To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LMXC23796D

Key Features

  • 23 cu. ft. Capacity
  • InstaView™ Door-in-Door®
  • PrintProof™ Finish
  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • ColdSaver™ Panel
  • Counter-Depth
Suggested Price

$4499.99

Suggested Price
Promotion Price*

$3888.99

Promotion Price*
instaview_hero_4_1

Raid the Fridge Without Losing Your Cool

InstaView™ Door-in-Door® refrigerators have a sleek glass panel that allows you to see inside the easy access door without letting the cold air out. Simply knock twice on the glass to illuminate the contents within.

Think you’ll run out of ice? ThinQ Again.

Think you’ll run out of ice? Think Again.

From making extra ice for tonight’s dinner party to getting smartphone notifications when the door is left open, use the LG SmartThinQ® app to control key features and get important notifications from any-where. It even works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa, so you can operate smart features with your voice.

counterdepth_hero_v3

What Is Counter-Depth?

LG counter-depth refrigerators align with countertops and cabinetry for a uniform profile, creating a sophisticated built-in look without the high-end price tag.

print_proof_finish_d

The Look You Love Without the Fuss.

Now you can have all of the things you love about stainless, without the need for special cleaners or constant attention. LG’s PrintProof™ fingerprint and smudge resistant finish easily wipes clean with a soft, dry cloth for a distinctive kitchen that handles real-life in style.

LG_website_ADA_Version1_Final_d

Qualifications

                          

SUMMARY
CAPACITY
FEATURES
CONVENIENCE
REFRIGERATOR
REFRIGERATOR DOOR
CUSTOMCHILL™ DRAWER
FREEZER
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
DIMENSIONS/CLEARANCES/WEIGHTS
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well designed to accommodate modern day living We received this refrigerator @three weeks ago, and aside from getting used to the new approach to food storage and safe keeping, we are extremely pleased with the unit. My husband especially likes the see through right hand door; makes retrieval of often used items easy and efficient.
Date published: 2019-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Design - A Little Concerned for the Long Run I received this in August 2018 and have been very happy with it with a couple of caveats. First, the ice maker stores way too little ice for the space it occupies in the door. Second, within 3 months, the "door-in-door" front latch stopped working and I had to tape the door together for 3 weeks waiting for warranty repairs to be completed. I have also been told by some technicians that they are having to replace the compressors in most new LG refrigerators within the first 12-18 months they're in service so that concerns me as well.
Date published: 2019-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fridge I’ve had this fridge for about a month. I wasn’t planning on buying the showcase door, but it was a great sale so I bought it. I actually use that more than I thought I would. I love the fridge drawer, it is very handy and the freezer has 2 trays and the top tray holds much taller items than I thought it would. A half gallon of ice cream fits on the tray easily. The only complaint I have is the water that comes out of the fridge doesn’t taste that good. I will have to see if there is a better filter, as the city I live in has hard water.
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wouldn’t change anything on it I bought this a month ago and absolutely love it. Works like a charm, its doors shut smooth and quiet and runs quiet, Ice maker works wonderful love the smaller cubes it makes. Love how it looks really dresses up our kitchen. I had to cut my cabinets about 4 inches for this to fit so we could get the bigger frig we always wanted.
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning I am in love with my new refrigerator! It is beautiful and very functional. I had a side by side which was fine but, I couldn't get large items in. I also wanted one that was counter depth. Once I placed all my items in the new refrigerator there was plenty of room left. I was very surprised. I adjusted the top shelf on the right side to place taller items. The bins in the top part are small so you can't place large containers of salad. It would have been better to have two bins instead of three. One for vegetables and one for fruit. There are two narrow slide bins in the base which can hold packets of cheese or lunch meat. I don't use this much but, if you are pressed for space I am sure it would get some use.I love the door in a door which I use all the time. I keep bottled water, milk, condiments and things I use a lot. The side trays in the door are very narrow so I am limited to what I can place there. It will hold 3 large narrow squeeze bottles of mustard, mayonnaise, and ketchup. Above that I can place 5 bottles of soy sauce and bottles of salad dressing. Above that I use for butter. The middle drawer is so convenient which I use for cheese, lunch meats and salad items. The dividers slide side to side so I can adjust to the items I have. The freezer is not huge but, for me it works well. It has a top bin, a thin slide out tray and the deep bottom bin. I use the thin tray for individual items such as boneless chicken, steaks and pork chops. The water and ice in the door has two separate controls unlike the one I had before. The first time I used it I placed the glass toward the back and water poured out on the upper part hence water all over the floor. Lesson learned. The inner control is for ice. The ice is not large even on the cubed setting. I don't use it except for guests. The water I use all the time for refilling my coffee machine. For me, this refrigerator is perfect. It took some time adjusting to the layout which was pretty quick. It is counter depth but, not as narrow as I would have liked.The black stainless is beautiful and I don't see finger prints as I did with my previous model. I don't use the two knock light on much anymore now that I know where everything is located. I think this is great for a couple of people. It keeps you organized. For the holidays it was very full with all my cooking and baking items but, it worked. I don't keep a lot of frozen food since I cook and bake all the time and buy what I will use for the week. If you are the type that buys lots of chicken, meat and fish at one time for weeks at a time you might have an issue with the freezer. I am very pleased overall with its performance. It is quiet and has a lot of great features,
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Just added this to our new kitchen renovation and it is a gem!
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quiet Only three weeks ol but we notice the difference immediately. It is very quiet. Plenty of room and perfect temperature.
Date published: 2018-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very attractive I purchased less than a month ago so far it’s great.
Date published: 2018-12-22
  • y_2019, m_1, d_17, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_223
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05767187, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Plastic replacement for door bins or replacement door bin

