UP970
4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player with HDR Compatibility
  • 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Playback
  • 4K Streaming Content
  • HDR Compatible
  • 3D Blu-Ray/DVD Playback
  • Built-in Wi-Fi
4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player with HDR Compatibility

PRODUCT HIGHLIGHTS

  • Ultra HD Premium
    Yes
    4K Blu-Ray Disc Playback
    Yes
  • HDR Compatible
    Yes
    3D Blu-Ray/ DVD Playback
    Yes
  • 4K Streaming Content
    Youtube®, Netflix
    Built-in WiFi
    Yes

STREAMING CONTENT PROVIDERS*

  • Youtube®
    Yes
    Netflix
    Yes

FEATURES

  • 3D
    Yes
    SIMPLINK
    Yes
  • LG Remote App
    Yes
    USB Playback
    Yes
  • External HDD Playback
    Yes
    Noise Reduction
    Yes
  • NTSC⇔PAL Conversion
    Yes

PLAYABLE DISC TYPE

  • BD-ROM
    Yes
    BD-R
    Yes
  • BD-RE
    Yes
    DVD-ROM
    Yes
  • DVD-R
    Yes
    DVD+R
    Yes
  • DVD+RW
    Yes
    DVD-RW
    Yes
  • Audio CD
    Yes
    CD-R
    Yes
  • CD-RW
    Yes
    DTS-CD
    Yes

VIDEO FORMAT

  • MPEG-1
    Yes
    MPEG2 PS/TS
    Yes
  • MPEG4 AVC (H.264)
    Yes
    SMPTE VC1 (VC-9)
    Yes
  • MKV
    Yes
    AVC Rec
    Yes
  • AVCHD
    Yes
    M4V
    Yes
  • WMV
    Yes
    3GP
    Yes
  • MP4
    Yes
    MOV
    Yes
  • FLV
    Yes
    VOB
    Yes
  • TS
    Yes
    DAT
    Yes
  • DivX
    Yes
    DivX HD
    Yes
  • RMVB
    Yes
    K3G
    Yes

AUDIO FORMAT

  • LPCM
    Yes
    Dolby True HD
    Yes
  • Dolby Digital Plus
    Yes
    Dolby Digital
    Yes
  • DTS
    Yes
    DTS 2.0 + Digital Out
    Yes
  • DTS-HD Master Audio
    Yes
    FLAC
    Yes
  • AAC
    Yes
    WMA
    Yes
  • MPEG 1/2 L2
    Yes
    MP3
    Yes

CONNECTIVITY

  • Ethernet
    Yes
    Wi-Fi®
    Yes
  • HDMI Out (2)
    HDMI 2.0a x 1 | HDMI 1.4 x 1
    Optical Audio Output
    Yes

POWER

  • Standby Power Consumption
    Less than 0.5W

DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT

  • Unit Dimensions (WxHxD)
    16.9" x 1.8" x 8.1"
    Shipping Size (WxHxD)
    18.9" x 11.1" x 4.2"
  • Unit Weight
    3.6 lbs
    Shipping Weight
    5.7 lbs

INCLUDED ACCESSORIES

  • Remote Control
    Yes
    Batteries
    Yes

WARRANTY / UPC

  • Limited Warranty
    1 Year Parts and Labor
    UPC
    719192610125
What people are saying
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it I love the fact that my LG 4K Blu-ray player works seamlessly with my LG six series TV. It showcases great blacks and whites it also showcases HDR when it sees it is a great piece of tech. I would recommend this to anyone who’s looking for a really good 4K Blu-ray player
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing I purchased this item in February, 2018 to pair with our newly-purched LG OLED TV. This player has always been a bit quirky but it did an excellent job at upscaling. The Blue-ray discs that we have look better than ever during playback. In March of 2019, one month after the warranty expired (!), it started to act up during playback in that the picture would randomly flicker on and off and then go to a white screen losing both audio and video. Of course I would check the cables only to find that they were secure. Even the firmware is up-to-date. When I turn the unit off and then back on again, it works fine...until it acts up again which could be in 10 minutes, 60 minutes, or the next time we play a DVD. Very disappointed that it lasted only a year! The OLED tv, however, is magnificent.
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New updates Firmware unbelievable that LG has not yet released a new update to fix the FW issues released on 06/06/2018.
Date published: 2019-02-09
  • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_118
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05795129, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please review the detailed product information and help guides in the
Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

I have a SONOS playbar which will only accept optical cable for sound. I have an LG OLED tv which will pass through 5.1 to the soundbar. Can the UP970 convert a 7.1 DTS signal to 5.1 and output it through the HDMI out?

