To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LFXS28968D

Key Features

  • 27.9 cu. ft. Capacity
  • PrintProof™ Finish
  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • Door Cooling+
  • Slim SpacePlus® Ice System

available colors:

Black Stainless Steel
Suggested Price

$3099.99

Suggested Price
BSS_LFXS28968D_d

Style That Changes
Everything.

Deep yet brilliantly appealing, the LG Black Stainless Steel Series brings an undeniable lustre to kitchen spaces. It elevates the traditional stainless steel look that has become the standard in today's homes with a satin-smooth, warm and sophisticated finish— for a timeless expression that pairs beautifully with any style.

print_proof_finish_d

The Look You Love Without the Fuss.

Now you can have all of the things you love about stainless, without the need for special cleaners or constant attention. LG’s PrintProof™ fingerprint and smudge resistant finish easily wipes clean with a soft, dry cloth for a distinctive kitchen that handles real-life in style.

Think you’ll run out of ice? ThinQ Again.

Think you’ll run out of ice? Think Again.

From making extra ice for tonight’s dinner party to getting smartphone notifications when the door is left open, use the LG SmartThinQ® app to control key features and get important notifications from any-where. It even works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa, so you can operate smart features with your voice.

StoreMore_LFXS28968D_d

Store More.

Stock-up and store everything you need. With a cavernous 28 cubic feet of space, this LG French Door refrigerator gives you ample space for all of your family’s favorite foods and keeps them conveniently organized and within reach.

  • Focused Freshness.

    lmxs28626d-door-cooling

    LG took its advanced freshness system one step further by adding Door Cooling+ to provide a steady supply of cold air to help keep door contents at peak freshness.

  • Fresh air inside.

    lmxs28626d-fresh-air-filter

    Your food isn't the only thing that stays fresh. Only LG offers a 3-layer Fresh Air Filter with dedicated fan that pushes cleaner, fresher air into the fridge.

  • Ready to Serve, at Just the Right Temp.

    lmxs28626d-glide-n-serve-contr

    This full-width, temperature-controlled drawer makes party preparations a snap. Store everything from deli platters to fruit trays at just the right temperature.

  • One Size Fills All.

    lmxs28626d-dispenser

    From pitchers to pint glasses, finally there’s an ice and water dispenser that can handle just about any container you want to fill.

Most shelf space.

Most shelf space.*  

Ice makers are great, but not if it means you can't fit all of your food in the fridge. The Slim SpacePlus® Ice System provides more shelf space and allows even more space for door bins.

*Standard width french door refrigerator, excludes other LG manufactured products

SUMMARY
CAPACITY
FEATURES
WATER & ICE SYSTEM
COOLING
CONVENIENCE
REFRIGERATOR
REFRIGERATOR DOOR
FREEZER
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
DIMENSIONS / CLEARANCES / WEIGHTS
LIMITED WARRANTY
UPC CODES

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleased so far We’ve had this for 6 weeks. Love the bright light. Can see everything. Very quiet compressor. We did not hook up the ice maker because we do not want the noise of that. Wish there were more space for tall bottles. That is a big limitation for us. The ice maker in the left hand fridge door makes the plastic holders in front of it too narrow to hold everything but spices.
Date published: 2018-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fine unit The fridge is good value for the price paid. Hopefully lasts longer that our GE side by side which only lasted 12 years. I'd say about the only thing negative is the water dispenser abruptly stops with a noise when released and occasionally we what sounds like water dripping inside the unit but have not noticed any moisture inside or outside. I'm thinking perhaps it has to do with the ice maker. Other than that, we really like it.
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great refrigerator! Just bought this 3 weeks ago and I am very pleased. WiFi connectivity is not very useful (other than telling you the door is open).
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spacious Interior We purchased this new refrigerator two months ago and we are very happy with the convenente ice maker and water access.
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very attractive We are very happy with this purchase. It has a very large storage capacity. It makes ice quickly and it is great that there is a storage bin in the freezer to store additional ice. The long storage drawer is nice but in my previously owned LG refrigerator it was a little deeper; but this drawer still comes in handy. I was so delighted to have my new refrigerator for all my Thanksgiving goodies.
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Refrigerator, Fair/poor Smart Functions The refrigerator has functioned flawlessly. The ice maker is sufficient for our needs The interior design is functional and has met our needs. The only complaint I have is the Smart Function (LG SmartThinQ). We are seasonal residents and had thought that the remote functions would tell us the actual temperature in either the freezer or refrigerator. It does not, it only displays the setting (the desired temps). I can find out how many times the door has been opened, it that's of any interest. It will send us some error codes if there is a failure, which might be of interest. But if there is a power failure and I want to know how what temps were reached when the power came back on to determine if the food is spoiled, no such luck. With other brands having real temps and even interior cameras to see what's in stock, I'm really disappointed in the lack of features from a top line brand such as LG.
Date published: 2018-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great storage I've owned it for about 3 weeks so much storage in the fridge and freezer. Very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great visibility This is our second large LG french door fridge. We left the first when we sold our house, and got this one for our new house. Love them both.
Date published: 2018-11-25
  • y_2018, m_12, d_11, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_217
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05870395, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

