To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
close
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

HF85JA

Key Features

  • Ultra Short Throw Projection
  • LG Smart TV Enabled
  • Full HD (1920 x 1080)
  • Up to 1500 Lumens
  • HDMI, USB, S/PDIF (Optical) Inputs
Suggested Price

$1799.99

Suggested Price
Ultra Short Throw Projection

Ultra Short Throw Projection

LG Ultra Short Throw projectors deliver a large, vivid image with the unit placed closer to the wall or screen versus traditional projectors. Set it just inches away to watch, or move it back for an even larger image.

Full HD Resolution

Full HD Resolution

Watch movies and more in true 1080p high-definition sharpness, full of the fine detail that can be lost at lower resolutions. The picture remains lifelike and text is crystal-clear when displayed at up to 120 inches or more

Smart TV webOS HF85JA

LG Smart TV

LG's exclusive Smart TV platform is simple to set up and offers easy discovery of exciting premium content from the most popular providers.* The included Magic Remote makes navigation fast and fun.

Please check with content providers for required bandwidth to stream videos. Smart service on product is subject to change. Some apps that appear on the screen image may not be pre-installed; Internet connection is required for download.

150,000:1 Contrast Ratio

150,000:1 Contrast Ratio

Contrast ratio is the range of darkest to brightest areas of the picture and the hallmark of great image quality. Where contrast is concerned, wider is better, so LG projectors have an impressive ratio of up to 150,000:1.

Bluetooth Sound

Bluetooth Sound

Pair big sound with the large-scale viewing experience. Wirelessly stream sound directly from the projector to a Bluetooth compatible audio system* such as portable speakers, headphones or select sound bars.

Bluetooth-enabled speakers and sound systems sold separately.

Wireless Screen Share

Wireless Screen Share

Watch premium content from popular providers* like Youtube, and share videos, photos and apps through a compatible Android smartphone or tablet over a simple Wi-Fi connection.*

*Wireless connectivity only supports devices running Android and Windows operating systems.

Laser Projection

Laser Projection

This projector uses a powerful laser lamp, featuring the same technology found in the most advanced cinemas. It delivers an exceptional full high-definition picture that is remarkably bright at up to 1500 lumens, with rich, vivid colors.

Laser Lamp Life

Laser Lamp Life

20,000 hours: This projector’s light source is a powerful laser lamp that enables a big, detailed image and will provide years of reliable service.

PROJECTION SYSTEM
LG SMART TV
WIRELESS
AUDIO
INPUTS/OUTPUTS
POWER
ACCESSORIES
DIMENSIONS/WEIGHT
WARRANTY / UPC

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from design is good but lack of built-in apps you can only use web browser watching youtube, no built-in app for youtube. not in the lg app content store either. if you don't care it, then it is a good projector. no other projector manufactures provides built-in digital tv tuner.
Date published: 2019-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An enjoyment to watch! I bought my LG short throw projector about a month ago and after some pic adjustments and updates, it works great! I purchased a nakamachi surround system to go with it and now I have a hard time leaving my house to go to the theater... great investment!
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORTHLESS They designed this thing 3 years ago and news flash but technology changes way too fast so this plastic is now obsolete and the fact that they still have this thing for sale is remarkable but we do live in a savage world. Good luck finding anyone that knows anything about it also. The people at B&H have no knowledge whatsoever and try to lie and act like they do. Blueetooth is outdated, doesn't mirror cast from iphone or android, can't download apps, doesnt work with youtubetv. it's a bust. and the new $3 version is also incapable of downloading apps. makes no sense. LG is a halfway company
Date published: 2018-08-03
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_9
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05865835, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

What is the best setup method yo get a good focus across the entire screen? I can't get the top bottom left right all focused. I have to settle for one side more focused than the other or both slightly out of focus as a compromise.