Asked by: jimbo987
The LG 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player with HDR Compatibility, Model # UP970 supports the LPCM, Dolby True HD, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby Digital, DTS, DTS 2.0 + Digital Out, DTS-HD Master Audio, FLAC, AAC, WMA, MPEG 1/2 L2, and MP3 audio formats. An LPCM (usually referred to as just PCM) signal is read off a disc and can be transferred in two ways. One way is by retaining its digital form and sending that signal to a home theater receiver via a digital optical, digital coaxial, or HDMI connection. The receiver then converts the PCM signal to analog so that it can be sent through the amplifiers and on to the speakers. The reason the PCM signal has to be converted to analog is that the human ear works by hearing analog audio signals. The second way is for the player to convert the PCM signal back to analog form internally, and then transfer the re-created analog signal to a home theater or stereo receiver via standard analog audio connections. In this case, the stereo or home theater receiver does not have to perform any additional conversion in order for you to hear the sound. The UP970 can also read undecoded Dolby Digital or DTS type audio signals. Dolby and DTS are digital audio formats that use coding that compresses the information in order to fit all the surround sound audio information digitally onto a DVD or Blu-ray Disc. Usually, undecoded Dolby Digital and DTS audio files are transferred to a home theater receiver for further decoding to analog. The other option is that once read off the disc, the UP970 can internally convert Dolby Digital and DTS signals to uncompressed PCM, and then pass that decoded signal directly to a home theater receiver via an HDMI connection, or convert the PCM signal to analog for output via two or multichannel analog audio outputs to a home theater receiver that has the corresponding compatible inputs. However, since a PCM signal is uncompressed, it takes up more bandwidth transmission space. So, if using a digital optical or coaxial connection, there is only enough room to transfer two channels of PCM audio. For Dolby Digital or DTS surround signals that have been converted to PCM, you need to use an HDMI connection, as it can transfer up to eight channels of PCM audio. Digital Optical and Digital Coaxial connections can only access standard Dolby Digital/DTS surround signals and not the higher resolution digital surround sound formats, such as Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Atmos, DTS-HD Master Audio, and DTS:X. Those higher-resolution audio signals can only be passed through the HDMI connection...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-12-19

Recently buyed, and I played a pair of 4k Blu-ray and the noise was awful. From the moment I put he disc in, the buzz began. Some solution or support?

Asked by: ill_Gamu
That doesn't sound right. We will need more information on your set up. Please give us a call when you are with the unit at 1-800-243-0000. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-05

Seriously thinking of purchasing a LG 4K TV and UP970 Blu-ray but very disappointed with ratings here and on Amazon, problems of no Dolby Vision software/firmware updates????? Problems from many with noisy operations??? Has this been fixed yet?? 4-7-18

Asked by: cobreeco
Hello, the UP970 received the Dolby Vision update a couple of months ago. Less that 1% of the units sold have experienced noise and those seem to have received some sort of shipping/transport damage. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-04-12

I understand about Regional codes & restrictions on playing Blu Rays & DVDs. My question is simple, will the UP970 play 50hz discs? Some models & brands will and others won't. Thanks in adavance.

Asked by: naus
Regrettably, we are not familiar with 50 Hz discs. Movies are shot at 24 frames per second (fps), and although advanced digital TVs support 24 fps and can display movies natively, analog TVs and many digital TVs cannot. As a result, movie material must be converted to either 30 interlaced frames or 60 progressive frames by the DVD player or TV. Since 24 does not divide evenly into 60, four progressive movie frames are converted to five interlaced or 10 progressive frames. The process, known as "3:2 pulldown" or "2:3 pulldown," cannot create a flawless copy of the original movie because 24 does not divide evenly into 30 or 60. Although new movies on DVD are in the progressive 24 fps format (24p), older movies on videotape, which have previously undergone the telecine process and contain the 3:2 conversion, are sometimes recorded on DVDs. If a DVD player or digital TV supports "cadence correction," it reverses any 3:2 cadences it finds back to full film frames before it applies any telecine processes. The 1080p or 2160p video output frame rate on the LG 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player with HDR Compatibility, Model # UP970 may be automatically set to either 24 Hz or 60 Hz depending both on the capability and preference of the connected TV and based on the native video frame rate of the content on the BD-ROM disc. There is no option for 50 Hz...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-04-02

Will the UP970 play 50z discs? (I have some old BBC Region free Bluray programs). A lot of players can't handle 50hz discs. My Philips 7501 does, but I want a player with DolbyVision. Thanks in advance.

Asked by: naus
This unit has a regional code printed on the rear of the unit. This unit can play only BD-ROM or DVD discs labelled same as the rear of the unit or “ALL”. Should you need assistance, do not hesitate to reconnect with us directly via Twitter @LGUSSupport or Facebook www.Facebook.com/LGSupportUSA ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-03-31

How can I turn off CEC?  I do not want my UP970 turning on whenever I turn my TV on.

Asked by: SparkSweet
You would need to go into the TV's menu and turn off SIMPLINK. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-03-12

Is it Region-Free for DVD? I tried to play a region 3 DVD, but didn't work.

Asked by: Luke WANG
This unit has a regional code printed on the rear of the unit. This unit can play only BD-ROM or DVD discs labelled same as the rear of the unit or “ALL”. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2019-01-03

Where is the IR receiver on the UP970?  Trying to connect an IR blaster. Ty

Asked by: Gw02035
On the front face of the UP970 to the right of the manual control buttons is a rectangular dark red glass. That is where the IR sensor is. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-03-06
  • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_149
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05795129, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Compare (0)