DN898
8.5” Stylish DVD Player
  • USB Media Host
  • 1080p Up-scaling via HDMI Output
  • HDMI Output
  • Wide Variety of Entertainment
8.5” Stylish DVD Player

VIDEO FEATURES

  • Digital/Analog Conversion
    108MHz/10bit
    x.v.Color (HDMI™)
    Yes
  • HDMI™ Output
    Up to 1080p (24 & 60Hz)
    1080i Upscaling
    Yes
  • 1080p Up-scaling
    Yes
    Black Level Adjustment
    Yes
  • Aspect Ratio Selection
    Yes

AV INPUTS/OUTPUTS

  • Digital Out (Optical)
    0
    Composite Video Out
    1
  • HDMI™ Out
    0
    Audio L/R Out
    0
  • Component Video Out
    1
    Digital Out (Coaxial)
    1
  • Audio L/R In
    0
    Audio Discrete 7.1 Channel Out
    0
  • Composite Video In
    0
    LAN Port (RJ-45)
    0
  • USB 2.0 In
    0
    USB Port
    0
  • IEEE 1394 (DV in)
    0
    S-Video Out
    0
  • RF In (antenna/cable)
    0
    RF Out (modulated)
    0
  • Set-Top Box Controller Port
    0
    SimpLink (HDMI CEC)
    0
  • Digital Cable/Satellite Box Controller
    0
    Digital Camcorder Inputs
    0

DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT

  • Unit Dimensions (W x H x D)
    11.1" x 1.6" x 6.9"
    Shipping Dimensions (W x H x D)
    13.6" x 3.9" x 10.4"
  • Unit Weight
    2.1 lbs
    Package Weight
    1.8 lbs

AUDIO CAPABILITIES

  • Digital/Analog Conversion
    192KHz/24bit
    Signal/Noise Ratio
    100db
  • LPCM
    Yes
    Dolby® Digital
    Yes
  • Dolby® Digital Plus
    Yes
    Dolby® Digital 2 ch Down Mix
    Yes
  • DTS™
    Yes
    Dynamic Range
    Yes
  • Dynamic Range Contol On/Off
    Yes

SUMMARY

  • Blu-ray Support
    No
    Upscale Standard DVDs
    No
  • USB 2.0 connectivity
    Yes
    No. of HDMI Ports
    1
  • Disc Capacity
    1
    Disc Playback Capability
    Audio CD, DVD, DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, DVD+RW
  • Video Content Format
    DVD, MP3, WMA, JPG
    Limited Waranty
    1 Year Parts/90 Days Labor

SPECIAL FEATURES

  • JPEG Slideshow
    Yes

CONVENIENCE FEATURES

  • Zoom
    Yes
    Parental Lock
    Yes
  • Closed Caption (CC)
    Yes
    Bookmark Search
    Yes
  • Resume
    Yes
    Chapter Skip (Fwd/Rev)
    Yes
  • JPEG Preview
    Yes
    Repeat Play
    Yes
  • MP3 ID3 Tag Support
    Yes
    Subtitle Still
    Yes
  • Programmable Play
    Yes

ACCESSORIES / BOX CONTENTS

  • Remote Control
    1 (Universal)
    A/V Cable (RCA Type)
    1
  • Batteries
    1 (Coin Type)
    User Manual
    1
  • Quick Start Guide
    1 (English)
    Customer Registration Card
    1 (English)
  • A/V Cable
    1 (RCA Type)

POWER

  • Power Requirements
    AC 120V, 60Hz
What people are saying
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Wash Washer I've had my washer for two weeks and love it. I look forward to doing laundry! It gets my clothes so much cleaner than my old washer. I like the dedicated buttons - no guess work!
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kind of generic Just a disc player. Nothing really outstanding about it. It feels light as paper. Very thin unit. Remote works fine. A little noisy. Attractive design.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy!!! Great DVD player sleek design and with the HDMI output the movies are played in high quality!!! Great buy!!! Would highly recommend to anyone!!!
Date published: 2011-10-06
  • y_2019, m_7, d_14, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD00000494, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 209ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please review the detailed product information and help guides in the
Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Is this LG DN898 does support [CC] Closed Caption for playback NTSC DVD which carry [CC] logo on DVD does it work on caption on LG DN898 and have it testing? 

Asked by: Deafguy
Close Captioning was supported on the discontinued LG 8.5” Stylish DVD Player, Model # DN898 that was released in the U.S. Please contact the LG Support Center in Australia to verify if the model that was released there would have supported Close Captioning. Models will vary according to the region and country that they were released in. (http://www.lg.com/au/support)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-06-01

Hi, Can i watch videos/movies from a usb stick with this item? if so what format do they need to be? Thank you

Asked by: beat
ur offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Tanzania. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/eastafrica/support/contact-customer-support.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-02-01

What is the right remote model number for a DN898?

The remote I have does not work. It is an LG remote with a model number of AKB69680401. Is that correct?
Asked by: clem669
I apologize, but no; this is not the correct remote control for this DVD player. Accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, MCM Electronics. Their contact number, for placing orders, is 800-824-9491. You can also use their website, at http://www.mcmelectronics.com/content/en-US/forms/lg_parts. The part number for the Remote Control is AKB35840202.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2014-04-09

What is the remote control number for a DN898 DVD player?

I have a DN898 DVD player that some one gave me but the remote they gave me don't work. There is a number on the top of the remote AKB69680401. Is that the remote for this product, and it is an LG remote?
Asked by: clem669
I apologize, but no; this is not the correct remote control for this DVD player. Accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, MCM Electronics. Their contact number, for placing orders, is 800-824-9491. You can also use their website, at http://www.mcmelectronics.com/content/en-US/forms/lg_parts. The part number for the Remote Control is AKB35840202.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2014-04-09

Does this play blu-ray discs?

I just got this blu-ray dvd and it won't play. It keeps saying disk error.
Asked by: Sumi
I apologize, but no; the DN898 player is a DVD player only. It has not been designed for use with BluRay discs.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2014-04-01

what is the remote control code for a universal remote

It is an LG model # DN898 DVD player
Asked by: TimMc
All codes to be used for programming the Universal remote control will be located in the setup instructions for the Controller. If you have experienced trouble in locating codes for LG, you may also try using Zenith or Goldstar codes, as some of these coincide with LG frequencies.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2013-12-06

LG dvd player DN898 will not turn on with remote or manually. Have checked outlets and connections, any other suggestions. Looks like new.

Asked by: jocko
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this DVD player. If this device will not activate, then there could be a problem with either the power supply or with the main control board. It will be difficult to determine without an inspection by a technician. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 to make proper service arrangements.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2013-11-01

USB connector front panel cover

How do I open the USB cover on the front of the DVD player to get access to the USB connector on my DVD player DN898
Asked by: lakedad
We appreciate your interest in this DVD player. According to our information, it appears that the USB Port cover is one that can simply be pulled out of its location.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2013-10-22
  • y_2019, m_7, d_14, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD00000494, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 229ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Compare (0)