To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
close
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

GP55EX70

See Retailer for Pricing
tv-connectivity

TV Connectivity

Enjoy your media on your TVs, digital photo frames and PCs by simply connecting your drive with USB cable.

M-DISC

Superior data protection with M-DISC™ Support

The M-DISC™uses a patent rock-like recording surface instead of organic dye to etch your data onto a disc. The M-DISC has been tested and proven to outlast standard DVDs currently on the market.

Silent-Play-1

Silent Play

The Silent Play technology helps reduce noise during playback by recognizing different multimedia and automatically adjusting the playback speed according to its criteria for optimal performance.

Super Multi Compatibility 4 logos

Super Multi Compatibility

LG Super Multi Compatibility optical drives can read and write different types of disc formats in one convenient package.

1. DVD+R 2. RW DVD-R 3. RW DVD-RAM

This gives you the option to choose the media best suited for each task.

Mini-USB

Mini USB

Provides easy connection with Mini USB cable. No additional power source needed.

Win_10_&_MAC

Win 10 & MAC OS Compatible

Enjoy complete freedom in use with compatible support for Windows 10 and MAC OS.

8x-Writing-Speed-

8x Writing Speed

Burn more discs in less time with 8x DVD-Max writing speed.

MS Surface illustration

                  

                                               

Style-Evolution-Desktop

Slim Style

The overall slim design of only 0.55 inches high optimizes space for the slim OPU installation. It allows for a sleek companion to thin Ultrabooks and enhanced portability.

TRANSFER RATES–WRITE (MAX)
TRANSFER RATES - READ (MAX)
OTHER FEATURES
ACCESS TIME (1/3 STROKE)
SUSTAINED TRANSFER RATE
BURST TRANSFER RATE
BUFFER SIZE
COMPLIANCE
OPERATING SYSTEMS
SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
DIMENSIONS (WxHxD)
WEIGHT
COLOR
CONTENTS
WARRANTY/UPC

What People Are Saying

Rated 1 out of 5 by from does not work on Mac 10.14.4 I bought this today and the manual or quick set up guidensays it works os Mac OS 10.7.5 (OR HIGHER) and this is false
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from for as small as it is it is a great tool i was so impressed i bought another one for my xp computer and the other for my win 10 laptop my grandson got hold of the disks and disconected form my win 10 now it will not recognize it and i have no driversdont want to go buy a third one just for the disk
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works greata little hard to program but we get it good customer service
Date published: 2019-04-07
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05787990, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

not downloading on Macbook air 2017

Asked by: Katiej
We would be happy to have our computer specialists look into the problem you are having with your drive. Please give us a call at 800-243-0000. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2019-05-02

I have the slim portable DVD writer and I am burning audio CD's with it.  Though the CDR's have 700 MB's of space, the writer will only let me burn a few songs , not anything close to 700 MB's.  It also is sketchy, sometimes it burns the whole  play list.

Asked by: JoanieBeau
We are sorry to see you are having trouble with your disc drive. So we can look into this for you, please contact our computer specialists by calling 800-243-0000. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2019-03-05

will this device allow someone ability to transfer my personal info. while connected to my tablet

Asked by: need2kno
Please pardon us, but we are not clear on your inquiry about the LG Ultra Slim Portable DVD Writer with M-DISC™ Support, Model # GP55EX70 and will need some clarification. If it's an Android tablet, it will only support FAT File Systems and the DVD drive has a different file system. After Android KitKat, Google removed pendrive/flash drive driver from the OS kernel, so no pendrives or DVDs are supported officially...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-10-01

When I try to burn a disk it just keeps saying "Preparing Date", and nothing more happens.

Asked by: KayBalk
Hate to hear but would love to see if we can help out. We will need some more information if you could drop us a line at 1-800-243-0000 so we can get that info and see what is going on. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-09-10

Is there anyway to fix my portable DVD writer if it is blinking green while the DVD is first inserted then stops blinking soon after? I can't figure out what's wrong with it. It sounds like it's spinning the DVD but nothing pops up on my computer.

Asked by: kathryn5
That doesn't sound right. Please give us a call at 1-800-793-8896 when you are with the unit so we can troubleshoot.
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-05-04

How long should it take for the disk to install the DVD media suite?

Asked by: SpringTrap333
Unfortunately we do not have an estimated time to install the disks. Should you need assistance with your drive please do not hesitate to call us at 800-243-0000. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-03-09

Can I watch a dvd bought from the store on this 

Asked by: Staceypalm71
Yes, you can watch a DVD. Just make sure that you will have a media player to play the DVD on your PC/Laptop. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-27

Good morning, will this work with my MAC as a external CD/DVD drive to listen to my cd or watch dvd movies?

Asked by: MizCarmel
Hi MizCarmel. Regrettably, we don't know what connectivity is on your MAC nor what Operating System it is running to determine if this LG Ultra Slim Portable DVD Writer with M-DISC™ Support, Model # GP55EX70 will work with it. This drive supports the Mac OS X (10.7.5) Operating System and connects via USB. Your USB port must be able to deliver power to the drive...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-04-17
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05787990, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Go to Top