To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
close
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LT500P

Key Features

  • 6 Month / 500 Gallon Capacity
  • Filters chlorine taste and odor
  • Provides cleaner, fresher water and ice
  • Genuine LG Part
  • Part #: 5231JA2002A
Suggested Price

$49.99

Suggested Price
water-filters-main-banner_FT30105485_M02A

How to Replace your Water Filter

Here's all you need to know to change your refrigerator water filter. We're happy to show you how, step by step.

FRESH WATER SIMPLY TASTES BETTER.

FRESH WATER SIMPLY TASTES BETTER.

Keeping your refrigerator in tip top shape with a brand new water filter is a smart move. By changing your LT500P / LT500PC water filter on a regular basis, you'll continue to reduce contaminates such as iron, particulates and chlorine in your drinking water and ice cubes. You'll notice the difference!

LT500P / LT500PC Compatibility

LT500P / LT500PC COMPATIBILITY

The LG LT500P / LT500PC Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter (part# 5231JA2002A) is compatible with the following LG refrigerators.¹

The sale of counterfeit and deceptively labeled water filters is a growing problem in the U.S.. 3rd party filters are not guaranteed to properly filter water in your LG refrigerator and may cause damage not covered under the terms of LG's warranty. Always use new LG filters with your LG refrigerator. It is essential that the manufacturer's recommended installation, maintenance and filter replacement requirements be carried out for the product to perform as advertised.

PLEASE REVIEW THE OWNER MANUAL OF YOUR PARTICULAR LG REFRIGERATOR TO ENSURE PROPER FILTER PURCHASE.¹

●LFX25778SB
●LFX25778ST
●LFX25778SW
●LFX25973D
●LFX25973SB
●LFX25973ST
●LFX25973SW
●LFX25974SB
●LFX25974ST
●LFX25974SW
●LFXS24566S
●LFXS24626D
●LFXS24626S
●LMX25964SS
●LMX25964ST
●LRSC21934SB
●LRSC21934SW
●LRSC21934TT
●LRSC21935SB
●LRSC21935SW
●LRSC21935TT
●LRSC23915SW
●LRSPC266IT
●LSC20913SW
●LSC20913TT
●LSC21943ST
●LSC23924SB
●LSC23924ST
●LSC23924SW
●LSC23954ST
●LSC23954SW
●LSC26905SB
●LSC26905ST
●LSC26905SW
●LSC26905TT
●LSC27910SB
●LSC27910ST
●LSC27910SW
●LSC27910TT
●LSC27911ST
●LSC27911SW
●LSC27914SB
●LSC27914ST
●LSC27914SW
●LSC27914TT
●LSC27921SB
●LSC27921ST
●LSC27921SW
●LSC27921TT
●LSC27925SB
●LSC27925ST
●LSC27925SW
●LTWS24223S

TYPE
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY/UPC

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from LG Filter The filter was easy to install and sold for less directly from LG than at my big box store.
Date published: 2019-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I like that I can lock the ice and water so the grandkids can't use it. There is also ice that goes down into the freezer for dumping in coolers etc. Very handy for summer parties! The ice maker in the door frees up the shelving in the fridge. Also a big plus for us. The freezer is very spacious. There is ample room for all the groceries. We have very hard water and the filter still lasts for about the whole 6 months. The fingerprint resistant doors are great. Just have to wipe with a dry cloth. And the alarm that goes off if the door is open to long lets me know if the grandkids were in there. The only thing I wish was different is that I wish it had more shelves in the door that would accommodate bulky items such as milk and juice jugs. Otherwise we are very happy with our purchase.
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best to buy LG filters! I have found from personal experience that it is best to buy original filters from LG. This filter was easy to install. It makes the water taste great. I live in St Louis, MO and we have great tasting water from the tap. But getting cold water from the refrigerator that tastes great is really a treat. And i can because of this LG filter.
Date published: 2019-01-20
  • y_2019, m_5, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD00001823, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 226ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Can you send me any coupons for this water filter LT 500P? Thank you Joanne

Asked by: JoanneD
Regrettably, LG does not handle coupons for the LG 6 Month / 500 Gallon Capacity Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter (Part # 5231JA2002A), Model # LT500P...^IFV
Answered by: Ivanf
Date published: 2019-04-30

Why does the LG LT500P water filter contain a Prop 65 warning? What chemical does it contain that is known to cause cancer? 

