Skip to Contents
Close

Help Library

Find help information for your LG product

Learn about product installation, maintenance, and troubleshooting using our search options.

G4 – Content lock feature

  • Applications
  • Pre-Installed Apps
  • Operation
  • Cell Phones, LG Friends, Tablets

LOCKING MULTIMEDIA CONTENT

 

 

LG G4 content lock feature overview

 

 

Keeps images and videos safe and hidden when enabling the Content Lock feature. Within the Gallery

the user locks with a password or pattern. 

Backup pin and recovery will be associated with the Google account.  When the LG G4 is connected to

a PC, Content Lock prevents file previews so the data is still safe.

The locked images and videos can reside either on the LG G4’s internal memory or on the microSD card.

Note: Some Settings, Menus, or Icons may differ from that of your device depending on your

           software version and wireless service provider.

Note: Some owner content may still be accessible to a user that enables Content Lock. 

            For example, the locked file may be visible in third party apps, but you cannot unlock or

            see the locked contents.

 

  How to use

 

           1. To Enable Content lock:

                   From the Home screen, tap Apps   > Settings  > General tab > Security  > Content lock.

                        Note: A lock must be set before content can be locked.  The lock is independent of the lock screen settings.

                   Tap Password or Pattern. Follow the prompts to setup the lock sequence.

                        Note: For Pattern you will be prompted to create a backup PIN.

                   Select a Google account to use if password is forgotten, and tap OK to continue.

                        Note: A Google Account is required to use Content Lock. If you do not have an account added, tap plus and follow prompts.

                                   When done, select the account and tap OK to continue.

              2. To Lock Your Content:

                   From the Home screen, tap Apps > Gallery

                    Tap a folder in Gallery, then tap the Menu key > Lock.

                    Tap to select each image you want to lock, and tap Lock to continue. The locked file will not display in the main gallery.

              3. To View Your Locked Content:

                   From the Gallery , tap the Menu key > Show locked files.

                   Enter the current lock sequence.

                   Your locked content is displayed. Tap a file to view.

              4. To Unlock Your Content:

                    From the Gallery , tap the Menu key > Show locked files.

                    Enter the current lock sequence and tap OK.

                    Tap the Unlock icon , tap to select each image you would like to unlock and tap UNLOCK to continue.

                    Your files are now unlocked and visible in your Gallery.

 

                  Note:

             - Content lock is not provided for Cloud files such as Picasa or protected files such as DRM.

             - Lock function works for images and videos in the Gallery app. Broken files or files that cannot be easily viewed may not be supported by lock feature.

             - If you exit with Home key, remove battery, install or remove SD Card among others during the locking, the lock function gets canceled.

             - In order to view, play or unlock a file, you must have the same Google account on the device that you used when locking the content.

Article Feedback

Q1. Overall, how satisfied were you with the usefulness of this information?
Q1-1. Why were you dissatisfied withthe usefulness of this information?

Characters left : 500 / 500