit at 1-800-243-0000. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-28

Why do I get a message saying: the last usb device you connected to this computer malfunctioned and windows does not recongize it.

Asked by: kapwn
i`m having the same problem over here. I did start itt and write a few blu rays but i cant really use it because after it is finishing the writing my bluray writer is getting lost and win 10 says that it is not recognized . there is a way to run the dvd writer but its not stable . you have to enter device manager and at the usb ports you have to enter the power manager and unclick " allow the computer to turn off ... blablbla " . As a final result i say that this drive IT`S NOT COMPATIBLE WITH WIN 10
Answered by: Baxi
Date published: 2017-02-03

Does this burner work with Mac OSX?

Asked by: MacGyver1
I have this LG Super Multi Blue External USB 3.0 14x Blu-ray Disc Rewriter, Model # BE14NU40, and using it on my Macbook Pro Retina using Mac OS X El Capitan it is working fine, without any drivers need to be installed.
Answered by: AhmedAAKF
Date published: 2018-07-17

I'm trying to update the firmware in this drive with windows 10. The update program will not run. I tried to get the program to run on several different computers but it will not run on any of them. Please help

Asked by: Dan2603
That link goes to nowhere, a blank MS page. Win10 updated today and now does not read my external LG, I was going to update from the firmware on your site, nothing for windows10, I think I am not the only one running win10 at this time, you do have win7, and possible 95 as well though. So, no firmware updates? Will the disc that came with it work, the one with the way outdated cyberlink bloat included? I loved this burner, until this morning. Hoping just a glitch, b/c I have had zero issues since mid Dec, this is the first, and it occurred when MS10 required a restart for todays update. ANy help?
Answered by: fuzzknuckly43
Date published: 2018-02-14
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05003722, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Go to Top