what is the part number for the air filter

Asked by: Jeff P
Hello, the LT120F - Fresh Air Filter is Part # ADQ73214404 Hope that helps. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-12-05

Does this model come with two (1) ice makers, one in the door and one in the freezer compartment

Asked by: Reconner
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 28 cu.ft. Smart wi-fi Enabled French Door Refrigerator, Model # LFXS28968S is not a Dual Ice Maker model. It only features the in-door Slim SpacePlus® Ice Maker and an Ice Storage Bin in the freezer that you can transfer ice into when the in-door Ice Bin gets full and so that the in-door Slim SpacePlus® Ice Maker can continue producing ice...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-11-14

How many amps does this LG frig have?

Asked by: Lynb7
Hi Lynb7. The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 28 cu.ft. Smart wi-fi Enabled French Door Refrigerator, Model # LFXS28968S has to be plugged into its own dedicated properly grounded outlet rated at 115 Volts, 60 Hz, AC, with a 15 Amps minimum. The actual amperage for the refrigerator will be stamped on the nameplate attached on the inside of the refrigerator wall...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-10-03

Is there an app that is compatible with this fridge? Behind the right side upper door hinge is a picture of a mobile phone and it says "smart diagnosis"

Asked by: B C S
Hello, the LG SmartThinQ application allows you to communicate with the appliance using a smartphone. Please see page 43 in your user manual for more detailed information. Search for the LG SmartThinQ application from the Google Play Store or Apple App Store on a smart phone. Follow instructions to download and install the application. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-09-24

Although the manual & sales information indicates that the water dispenser supplies chilled water (similar LG fridge we replaced), water is room temperature. Is there an adjustable setting or does this mean the fridge isn’t working correctly?

Asked by: Jm6024
Hello, the unit will dispense refrigerator temperature water if the water in the water tank has not had enough time to cool down. Once water is dispensed, room temperature or outside temperature water that is resting in the water line and then begin to dispense cold water from the home water supply. ^AC Other factors that can contribute to water not being as cold as the refrigerator are: > Dispensing more than a glass of water > The type of water line to the refrigerator. > The water line being close to a heat source (Oven, Direct Sunlight, Hot water heater, etc) > The home temperature > The water supply connected to the hot water supply > Doors not being level/closed
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-09-04

we are missing the refrigerator handle "set screw" that screws into the door and then the handle attaches to it and is locked down with a hex screw

Asked by: Greg702
Hello, the handles should have come attached to the door when bought, if they were then removed, you may purchase parts from the link below. ^AC Encompass Parts Distribution - Sales: 866-779-7906 - https://lg.encompass.com
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-08-13

Can I fit this fridge through my 36 inch front door without taking the doors off? If I need to take the handles off can that be done quickly and easily?

Asked by: Antoniofalset
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 28 cu.ft. Smart wi-fi Enabled French Door Refrigerator has a depth of 33 3/4" without the handles, so it will fit through a 36" opening if you remove the handles. Most retailers that sell the refrigerator will remove the handles or the doors if it is necessary to get the refrigerator through a narrow opening. However, if you intend to remove the handles yourself, we recommended that you visit our site at http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-LFXS28968S#manuals where you can download and review or print out a PDF copy of the owner's manual and review the instructions on page 16 for how to remove the refrigerator handles and what tools you will need to get an assessment of if you will be able to remove them quickly and about the ease or difficulty of removing them...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-05-29

Does it come with the tubing for the ice maker or do I have to purchase that separately?

Asked by: Antoniofalset
The water line for the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 28 cu.ft. Smart wi-fi Enabled French Door Refrigerator, Model # LFXS28968S is not covered by the refrigerator's warranty nor is it included with the refrigerator. You would need to purchase it separately and have it installed by a licensed, qualified plumber according to your local plumbing codes...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-05-29
  • y_2018, m_12, d_11, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05870395, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT