At a Glance
If you are unable to locate your LG phone and fear it has been lost or stolen, there are two things you can do to protect your personal information.
What to do if your LG phone is Lost or Stolen
If you are unable to locate your LG phone and fear it has been lost or stolen, there are two things you can do.
First you can try to locate your phone using the Google Find My Device service. To do this, go to android.com/find from a web browser and sign into the Google account that is on the phone you are trying to locate.
Once logged in, you should see the phone's location on the map, if available. If the phone is able to be located, you can make it ring, even if it is set to silent, to make it easier to find. You can also lock and/or erase the phone, if the phone is stolen and you want to make sure your information remains secure.
Note that if you erase the phone you will no longer be able to track it as your Google account will be removed from the phone.
If you are unable to locate your phone because the phone is turned off, in an area with no signal, not connected to a network, or if you are not able to retrieve your phone, the second option available is to contact your carrier and report the phone as lost or stolen.
When you call your carrier explain that the phone is lost or stolen and they can suspend your service and blacklist the phone so it cannot be activated with another carrier or account, and make sure you don't incur any charges on your account due to fraudulent activity.
For further assistance, you can easily find our contact information on the lg.com website go to the support menu to ask us more questions.
Find My Device/Reset (Erase)
Some Buttons, Settings, Menus, or Icons may differ from that of your device depending on your software version and wireless service provider.
To use Find my Device, your device must be:
Signed in to a Google Account.
Connected to mobile data or Wi-Fi.
Location turned on.
Find My Device turned on.
On a browser Log in to your Google account
On a device with Internet access, go to https://myaccount.google.com/find-your-phone.
Log in using the same Google account that was setup on the lost device.
Select your device
Select the lost device to see last known location and other options.
Ring or locate your phone
Ring allows your phone to ring for 5 minutes, even if its on silent.
Locate will bring up Google maps with the location of the phone and give you the following options:
- Play Sound - Device will ring for 5 minutes, even if set to silent.
- Secure Device - Lock device and sign out of your Google account. you can also display a message or phone number on the locks screen, you can still locate the device after it's locked.
- Erase Device - Delete all content from the device. Once your device has been erased, you can't locate it.
If you find your device after erasing, you'll likely need your Google Account password to use it again.
Lock your phone
By choosing Lock, you will activate Android Device Manager as a device administrator. This is required to remotely lock or erase your phone and to change the screen lock.
Set a password to lock your screen
Write a note to the finder (optional)
Give a phone number for the finder to call (optional)
Try to call your phone
If you can't remember your number, ask a friend or use Contacts to look it up. You can also try to make a call using Hangouts or a similar service.
Sign out of your phone
Sign out of your Google account on your lost phone so that no one else can access it. You will still be able to ring, locate, lock and erase your phone.
Contact your carrier (operator)
Your operator may be able to help by disabling your SIM card, ordering a new SIM card or redirecting your calls to a new number.
This may also help protect you from identity theft since a finder could use text messages to access your information, send messages on your behalf, or make expensive calls.
Consider erasing your device
Erasing your device prevents others from seeing your content. If you choose to erase:
- Google may not be able to completely erase all memory cards on your device
- Find your phone and Android Device Manager can no longer locate, ring or lock your phone
- You’ll permanently lose access to all info on your device that wasn’t recently backed up to Google
Your phone will be erased the next time it’s on-line. If it doesn’t come on-line again, it won’t be erased.
By choosing Erase, you'll activate Android Device Manager as your device administrator. This is required to remotely lock or erase your phone and to change the screen lock.