BX580
3D Network Blu-ray Disc™ Player with Wi-Fi® Connectivity
3D Network Blu-ray Disc™ Player with Wi-Fi® Connectivity

VIDEO FEATURES

  • Digital/Analog Conversion
    108MHz/10bit
    NTSC Hz
    60Hz
  • Deep Color (HDMI™ 1.4a)
    Yes
    x.v.Color (HDMI™ 1.4a)
    Yes
  • Composite Output
    480i
    Component Output
    Up to 1080i
  • HDMI™ Output
    Up to 1080p (24 & 60Hz)

AV INPUTS/OUTPUTS

  • Digital Out (Optical)
    0
    Composite Video Out
    1
  • HDMI™ Out
    0
    Audio L/R Out
    0
  • Component Video Out
    1
    Digital Out (Coaxial)
    1
  • LAN Port (RJ-45)
    0
    USB 2.0 In
    0

AUDIO CAPABILITIES

  • Digital/Analog Conversion
    192KHz/24bit
    Signal/Noise Ratio
    100db
  • LPCM
    Yes
    Dolby® Digital
    Yes
  • Dolby® Digital Plus
    Yes
    Dolby® TrueHD
    Yes
  • Dolby® Digital 2 ch Down Mix
    Yes
    DTS™
    Yes
  • DTS-HD Master Audio™
    Yes

SUMMARY

  • 3D Blu-ray Disc Playback
    Yes
    Wi-Fi Connectivity
    Yes
  • NetCast™ Entertainment Access
    Yes
    Internet Services
    Netflix®, Vudu™, YouTube™, Roxio® CinemaNow, Pandora®, Picasa™, AccuWeather®
  • Blu-ray Support
    Yes
    Full HD 1080p resolution
    Yes
  • Upscale Standard DVDs
    Yes
    USB 2.0 connectivity
    Yes
  • No. of HDMI Ports
    1
    Express Reaction Startup
    Yes
  • Disc Capacity
    1
    Disc Playback Capability
    Audio CD, DVD, DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, DVD+RW
  • Video Content Format
    DivX®/DivX HD, MPEG4 AVC, HP@L4.1, MPEG2, HP@ML, SMPTE VC1, AP@L3, MPEG2, HP@ML, AVCHD, MKV
    Home Link Playable Content Format
    DivX®/DivX HD, MPEG2 TS/PS, MPEG1 SS, XVID, MKV, AVI, WMA, MP3, AC3, AAC, JPEG, PNG
  • SimpLink™ connectivity
    Yes
    Limited Waranty
    1 Year Parts/90 Days Labor

SPECIAL FEATURES

  • YouTube™
    Yes
    AccuWeather®
    Yes
  • MusicID®
    Yes
    Home Link (DLNA® Client)
    Yes
  • Blu-ray BonusView
    Yes
    Blu-ray BD Live
    Yes
  • Picasa™ Web Albums
    Yes

WIRELESS LAN (INTERNAL ANTENNA)

  • Wireless Networking Access
    Yes
    Wi-Fi® Certified
    802.11b/g/n (2.4GHz band only)

ACCESSORIES / BOX CONTENTS

  • Remote Control
    1 (Universal)
    Batteries
    1 (Coin Type)
  • Nero® MediaHome Bundle Disc
    1 (LG Edition)
    A/V Cable
    1 (RCA Type)

POWER

  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified
    Yes
    Power Requirements
    AC 120V, 60Hz
  • Power Consumption
    13 W
    Operating Temperature
    41ºF to 95ºF
  • Operating Humidity
    5% to 90%
What people are saying
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I purchased this on recommendation of a friend. Both of us have been disappointed by the lack of support and programming updates. In the long-term competition for internet & video streaming, manufacturers need to shift their model from "sell it and forget it (or just do auto upgrades)" to one where (possibly for a small fee) firmware/software is upgraded and added to regularly. The failure to upgrade Netcast applications is a real negative for this product.
Date published: 2011-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Evenly match with TV The connection to the internet makes this product worth having ever.
Date published: 2011-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product I have 1 of these BLU RAY 3d PLAYER in my leaving room. great features and great quality product. good job LG.
Date published: 2011-09-17
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD00001024, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 213ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please review the detailed product information and help guides in the
Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

blue ray Bx580 wont stay on

was working fine, now powers up and then goes off it is wireless and we stream netflix
Asked by: Alllln
plex is causing this...go down to the bottom right hand corner, right click on plex and exit plex. the lg player should work mornally.
Answered by: bd590
Date published: 2015-10-07

WIll there be a firmware update that allows 3D stream on Vudu?