Asked by: Mike AZ
We apologize your having an issue with set up. So that we are able to gain more insight and research what assistance may be available to you, we request that you reach out to a specialist via Twitter @LGUSSupport or Facebook https://www.facebook.com/LGUSSupport/ ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2019-02-01

What are the response-time and refresh-rate for this projector? These are key metrics (especially response-time) for gaming, but I can't see them on any spec sheets out there.

Asked by: breadd24
Hello, the Refresh rate is 60Hz and Response Time is 50~60ms. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2019-01-31

Does this projector support 220v and 50Hz?...I need to use it in india

Asked by: Pranay55
The LG Ultra Short Throw Laser Smart Home Theater Projector, Model # HF85JA comes with an AC/DC Adapter that has an AC voltage input of 100~240V @ 50/60Hz and outs a DC voltage of 19V, 7.37A...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2019-01-18

Will this projector be available in Canada?

Asked by: L8onardo
Hello, we see you are contacting us from Vancouver. Sadly, we do not have information in regards to the release of products in Canada. Please contact the LG Support Center in the Canada, http://www.lg.com/ca_en/support/contactus for assistance. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-06-19

Dear LG, are your projectors for home cinema measured in ansi lumens or lumens? My research tells me 'ansi lumens' is more accurate. Is this correct and if so, I'm looking for the best wifi, bluetooth projector you have that ALSO has an embedded battery

Asked by: chordlessprojectorguy
“Lumen” is the basic measure of luminous flux (the observed power or strength of light). ANSI lumen is measuring lumen as stipulated by the ANSI standardization. Thus, it is more specific and accurate for determining the brightness of the projector. We currently have 14 projectors in our lineup and only the soon to be released LG 4K UHD Projector, Model # HU80KA has a brightness that is expressed in Ansi Lumens, for all the others, it is expressed as Lumens. We have projectors that have Bluetooth Sound Out, some that have both Bluetooth and Bluetooth Out and some that have built-in Bluetooth speakers. Regrettably, we are not clear on your inquiry with regards to "the best Wi-Fi" and would need some clarification. We highly recommend that you visit our site at http://www.lg.com/us/projectors. There is a Comparison function there that you can use to compare and contrast with and the projectors that have the features you are interested in are models: PH30JG, PF50KA, PH550, PW1500, PF1500W, PF1000UW, HF80JA, PH450UG, PH450U, and PH150G...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-04-05

Hi This model is not sold in Australia. Is there any problem if I buy it in the US and take it home, will it work? Thanks

Asked by: King66
Hi King66. The LG Ultra Short Throw Laser Smart Home Theater Projector, Model # HF85JA has a built-in DTV TV Tuner, an ATSC tuner which is not compatible with the DVB-T terrestrial digital Television standard used in Australia. The voltage is not an issue since it comes with an AC/DC Adapter, Model # LCAP31, that has an input voltage rating of 100-240 V @ 50/60 Hz and outputs a DC voltage of 19V, 7.37 A that the projector is rated for. The other thing that you need to be aware of is that the Manufacturer's warranty is only effective. in the U.S. and U.S. territories...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-03-28

i saw that you have a carrying case for the previous model, i was wondering if you had a case for the LG HF85JA Ultra Short Throw

Asked by: Juggal0J0n
Hello, we are sorry but we do not have a carrying case for this unit. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-28

Where in my local area can I see a demo before purchasing thus projector. I've read good reviews but seeing is believing.

Asked by: Mike5646
Hi Mike. Regrettably, we do not have a listing for which retailers will have this LG Ultra Short Throw Laser Smart Home Theater Projector, Model # HF85JA on display where you can see a demo. On its product page on our site, http://www.lg.com/us/home-video/lg-HF85JA-projector, is a 'Where to Buy' button that you can click on to open a page on which you can enter your zip code to get a listing of retailers within a 50-mile radius of your zip code who carry the unit. Each listed retailer will have a link to their site and a telephone number that you can use to contact them and inquire if you can see a demo...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-07-28
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05865835, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Go to Top