Skip to Contents
Close

How-to & Tips

Find help information for your LG product

Learn about product installation, maintenance, and troubleshooting using our search options.

How do I use LG G4 Content Lock?

  • Camera
  • Camera
  • Operation
  • LG Mobile Phones
  • Last Updated 11/06/2015

How do I use LG G4 Content Lock?

function Function

Keep images and videos safe and hidden by enabling the Content Lock feature. Within the Gallery, you can set locks with a password or pattern. 

The backup pin and recovery will be associated with the Google account.  When the LG G4 is connected to a PC, Content Lock prevents file previews so the data is still safe.

The locked images and videos can reside either on the LG G4’s internal memory or on the microSD card.

Note: Some owner content may still be accessible to a user that enables Content Lock. 

            For example, the locked file may be visible in third party apps, but you cannot unlock or see the locked contents.

How to use How to use

Note: Some Settings, Menus, or Icons may differ from that of your device depending on your software version and wireless

            service provider.

           1. To Enable Content lock:

                   ① From the Home screen, tap Apps  > Settings  > General tab > Security  > Content lock.

                        Note: A lock must be set before content can be locked.  The lock is independent of the lock screen settings.

                   ② Tap Password or Pattern. Follow the prompts to setup the lock sequence.

                        Note: For Pattern you will be prompted to create a backup PIN.

                   ③ Select a Google account to use if password is forgotten, and tap OK to continue.

                        Note: A Google Account is required to use Content Lock. If you do not have an account added, tap plus  and follow prompts.

                                   When done, select the account and tap OK to continue.

           2. To Lock Your Content:

                   ① From the Home screen, tap Apps  > Gallery

                   ② Tap a folder in Gallery, then tap the Menu key  > Lock.

                   ③ Tap to select each image you want to lock, and tap Lock to continue. The locked file will not display in the main gallery.

           3. To View Your Locked Content:

                   ① From the Gallery  , tap the Menu key  > Show locked files.

                   ② Enter the current lock sequence.

                   ③ Your locked content is displayed. Tap a file to view.

           4. To Unlock Your Content:

                   ① From the Gallery  , tap the Menu key  > Show locked files.

                   ② Enter the current lock sequence and tap OK.

                   ③ Tap the Unlock icon  , tap to select each image you would like to unlock and tap UNLOCK to continue.

                   ④ Your files are now unlocked and visible in your Gallery.

 

             Note:

             - Content lock is not provided for Cloud files such as Picasa or protected files such as DRM.

             - Lock function works for images and videos in the Gallery app. Broken files or files that cannot be easily viewed may not be able to

               use the lock feature.

             - If you exit with Home key, remove battery, install or remove SD Card among others during the locking, the lock function is canceled.

             - In order to view, play or unlock a file, you must have the same Google account on the device that you used when locking the content.

Article Feedback

1. Overall, how satisfied were you with the usefulness of this article?
1.1 Why did the article not resolve your issue?

Characters left : 500 / 500