Asked by: HeatherB123
The Prop 65 warning on the LG 6 Month / 500 Gallon Capacity Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter (Part # 5231JA2002A), Model # LT500P requires the State of California to publish a list of chemicals that are known to the State of California to cause cancer, birth defects or other reproductive harm, and requires businesses to inform Californians about exposures to such chemicals. These chemicals can be in the products that Californians purchase, in their homes or workplaces, or released into the environment. It also requires the state to maintain and update the list at least annually. Prop 65 is a ballot initiative that California voters approved in November 1986 to address concerns about exposures to toxic chemicals. That initiative became the Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement Act of 1986, better known by its original name, Proposition 65 or simply, Prop 65. Second, it requires businesses to provide a "clear and reasonable" warning before knowingly and intentionally exposing anyone to a listed chemical. This warning can be given in several ways, such as by labeling a consumer product, posting signs at the workplace, publishing notices at a rental housing complex, or publishing notices in a newspaper. A warning means that the business issuing it is complying with Proposition 65’s requirement to identify the presence of one or more listed chemicals, even in trace amounts. Proposition 65 regulation leaves the determination of providing a warning to the business. The warning regulation does not explain how a business can assess if a warning is appropriate and it does not mandate businesses to perform testing. Businesses decide whether to put warning labels on their products based on their knowledge of the types of chemicals in them. Manufacturers are not required to provide the OEHHA with any information about the products. That means the OEHHA doesn’t know which chemical the warning refers to, how exposure could occur, or how much of the chemical a consumer is likely to be exposed to. The complete list can be found on the California Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA) website. The “Prop 65” warnings are only required under California law. Prop 65 standards are among the most stringent standards in place anywhere and are often far more stringent than federal standards. Many dietary supplements contain substances that require a warning in California. One vitamin that requires a warning above a certain level is Vitamin A. Coffee could soon come with a Prop 65 warning. Labels warning that a product contains compounds that may cause cancer, birth defects, or reproductive harm are now required on many household items, electrical wires, jewelry, padlocks, dishes, flashlights, pesticides, cosmetics, skin care, at restaurants and fast food chains, etc. sold in California. But people all over the country see these Prop 65 labels because many companies put them on all items that contain these chemicals, even if they’re sold in other states. Aspirin and aloe vera are on the Prop 65 list. Even schools in California and Starbucks have the Prop 65 warning on their doors. Companies that sell in California choose to label their products as a precautionary measure to avoid potential lawsuits, even when it is not necessary...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2019-03-13

After 1 month new filter light comes on so I replaced with the new filter and water is starting to leak from the filter not sure whats going on?

Asked by: Lady VEE
Hate to hear but would love to see if we can help out. We will need some more information if you could give us a call at 1-800-243-0000. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2019-01-21

I bought a Premium Filter with the LG part no: ADQ72910901 from Walmart. The package says that it is interchangeable with 5231JA2002A. The label also says that it is manufactured by MCM Co. Ltd and distributed by LG. Just want to confirm it is legit.

Asked by: jwang2018
Hello, part numbers ADQ72910901 and ADQ72910911 can be used in place of 5231JA2002A. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-11-14

Can't figure out how to change the setting on the refrigerator door that shows when to replace filter

Asked by: senoraburt
Hello, we would need to know what refrigerator you have to help out. Drop us a line on Twitter at @LGUSSupport or on Facebook at @LGUSSupport when you are with the unit or give us a call at 1-800-243-0000. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-04-25

I am on well water and would like to purchase a filter that also can remove any contaminants that may be in my water. I purchased the LFX25973D /00 Refrigerator.Your advice is greatly appreciated.

Asked by: cinbugg
Hello, the only filter that will fit the LFX25973D is the LT500P (5231JA2002A). ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-03-07

Is there a replacement cartridge that meets ANSI 53 standards? If not, why not?

Asked by: RSL757
The LG 6 Month / 500 Gallon Capacity Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter (Part # 5231JA2002A), Model # is tested and certified by NSF International against NSF/ANSI Standard 42 and not standard 53. There are two NSF International/ANSI Standards for “Drinking Water Treatment Units” (not including others for reverse osmosis, ion exchange, and ultra-violet units) Standard 42 is for Aesthetic Effects and Standard 53 is for Health Effects. These standards are similar and most of the basic requirements are the same for both. Water filters with a Standard 42 (aesthetic effects) certification are designed to minimize non-health related contaminants such as chlorine, taste and odor, and particulates. Water filters with a Standard 53 (health effects) certification are meant to reduce health-related contaminants that may be present in public or private drinking water. Filters that meet the Standard 53 requirements are able to minimize exposure to microbiological, chemical or particulate contaminants that might be hazardous to your health. These types of filters are typically best suited for individuals who have well water...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-18

I have the LG sxsLSC26905SW. If there is a water leak coming from the door. Can the water line be changed? What I need to know is if the water line is free to be pulled out? I don't want to pull another line and find out the hard way that I couldn't.

Asked by: assphltslnger
The information requested requires knowledge of a more technical nature, which unfortunately is unavailable to be provided, as we are not technicians. We can, however, provide assistance in locating a qualified service technician. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-16
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD00001823, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 229ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Go to Top