Just purchased an LG 3D tv to go along with my BX580, but was highly disappointed that I couldn't stream a 3D movie with Vudu. Seems from the forums at Vudu that it all depends on the maker of the 3D component. Would love to see a firmware update that included the possibility of streaming 3D through Vudu. I paid a decent amount for the Blu Ray and would hate to go to another brand because of this.
Asked by: Jeffro
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced in this matter. The BX580 should be able to stream 3D videos properly. If this player is not connected with a Version 1.4 or better HDMI cable, then the bandwidth required to transmit a 3D signal will not be available. It is recommended to check this feature. If this does not resolve the matter, then it would be recommended to contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional troubleshooting steps.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-01-27

Ever since My BX580 updated to SW version BD.8.97.141D it keeps dropping audio periodically, especially when watching Netflix.

The problem occurs two to three times per hour random times. I find that when I rewind netflix just a few seconds, it rebuffers and the audio is back, or if I just wait, the audio will come back on its own after about 20-30 seconds. I have also noticed audio drop outs while watching DVD videos but they dont last nearly as long and the audio comes back quickly. This all started happening since the day the firmware updated. Driver Version H80604 SW Version: BD.8.97.414D There has been a new update BD.8.97.142.D which has not solved the problem. I'm still getting audio drop outs.
Asked by: dcummings
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this BluRay player. It seems that you have attempted all the available troubleshooting that we might have suggested. It is recommended to contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for troubleshooting and service, should it be needed.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2013-10-22

How to use Youtube suggestion?

So at first when I bought the BD player, each time I type something on the Youtube search, there would be suggestion of what I might type in below. It made life so much easier. But now, it doesn't do it anymore and I have to type out the whole thing, it takes up a lot of time. Please help me with this, Thank you.
Asked by: Jase
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this YouTube search. This appears to have been something with the YouTube software for which we have no control. For questions and concerns about this feature, it is recommended to contact Customer Support at YouTube.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2013-10-22

i have a bx580 it wont play blue ray disc it keeps saying check disc will play normal dvds and has the lasted firmware udates as it does that automat

Asked by: jaassen
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Australia. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/au/support/contact/support-here-to-help.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2013-10-22

How do I add Netflix to the Netcast featureset?

After setting up and updating my BX580, I've noticed that Netflix is not an available Netcast feature. Is there anyway to add it?
Asked by: dmielken
NetFlix should be there try Firmware update.
Answered by: RetiredUSAF
Date published: 2013-10-22

How can I connect my d-link dns-321 to the my bx580

Hello, I can see the dns-321 server, but I can not see my two drives. How can I see the two drives on the dns-321..
Asked by: Mark
If this unit is already finding the server, then it is connected properly. The other drives need to be formatted as a DLNA or a CIFS device to allow file sharing.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2013-10-22

my bx580 can't play arabic subtitles with cp1256 encoding

can you add a cp 1256 encoding? in the future updates? my bluray lg bx580 can't play 'arabic' subtitles, it shows some weird symboles. thanks
Asked by: Anonymous
Check the LANGUAGE menu on the player. Scroll down to the DISC SUBTITLE option. Look for ORIGINAL, OTHER, and OFF. The ORIGINAL setting refers to the original language in which the disc was recorded. The OTHER setting allows you to select a different language. Use the number buttons and then press ENTER, to enter the corresponding 4-digit number for your Arabic subtitles. The 4-digit code is 6582.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2013-10-22
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD00001024, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 216ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Compare (0)