Asked by: chip66
To order parts, please see the following. ^AC Encompass Parts Distribution at Sales: 866-779-7906 or https://lg.encompass.com
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-09-19

We are very interested in purchasing the Black Matte Series for the kitchen appliances but cannot find a store where they carry this color. Can you advise if there's any locations we can visit so we can take a look?

Asked by: Laura830
Hi Laura830. Your interest in the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 23 cu. ft. Smart wi-fi Enabled InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Counter-Depth Refrigerator, Model # LMXC23796M is greatly appreciated. On its product page on our site at https://www.lg.com/us/refrigerators/lg-LMXC23796M-french-4-door-refrigerator is a "Where to Buy" button that when clicked on, will open up a page on which you can enter your zip code into the appropriate field. This will then open up a page listing all retailers within a 50-mile radius of your zip code who carry this refrigerator. Each site listed will have a telephone number for their store and a link to their websites. Should you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-09-06

Do you offer a "door-in-door" option without the glass for a stainless french door refer?

Asked by: gryanm
Hello, we offer many Door-in-Door Stainless Steel units with out the InstaView feature. Please see models: LFXS29766S, LFXS26566S,LMXS30776S,LFXS30766S, LFXS32766S, LFXS27466S, LFXS30786S, LSFXC2476S, LFXS24663S, LSXS26366S and LSFD2491ST. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-07-10

Is the stainless steel smudge proof?

Asked by: Debbie H
HI Debbie H. The stainless steel on this ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 23 cu. ft. Smart wi-fi Enabled InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Refrigerator, Model # LMXC23796S is not fingerprint or smudge-resistant...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-07-02

Do I need to purchase anything in addition to the refrigerator to have the water/ice feature connected; such as a hose? 

Asked by: JCJackson
Hi JCJackson. Installation of the water line is not covered under the warranty for the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 23 cu. ft. Smart wi-fi Enabled InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Refrigerator, Model # LMXC23796S nor is it supplied with the refrigerator. If you do not currently have a water line installed, you will need to consult with a licensed plumber. You will need copper tubing that has a 1/4" outer diameter and a Shutoff valve that has a minimum inside diameter of 5/32" at the point of connection to your cold water line. The saddle-type valve must comply with your local plumbing codes. IF you do not have experience with installing a water line, we high;y recommend that you consult a licensed plumber...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-06-25

How can I find out more about the features of the water filter and ice maker?

Asked by: hotwater
You can visit the support page for the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 23 cu. ft. Smart wi-fi Enabled InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Counter-Depth Refrigerator, Model # LMXC23796D at http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-LMXC23796M#manuals where you can download and print out a PDF copy of the owner's manual for the refrigerator. Pages 32 through page 34 have details on both the Automatic Ice Maker and the Ice and Water Dispenser. Page 51 has instructions on when and how to replace the water filter and pages 52 - 53 have the Performance Data Sheet for the water filter...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-06-04

Does it have a hot water feature?

Asked by: hotwater
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 23 cu. ft. Smart wi-fi Enabled InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Counter-Depth Refrigerator, Model # LMXC23796D does not have a "hot water feature"...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-06-04

LOCATE WATER FILTER

Asked by: Forget
Hello, to change the water filter, as per page 51 in the manual, lift up and remove the lower door bin on the left refrigerator door. Swing the right end of the water filter out of the compartment and then grasp and rotate the filter counterclockwise to remove it from the filter head.Insert the new filter into the filter head and rotate it clockwise until the arrow on the new filter lines up with the arrow on the filter head. Swing the filter back into the compartment. For a replacement filter, please see the provided link. ^AC http://www.lg.com/us/kitchen-accessories/lg-LT1000P-water-filter
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-06-02
  • y_2019, m_1, d_17, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05767187, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT