To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LFX21980ST

Key Features

  • This product has been DISCONTINUED. But you can see all of our current Refrigerators here: See all Refrigerators

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has been good for 5 years This year, however is a different story. The doors started hanging up and tore up one gasket which was replaced by our home warranty repair service along with a hinge for the bottom of the door on left side. After that was fixed, the doors started hanging up again, the repairman came out again, he said the refrigerator needed a new gasket on the left side, we already knew that. He also told me that the door stoppers were the reason the doors hung up, and that it could not be repaired. He told our home warranty service that all it needed was a new gasket. The promply told me that this part was not covered. The gasket was only part of the problem. The door hinges are the problem. This is a poor design on your part. Now I will have to spend extra money to fix my refrigerator. First I need to know if and where I can buy the parts.
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good but a couple of things Sometimes bottom door isn't fully closed, there is no signal, warning for this. Humidity gets in then turns to ice, door does not close fully lets in more air. Original ice maker was a bit tempermental, replacement under extended warranty has been great. Refridgerator drawers on bottom come out of their sliders easily and are hard to put back in, especially the left one. Really annoying. Still overall very happy.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beyond Disappointed!!!! In the first two years, we had a leak from the refrigerator to our basement; both times the plastic water line in the back sprung a leak. Then in the 3rd year the ice maker kept jamming so the repair guy came out for another visit. Now the ice maker doesn't stop making ice so we have to empty it twice a day. I Now in the fifth year, I found that the refrigerator developed a new leak at the water inlet valve and sprayed water into my recently finished basement. Going shopping for a new refrigerator and it won't be LG!
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great features poor execution This model has great features and meet all our needs but in just over a year the door gaskets started tearing and deforming. We got a replacement under our extended warranty and a week later the gaskets were doing the same thing. We got another set of gaskets installed and we still see problems with the design of the gaskets. Now the doors seem to stick together and both open when the right one is pulled.
Date published: 2010-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good configuration This refrigerator has a problem with the freezer compartment light switch. When the ice and defrost build up on the back of the switch, the freezer compartment light will not come. We can put the hair dryer on the switch and the switch will work for awhile. I think LG should replace the light switch with a higher quality switch that is not subject to the ice condition. We like the configuration of the refrigerator as it easy to get things out of the refrigerator.
Date published: 2010-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Fridge This is a great refridgerator. The size is just right for a family. Everything is easy to use. This is very quiet too.
Date published: 2009-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best refridgerator I've ever owned When I was searching for a new refridgerator last year I looked at multiple brands and models. The one that stood out was this one. It was the only one with stainless steel dispensor switches and control switches. The lighting on the dispensor was the only one that illuminated the area. Inside the tiered lighting illuminates all shelves so you can see from top to bottom. The hydraulic doors are a great feature especially when you forget to completely close the doors. I've glad that I waited until I found this unit before I made my purchase. This unit is expensive compared to other models however I got a special deal at the seller that made it too good of a deal to pass up.
Date published: 2009-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great brand! I only recently became aware of the LG brand, and I'm so glad I gave ti a chance. This is a great refrigerator/freezer. The design makes it easy to access everything in the refrigerator, and I love having the freezer on the bottom."
Date published: 2009-06-02
  • y_2018, m_9, d_21, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD00000542, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Music with the Ice Plus Button LIghted

Why does my refrigerator play music randomly? The Ice Plus light comes on and the refrigerator plays music. The filter replacement notification is also on, but I haven't had time to go buy a new one yet. The music is nice for our children to dance to, but it does get annoying after a little while. How can I turn it off?
Asked by: JohnI
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this refrigerator. A tone is designed to play to alert the user to certain features being activated, or to advise if some task should be performed. However, once these alerts have been acknowledged, and the appropriate button pressed to deactivate the alarm, it should not come back on again, unless there is some related problem.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2015-08-12

what model replaces the lg LFX25980ST ?

Asked by: steve602747
We appreciate your interest in this refrigerator. It appears that the closest models would currently be the LFX25973ST and the LFX25974ST. These and other similar models can be reviewed on our website at http://www.lg.com/us/refrigerators.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2015-03-10

What is a common cause for the water dispenser to stop working?

Asked by: Mikd
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this water dispenser. Obstructions, such as a poorly installed water filter, are the most common cause of an inoperative water dispenser. If this does not appear to be the case, then the unit may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2015-01-21

Sanitizing the water feed line

Is there a way to clean the line from the filter to the door or a way to replace the line?
Asked by: AxJack
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this refrigerator. It is difficult to determine, from this information, which section of the water line might be requiring cleaning. To determine what is needed, the unit may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2015-01-05

how to change water filter

Asked by: Barrylg
We appreciate your interest in this refrigerator. Replacing the filter causes a small amount of water to drain. Place a cup under the filter hold to catch it. Rotate the knob of the old water filter cartridge counterclockwise. When the cartridge is released, you will feel it click out of place. Remove the old cartridge by pulling it out of its housing. Take the new cartridge out of its packaging and remove the protective cover from the o-rings. Hold the cartridge handle in its VERTICAL position and push it firmly into place until it stops. Twist the handle clockwise until it clicks into place. The filter will not turn if it has not been pushed in far enough.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2014-04-16

water does not work?

Asked by: Barrylg
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this refrigerator. Check to make sure they Water Filter is correctly installed, as well as the Water Line. Also be sure that the water is running and is unobstructed. If this does not resolve the matter, then the refrigerator may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2014-04-15

LED light blinking

Thanks for responding, NeilE. I'm surprised that the video wasn't working for you. When I click on it on the page that my question and your response appear, it plays fine. I'm uploading it again here. What it shows is that the light flashes repeatedly, with about a second between flashes. All the lights (top, back, and freezer)flash together and at the same time. The flashing continues indefinitely and doesn't change in frequency or intensity.
Asked by: NJAndy
I apologize for the confusion. The software used to respond to these posts was unable to view the video. However, when viewed through the LG.COM website, it did operate. Such a flash in the lighting does not appear to be normal operation. The unit will likely require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2014-04-08

How can I fix LED light flashing?

The LED light is flashing in my LFX21980 french door refrigerator (see video). It is working well in all other ways (cooling fine, making ice, etc.). I am not willing to spend a great deal of money fixing this, so I am hesitant to call for service. If possible I'd like to fix it myself. What are the possible causes of the problem and how can I isolate and fix it? Is the lighting unit a problem, or a switch, or something else? Thank you
Asked by: NJAndy
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this refrigerator. Unfortunately, the video was unable to be viewed. Without knowing which LED lights were flashing/flickering, it will not be possible to suggest a diagnosis. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2014-04-01
  • y_2018, m_9, d_21, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD00000542, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 9ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT