To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

WM5000HVA

Key Features

  • 4.5 cu.ft. Ultra Large Capacity
  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • TurboWash® Technology
  • LG Steam Technology
  • Direct Drive Motor 10-Year Limited Warranty
  • LG SideKick™ Compatible

available colors:

Graphite Steel
Suggested Price

$1499.99

Suggested Price
Promotion Price*

$1220.99

Promotion Price*
See how LG Washers were rated by Consumer Reports

See how LG Washers were rated by Consumer Reports

Read the Consumer Reports rating.

get_it_all_done_less_time_d2

Get it All Done In Less Time

Ultra-large capacity (4.5 cu.ft.) means you have the room to do more laundry in fewer loads.

ThinQ_Laundry_PDP-Recovered

Think you can’t do laundry on the go? Think Again.

Expand the limits of your laundry room with the LG SmartThinQ® app. Select a cycle, start or stop the wash and get notifications about when your laundry will be done, all from your smartphone. It even works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa, so you can manage your laundry with simple voice commands.

fast_forward_your_wash_d_

Fast Forward Your Wash

Give big loads the same great clean while cutting your wash time by up to 30 minutes* with LG’s enhanced TurboWash® technology.

*1. Compared to an LG front load washer without TurboWash®. Based on AHAM-HLW-1-2010 test protocol. Cotton / Normal or comparable cycle at default settings, 8 lb. loads. Excludes quick wash or comparable cycles intended for small, lightly soiled loads only.

LaundryPDP_2_steam_d

Deep Clean With Steam

Our steam technology gently but powerfully penetrates fabrics to virtually eliminate dirt, odors and wrinkles.

For_Small_Loads-that_Wait_d

For Small Loads
that Can’t Wait

Whether it’s your kids’ favorite shirt, yoga pants or a school uniform, washing a full load seems wasteful for just a few pieces. Now you can wash small loads that just can’t wait with the LG SideKick™ Pedestal Washer or wash two loads at once to save time.

Learn more about LG SideKick™

open

6 Customer Care Cycles

LG SideKick™ offers six distinct wash cycles, including a special setting for active wear.

6_Custom_Care_Cycles_d2

Simultaneous or Independent Operation

LG SideKick™ saves time by washing two loads at once or get it all done by washing a small load separately.    

Simultaneous_ Independent_d2

Raises Your Washer

LG SideKick™ allows you to easily access laundry for more comfortable loading and unloading in the main washer. Compatible with all new LG Front Load Washers.

raises_your_washer_d2
take_control_in_styler_dp

Take Control in Style.

We’ve integrated the electronic control panel into the door for a sleek, distinctive look and intuitive functionality you expect from an LG washer.

easy_maintain_keep_fresh_d

Easily Maintain &
Keep Fresh

TubClean Cycle is designed for easy, periodic maintenance to keep your washer fresh. The cycle uses water jets and intense heat (up to 149 degrees) to sterilize the tub and help keep your high-performing washer in tip-top condition.

certifications_award_d_2

Warranty / Certifications

                          

Measure_first_d_text

                        

Follow the tips below to make sure your LG product will fit in the space intended.

complete your system

See compatible products below:

SUMMARY
CAPACITY
APPEARANCE
ENERGY
SmartThinQ® SMART FEATURES
WASH PROGRAMS
FABRIC CARE FEATURES
CONVENIENCE FEATURES
MOTOR AND AGITATOR
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
POWER SOURCE
ACCESSORIES
OPTIONS
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY/UPC

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIgh Tech Dryer! The dryer is quick Bill has gone down The time it takes to dry is fast! The steam setting is great. I have nothing bad to say!
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought last year model Bought the last years model (2017) because got a good price on them...got a bunch of extras that would have cost us more if we went with this years models (2018). Got the direct drive vs the belt, theres a drain hose on the little compartment for when you lose little items that were in your pockets (money, nail clippers, 9mm casings, etc....), touch controls, can even use the smart phone to start the washer...don't know what good that would do anyway since ya have to be home to load the washer...lol.
Date published: 2018-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Washer! We bought this at Lowe’s where the salesman was very helpful and we got a great price! The washer is easy to use and has done an outstanding job on various types of loads. Now we need to get the matching dryer!
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and does a very good job. Had it for about a month and have had zero problems. Works great
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet I bought this a few weeks ago and I couldn’t be happier!
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality with Poor Customer Service Problems began after six months. Lights on dial spun, machine locked up. Followed CS instructions to unplug and press dial. Happened intermittently and increasingly in the following year. Now, after two years inoperable and leaking soapy water. Repairman is baffled. Replacing circuit board does not work.
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very quiet and washes faster than I expected! I have had my lg washer for about a month and am loving it. I have had front loaders in the past and my complaint was always the same. It seemed to take a load forever to wash! However, with this set I enjoy the fact that I can whip out the laundry. My only complaint is that the preset wash temp is warm and I prefer to wash my normal loads on cold and I still haven’t figured out a way to change the presetting and it’s a pain to change the temperature.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3 stars for leak x 2 One minor and 1 major leak sprung after 4.5 months of use. Origin of first leak unknown. 2nd leak was between machine door and sealing gasket. Was told by company this was due to excessive use of high efficiency detergent. Additionally, detergent dispenser had accumulated some goop causing residual water in dispenser after cycle.
Date published: 2018-04-14
  • y_2018, m_9, d_17, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05230783, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Where can I get a list of cycles available for download? I'm looking for a wool / hand wash variant.

