To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
close
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

UBK80

Key Features

  • 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Playback
  • 3D Blu-Ray/DVD Playback
  • HDR10 Compatible
  • USB Playback
Suggested Price

$199.99

Suggested Price
01_UBK80_4K_Disc_Playback_Desktop-v1

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disk Playback

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray disc provides the ultimate in audio/video quality with a stunning 4K picture and state-of-the-art audio. Pop in a 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray disc and prepare to be transported.

02_UBK80_HDR_Compatible_Desktop

HDR Playback

Content created for High Dynamic Range, or HDR, can display an even more breathtaking picture with bolder contrast and more vibrant colors. This LG Blu-ray disc player is HDR compatible with HDR10.

03_UBK80_Bluray_DVD_CD_Playback_Desktop-v1

Blu-ray & DVD Backward Compatible

Have a library of choice Blu-ray discs and DVDs? Not to worry. This LG UHD Blu-ray disc player is backward compatible supporting both of these popular legacy standards, so old favorites and new discoveries won't be left behind.

04_UBK80_USB_Playback_Desktop-v1

USB Connectivity

The USB port here allows you to quickly, easily connect a digital storage device and play your digital movies, music and more. Just plug it in and use your remote control to navigate through your files.

PRODUCT HIGHLIGHTS
FEATURES
PLAYABLE DISC TYPE
VIDEO FORMAT
AUDIO FORMAT
CONNECTIVITY
POWER
DIMENSIONS/ WEIGHTS
INCLUDED ACCESSORIES
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded my Expectations I bought this sound bar when it was on sale, and I was not sure what to expect because of that. We have been really impressed not only with how easy it was to set up and pair with our LG TV, but additionally with the versatility and sound quality that this speaker set has. This speaker set has truly exceeded our expectations. We are so happy that we made this choice.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Video I bought the UBK80 about a month ago and am enjoying it. At first I was having trouble with it stopping and buffering. I change the cable to a newer one and that fixed the problem.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Picture Quality and Easy to Use Set up was simple, including integration with my home theatre components. And the picture quality is very good.
Date published: 2019-05-02
  • y_2019, m_6, d_17, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05968916, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

I recently bought this Blu-ray player and tried to watch a movie off an external Hard Drive via the USB port and the player didn't recognize the HD. Is there an upgrade on the Blu-ray player that is needed to recognize external hard drives or something?

Asked by: JakeShepard
Hi Jake. Thank you for purchasing the LG 4K Ultra-HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player, Model # UBK80. What is the capacity of the external USB Hard Disc Drive that you are using with the UBK80? This player supports USB flash drive/external HDD formatted in FAT32 and NTFS when accessing files (music, photo, movie). However, for BD-Live, you need to use a USB flash drive / external HDD formatted in FAT32. The unit can also support up to 4 partitions of the USB storage device you use. Make sure that you are not using a USB extension cable or a USB hub as the unit may not be able to recognize your USB HDD. You should also use a USB HDD of 2TB or less. Storage devices that have capacities that exceed 2 terabytes use a different partitioning scheme (GUID Partition Table - GPT) instead of the older MBR so they may not be recognized by the unit or by a TV...^IFV
Answered by: Ivanf
Date published: 2019-04-18

are there upgrades that have to go through the computer? We had this issue with a Sony BlueRay and it was for PC not Mac so it was annoying.

Asked by: CDM1
From time to time, performance improvements and/or additional features or services may be made available to units that are connected to a broadband home network. If there is new software available and the unit is connected to a broadband home network, the player will inform you about the update. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2019-03-12

Can I use HDMI 1.3 cable and 1080p TV with this player? Only want to play standard Blu-ray but not getting any picture, only black screen. Wondering if incompatible with my cable and TV. Same cable and TV work with older Blu-ray player.

Asked by: K2Cobra
The LG 4K Ultra-HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player, Model # UBK80 provides several output resolutions for HDMI OUT jack. You can change the resolution using [Settings] menu. Press the HOME (house ic. Use the on) button > use the ◄/►buttons to select Settings > press Enter then use the ▲/▼ buttons to select Display then press ► button to move to the second level ▲/▼ buttons to select the resolution then press Enter to move to the third level and use the ▲/▼ buttons to select your desired resolution then press Enter to confirm your resolution. There aren't any HDMI 1.3 cables, the version number refers to the ports but make sure that you are using an HDMI cable (Type A, High Speed HDMI™ Cable) of no more than 4.5 m (14.76 feet)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2019-02-04

Under "Dolby Atmos", the spec sheet just says "Dolby Atmos (R)" instead of "Yes". So, does this player support Dolby Atmos?

Asked by: kyev
What the specifications for the LG 4K Ultra-HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player, Model # UBK80 are indicating is that Dolby Atmos® is a supported Audio Format along with the other audio formats that are cited under 'Audio Formats. The ® after Dolby Atmos is the registered trademark symbol that provides notice that the preceding word or symbol is a trademark or service mark that has been registered with a national trademark office. Most Ultra-HD Blu-ray players, if not all, are compatible with Dolby Atmos® and will play UHD Blu-ray titles with Dolby Atmos® through Dolby Atmos compatible home theater receivers, TVs, and Soundbars...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2019-06-13

Will the unit still work if not connected to a 4K television?

Asked by: Dfins
Please pardon us if we are misunderstanding your inquiry, unfortunately, we are not quite clear on it. The LG 4K Ultra-HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player, Model # UBK80 has an HDMI TV Out that can be connected to an HDTV or monitor using an HDMI Cable (Type A, High Speed HDMI™ Cable) that is compatible with 720 x 576p (or 480p), 1280 x 720p, 1920 x 1080i, 1920 x 1080p, 3840 x 2160P video input, you can change the resolution for the HDMI output.. However, not all HDCP-compatible devices will work with this unit...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2019-01-22

Will this convert 3D discs to 2D and play them back on a 2DTV?

Asked by: Phil1990
@ChrisPSM: Look at the description for the product, it mentions playback of 3D discs, and the manual says you can display 3D images on a Blu-ray in 2D? I'm wondering if that feature will work on a 2DTV.
Answered by: Phil1990
Date published: 2018-12-30

Do I have to plug this dvd player into my tv? I want a clean look with no wires 

Asked by: Cammbbee
Hello, the unit does have to be connected to the TV vie HDMI. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-12-18

Does this work with Amazon Prime, YouTube and Netflix?

Asked by: Mick B
Hello, the UBK80, 4K Ultra-HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player, is not a streaming device. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-12-14
  • y_2019, m_6, d_17, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_9
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05968916, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 8ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Go to Top