Asked by: washerTom
Hi Washer Tom. The list of cycles available for download to the Energy Star® Qualified LG 4.5 cu. ft. Large Smart wi-fi Enabled Front Load Washer w TurboWash®, Model # WM5000HVA is shown on the app. There are currently 19 downloadable cycles listed as Small Load (Default), Color Care, Beachwear, New Clothes, Denim, Swimwear, Rainy Day, Blanket, Sweat Stains, Single Garments, Baby Clothes, Children's Sports Wear, Collars and Cuffs, Juice and Food Stains, Overnight Wash, Econowash, Delicate Dresses, Half Load Wash, and Full Load Wash. This list is subject to change and may be updated without notice...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-08-20

Will the 4.5 capacity size accommodate a king comforter? We purchased the 5.2 capacity, but it doesn't fit our space with the pedestal.

Asked by: kimmieb
Comforters come with varying types of filler material in them that will determine how fluffy or bulky they are, but the Energy Star® Qualified LG 4.5 cu. ft. Large Smart wi-fi Enabled Front Load Washer w TurboWash®, Model # WM5000HVA will accommodate most types of King Size comforters. A capacity of 3.8 cubic feet has long been considered as being adequately large enough to accommodate King Size comforters...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-08-08

I would like to stack LG WM5000HWA with compatible •LG DLEX5000W dryer is this possible. It looks like you would not be able to open top lid of washer.

Asked by: Raul68
Hello, due to the location of the detergent dispenser, nothing can be stacked on the washer or dryer. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-03-28

How much water does the washer use (maximum) per cycle?

Asked by: Mirjam
The ENERGY STAR Qualified LG 4.5 cu.ft. Ultra Large Capacity w/ On-Door Control Panel & TurboWash®, Model # WM5000HVA automatically adjusts the water level according to the size of the load and other factors. Based on an annual usage of 295 loads per year, or around 6 loads per week, as referenced by the U.S. Department of Energy test procedure, it has an Estimated Annual Water Use of 3,676 gallons/yr and a toatl weighted per-cycle water consumption of 13.14 gallons/cycle/cu. ft...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-03-05

We want a front load washer and dryer. We have a depth of 33.5" from the wall. This dimension will need to include hookups for hoses and vent. Is there a model that will fit this space? We would need a 27" wide model.

Asked by: mickey m
Hello, at this time it would seem we do not have any units that meet your specific needs. We are sorry for any inconvenience. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-03-05

Looking for replacement detergent dispensers for a WM5000HVA. The blue dispenser cups on the left side. Where can I find those for purchase.

Asked by: Spikes93
Please see the below. ^AC Left Side: Single Blue Tray -https://encompass.com/item/10403148/LG_ELECTRONICS/AAZ74576001/BOX_ASSEMBLY,DETERGENT And Cap - https://encompass.com/item/10404782/LG/MBL66237102/Cap,softener Right Side: Double Blue Tray - https://encompass.com/item/10403149/LG/AAZ74576101/Box_Assembly,detergent And Cap - https://encompass.com/item/10404780/LG/MBL66197001/Cap,softener
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-15

Can I stack the washer and dryer and still have the sidekick. 

Asked by: TheTbak
No, it would not be recommend to stack a washer and dryer onto a pedestal or pedestal washer.
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-12-01

i am interested in the LG WM5000HWA washer. Is there a storage drawer available to stack underneath the machine? thank you

Asked by: leslie413
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 4.5 cu.ft. Ultra Large Capacity w/ On-Door Control Panel & TurboWash®, Model # WM5000HWA is compatible with the 27" LG Laundry Pedestal with Storage, Model # WDP4W that you can install under the washer...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-14
  • y_2018, m_9, d_17, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05230783, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT